We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Reading Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Syracuse, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

There were water marks in the ceiling by the window, musty smell in the room, dirty towels upon arrival, poor tv reception, trash overflowing in breakfast area. We stayed two nights as part of a getaway but we probably would not stay at this Best Western again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank jonathanaE4672LK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAGAR S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Reading Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of my team and I, please accept our sincere apologies for your less than satisfactory experience at our property. We take great pride in our product and strive to please each and every guest. It certainly appears we fell short of expectations during your recent visit.

Please contact me at (610) 777-7888 to discuss this matter further. We would like to earn your future business and loyalty and will work hard to do so.

I hope to hear from you soon.

Hospitably Yours,

Sagar V. Shah, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    160
    67
    22
    13
See reviews for
163
145
29
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Canaveral, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Actually I was using BW Points for my Aug 2-night stay, but the needed points is fewer than 3 other Lancaster area Best Westerns - any of which would have been a good base for a family visit. My 94 year-old mother and I requested a room near the elevator since we both can deal with any machinery noise by taking out our hearing aids. The view in our front facing room was the parking lot, rear rooms have a nicer view as it's woody and there's a pool.

Our clean room had been renovated, quite attractively. The only real (and common) bathroom complaint was the tub didn't have a hand rail positioned to assist entering or exiting it. The opposite tub/shower wall did have a handhold, but it was too far for entering or exiting safely. The low toilet was uncomfortable for two senior women with multiple artificial joints. The only available accessible room had 2 major faults: 1) smoking and 2) only 1 queen bed. Accessible rooms need 2 beds, even if one were a single. Having the sink in the room and with generous space around it made getting ready for an early start easy.

Cookies at sign in were delicious, and getting in and out quite speedy even though there was a large Jehovah's Witness group staying for the weekend. They were smartly dressed and well-behaved - but a little too much competition for Saturday breakfast. We walked 50 yards across the parking lot to the Greek/American diner and had good service and very reasonably priced breakfasts. Sunday we did eat at the hotel: the locale and price were right, but we probably should have returned to the diner for another delicious omelette and pancakes.

Personnel were all courteous and hard working with the full house. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The view in our front facing room was the parking lot, rear rooms have a nicer view as it's wood...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NurseCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAGAR S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Reading Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for thorough review and observations during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time to write this as it helps us measure our performance and work on areas of improvement. We will look into your suggestions regarding the hand rail. We are fully ADA compliant with our setup, but take your concerns with the utmost seriousness.

I'm glad you enjoyed the Deluxe Diner located within feet of our entrance. They have an excellent selection of food at very reasonable prices.

We look forward to your next visit to our property.

Hospitably Yours,

Sagar V. Shah, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, United States
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2013

The room appeared to be recently redone, so everything was fresh. As requested, we gotr a quiet room. However due to a large group in the hotel, getting breakfast before 9 am was impossible. You could not even get in for coffee.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Michaeline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAGAR S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Reading Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I believe you stayed in our brand new Cosmopolitan Premium King Guestroom. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. As we have limited rooms of this type, next time you plan on being here, please let us know as we will ensure you receive the same room again! There was a large religious convention taking place during this time, and the property was sold out.

However, we will be immediately implementing new processes including a mobile coffee cart and separate group breakfast areas so everyone can enjoy our complimentary breakfast.

We hope to see you soon.

Hospitably Yours,

Sagar V. Shah, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Room was nice but ac did not work very well had to put a pan under it to collect the water also our phone did not work our stay was in the middle of a heat wave, but we would definitely stay there again the staff were great the waffles and coffee was perfect I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john3612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAGAR S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Reading Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I apologize with regards to your room concerns. Our preventive maintenance program was designed to avoid issues such as what you experienced during your stay. Moving forward, we will ensure all rooms are in proper working order.

I'm glad to hear our staff mentioned, as they sincerely take pride in our product, and strive to please each and every guest. Our complimentary hot breakfast is a guest favorite as well. We are working on some other ideas, to make it even better.

We hope to see you soon!

Hospitably Yours,

Sagar V. Shah, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We had an enjoyable stay. peace, quite, and relaxing. With a Greek restaurant next door and a pretzel factory just a half block away that's open to the public to buy a large assortment of pretzels. The staff is friendly, clear, and relatively quick at getting you in and out. Not much face to face time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Rodney Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAGAR S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Reading Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It is always satisfying to hear about a positive guest experience. I'm glad you enjoyed our quiet location, as well as our enthusiastic team. The Greek Diner in the parking lot is a true local gem, as well as Tom Sturgis Pretzels, America's First Commercial Bakery.

We hope to see you again at our property in the very near future.

Hospitably Yours,

Sagar V. Shah, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

A very nice stay with polite and friendly desk staff. Cookies in lobby were very good. Lobby is pretty small. The breakfast area is kind of small as well but the help did their best to keep with the amount of guests there were. It was very busy with a large group of people there for a religious convention. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Internet was excellent in the room...nice and strong. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank IndianaJaybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAGAR S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Reading Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. I'm glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay and would consider our property again in the future. We always look at our amenities and service from the guest's perspective, and strive to offer a superior experience on a daily basis. Our gracious staff works hard to offer the utmost satisfaction to each and every guest.

My team and I look forward to your next visit while in the Reading area.

Hospitably Yours,

Sagar V. Shah, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Endwell, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I was comfortable staying here for the one night that we did. The room has been updated and is very clean, even the bathroom. I liked the separate sink area outside of the bathroom. It looked like the hotel has been repainted and carpeted in all areas. Cookies were awaiting our arrival and my husband couldn't have been happier. The breakfast was decent but as to be expected. We didn't get a chance to use the pool but it was nice. the front desk staff was very courteous and helpful too. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pickytravelor104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAGAR S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Reading Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your wonderful review of our property. We strive to deliver genuine service to each and every guest, and offer a product of superior value. Over the past several years, we have received the coveted Best Western Director's Award, for being in the top 20% of North American Best Western properties for upkeep and cleanliness. We want to be your home away from home, and will continue to revamp our product,

My team and I look forward to your next visit!

Hospitably Yours,

Sagar V. Shah, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reading
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Reading
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Reading
4.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Reading Wyomissing
2.7 mi away
Inn at Reading
Inn at Reading
#6 of 7 in Wyomissing
391 reviews
2.7 mi away
Days Inn Reading Wyomissing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Reading Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Reading Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Reading Inn & Suites
Address: 2299 Lancaster Pike, Reading, PA 19607 (Formerly Shillington Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Reading
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Reading Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Reading Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Reading Hotel Shillington
Best Western Plus Reading Inn And Suites
Best Western Shillington
Best Western Reading Hotel
Days Inn Reading
Days Inn Shillington Pa
Shillington Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing