We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Rooms, Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Reading Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2012

I stayed at the Best Western while waiting to move into my new home and it was a great experience. All of the staff from Charles at the front desk to Shirley in the Breakfast area were friendly and very helpful.
The rooms were very clean and at first we thought we were going to miss the football games with the limited tv channels but the hotel switched to a new TV service and all the favorite channels were available.
Will definitely stay again if need to and will have family and friends stay when they visit from out of town.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the elevators, you can hear the elevators running and the doors opening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAGAR S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Reading Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your rave review of our property. The experience we strive to deliver at our property is with the desire that our guests will consider it their "home away from home." We understand that the moving process can be cumbersome and very tiring. That being said, our friendly, knowledgable staff goes above and beyond to ensure your satisfaction. Our management is well aware that the guest's expectation is constantly changing with updated offerings from other brands. With our upcoming bedding packages, and state of the art TVs, we hope to stay ahead of the curve.

I look forward to accommodating your friends and family in the future!

Warm Regards,

Sagar V. Shah, CHA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

475 - 481 of 565 reviews

A Best Western traveller
1
Reviewed 27 November 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank A Best Western traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SAGAR S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Reading Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 November 2012

I will never stay at this location again and I wouldn't recommend it to my enemies either. The staff was rude and not very nice which the last thing you need after travelling all day. Too many other issues to list here.

Best Western is a chain that I usually recommend but not this location!

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knotagain44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAGAR S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Reading Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of our team, we sincerely apologize for being unable to meet your expectations. I certainly do not condone rude behavior by any member of my team, and they are well aware of treating each guest the way they would like to be treated. This is a fundamental rule in hospitality, however, based on your experience, it seems we fell short on providing you with a superior experience. Please send me an e-mail at bestwestern2299@gmail.com, and I will certainly discuss this matter further with you.

I hope you will consider another stay with us and give us a chance to be your lodging provider of choice in the Reading area.

Warm Regards,

Sagar V. Shah, CHA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 5 days. The staff from the front desk to the housekeeping and breakfast room attendant were outstanding. The brakfast was gret!! Bacon, eggs, waffles and all kinds of pastries. The price was excellent and the location is close to everything. We drove into Philadelphia and spent the day and got back in really good time. The manager was on site and always checking to make sure everyone was enjoying their stay. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Just ask fdor a king suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkipG11_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAGAR S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Reading Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your excellent review of our property. It was our pleasure to accommodate you and your wife, and we look forward to your next stay. Philadelphia is close enough to our property to make a nice day trip, and make it back to the peace and quiet of Berks County, PA. Our staff works hard to ensure each guest leaves satisfied with a positive impression. The breakfast served from 6:30 to 9:30 is a guest favorite, and we believe in starting your day off right with offerings such as those you mentioned and others such as 100% Arabica Coffee!

Warm Regards,

Sagar V. Shah, CHA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Young man at check in was very accommodating with special needs for my disabled husband. Hotel & room was clean & comfortable...except for what was called an "easy chair". Design makes it extremely uncomfortably since it is shaped like a child's slide. Otherwise nice sitting area.very comfortable bed.

Two suggestions would be to adjust the set of two double front doors which are very heavy & stiff making it difficult to enter with luggage & nearly impossible for handicap customers. Second barrier is the very high sign in desk. I am 5'6" & it was shoulder level for me. It felt like a barricade & would be intimidating for people who were either short or in a wheelchair.

Overall I would recommend this as a good value. Nice diner next door is convenient.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripgrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAGAR S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Reading Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Our team goes above and beyond for each guest and adapts to individual needs. The double doors were inspected by our maintenance department to ensure comfortable access. We will actually be installing automatic entrance doors in the upcoming months as a convenience to our guests. The front desk is higher for security reasons, however, we do have lower counters on the sides of the desk for guests who would prefer to utilize those! We are always looking into ways to better our product, and we will certainly explore alternative options with regards to the lounge chairs!

I look forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Sagar V. Shah, CHA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

My wife and I stayed here for the weekend while visiting some friends in the area. We were told that there was a Best Western about a mile away from them, but we were not to sure about that level of hotel. We were plesantly surprised. The Hotel is very clean and the staff all seemed friendly. The breakfast was far better than either of us expected. Rooms are good sized and comfortable. We will stay here again when in the area. If all Best Western's are like this we may start staying at them instead of Marriott brands and save a little money. There is a diner towards the front of the parking lot called Deluxe Diner. Good food and excellent staff.

Room Tip: This appears to be an older hotel that has been renovated and upgraded, so some room to room or hall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAGAR S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Reading Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your rave review of our property and please convey my sincere thanks to your friends for recommending our establishment! As I'm sure you noticed, we take tremendous pride in the product and customer service we deliver to each and every guest. We have a mantra here at the property to treat each guest as if they were our only guest. This mindset has resulted in better results in all areas of our hotel, from housekeeping to front desk operations.

While each Best Western hotel property is independently owned and operated, the corporate team has truly enhanced the brand's reputation and quality to become a strong competitor in the mid-scale to upper mid-scale segment. We look forward to your next stay as we have several upcoming improvements to the property before year end, including new bedding packages for each guestroom as well as state of the art 37'' - 40'' flat screen TV's.

Marriott is certainly a household name and an excellent example of top notch hospitality. We're glad you see value in our brand, and we strive to provide service rivaling industry leaders.

Warm Regards,

Sagar V. Shah, CHA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We stayed two nights for an archery tournament in Reading PA. I was not impressed. Upon check in hotel staff did not want to give us the special rate for the tournament although when we booked the reservations agent acknowledged the special rate. TV channels were few and from the TV channel guide in the room only 1/4 of the channels worked. The housekeeping staff did not clean our room. We asked the front desk if housekeeping clean every day. He said yes then tried telling us that we put the do not clean sign on the door. He pulled the housekeeping records and found where the housekeeper signed off on our room as cleaned. He was complaining to us while we were standing at the front desk waiting for three towels for the next day that his Chinese food delivery was an hour late. Next time I will stay in downtown Reading. .

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAGAR S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Reading Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

I'm sorry your stay wasn't satisfactory. With regards to the tournament rate, we were offering a special archery tournament rate during the weekend. However, once the room quota is filled, it is difficult for us to provide the same rate, especially if there is high demand. However, that being said, if you're quoted a rate on the phone, we always honor the quoted rate. Please send an e-mail to bestwestern2299@gmail.com, and I'd be glad to discuss this with you further.

Our TV Channels were upgraded and the new system went live as of yesterday. Along with premium movie channels such as Encore and sports networks including ESPN & NFL Net, we now have a broad selection for our guests to enjoy.

The staff at the property is advised not to disclose personal information at the desk and to maintain a professional image at all times. We will look into this instance, and ensure it doesn't happen again.

I hope you will consider staying with us again so we can provide you with a superior experience.

Warm Regards,

Sagar V. Shah, CHA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reading
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Reading
4.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Reading
4.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Reading Wyomissing
3.1 mi away
Days Inn Reading Wyomissing
3.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
#1 of 7 in Wyomissing
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Reading Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Reading Inn & Suites

Address: 2299 Lancaster Pike, Reading, PA 19607-2380 (Formerly Shillington Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Reading
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Reading
Price Range: £61 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Reading Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Reading Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Reading Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Reading Hotel Shillington
Best Western Shillington
Best Western Reading Hotel
Days Inn Reading
Days Inn Shillington Pa
Shillington Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing