We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good bargain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Reading Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
harrisburg pa
Level Contributor
215 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“good bargain”
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Clean, new good breakfast, quiet and comfortable....what else do you need!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    160
    67
    22
    13
See reviews for
163
145
29
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We stayed here overnight travelling to New England from the South. Great location if you come north along Blueridge Parkway. Good location, very quiet, nice brakfast slection and available at a great price w Room Saver coupon.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triste037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Friendly staff, great value, nice breakfast, do NOT go to the DINER in the parking lot, drive 1 minute to Paolos for pizza wings Italian etc...no ESPN in rooms wa the ONLY drawback
comfortable mattresses, 10 minutes to adamstown

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidtbarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We travel a lot but have never stayed at a Best Western. We were looking for antiques in Adamstown and came across this hotel and couldn't pass up on the super cheap rate. The hotel was clean and close by what we were doing, had free parking and a decent enough breakfast.

Our only complaint was that we arrived at 2:40pm and were told that no rooms were available and that we would have to return later in the day. While we understand that check-in was at 3:00pm it seems like there should have been rooms available since we were only 20 minutes early. We were also charged a $1.00 safe charge for a safe we did not use.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andersbeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2011

I like this brand, so I was very disappointed for the following reasons. First, I travel with my little Havanese and even HE did NOT want to enter our room. The smell of the cleaning product was overwhelming, toxic and extremely unpleasant. They may or may not use special product for pet-friendly rooms, but this was over the top. Why did they build hotels with sealed windows? Second, the internet service was extremely intermittent. If you NEED reliable internet service, room 115 did not deliver which created a huge problem for me. Third, the desk chair screws were coming through the "leather" which forced me to place a towel on the surface to make it useable. Lastly, the pillows (all four of them which looked very nice) were identical, hard, lumpy pillows. Very uncomfortable. On the plus side, the room was quiet, there is a nice grassy area behind the hotel to throw a ball for your dog off-leash and the shower was delightful. The hotel is clean and it's nice that they leave the microwave and fridge unplugged to save energy.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maternitymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

We stayed here several years ago before it was a Best Western and it was in bad shape. They have since remodeled and it is a much nicer and cleaner place to stay.

We stayed for two nights in a King room. The rooms were very clean and the bed was comforatable. The front desk staff was very helpful and accomodating with our requests. The only negatives were the breakfast and the bathroom size. There was a variery of breakfast items, but they were not very good. Our second morning we opted to eat at the Diner which is located out in the parking lot. Also, the bathroooms are very small.

All in all, it was a nice stay and for the value, we would probably stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank molmist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guilford, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2010

The hotel was extremely clean, very quite (could not hear the neighbors), breakfast was good, but the front desk staff were tremedous. Helpful and very knowledgeable about the area. Would stay again if we are there in the future.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonnie121155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reading
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Reading
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Reading
4.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Reading Wyomissing
2.7 mi away
Inn at Reading
Inn at Reading
#6 of 7 in Wyomissing
391 reviews
2.7 mi away
Days Inn Reading Wyomissing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Reading Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Reading Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Reading Inn & Suites
Address: 2299 Lancaster Pike, Reading, PA 19607 (Formerly Shillington Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Reading
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Reading Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Reading Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Reading Hotel Shillington
Best Western Plus Reading Inn And Suites
Best Western Shillington
Best Western Reading Hotel
Days Inn Reading
Days Inn Shillington Pa
Shillington Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing