We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Abraham Lincoln Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Penn View Motel(West Reading)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Reading Wyomissing(Wyomissing)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Reading)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Reading)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (497)
Filter reviews
497 results
Traveller rating
136
146
109
58
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
146
109
58
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful historic hotelchef alangrand hotelreading areareading pa
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
422 - 427 of 497 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2011

The staff was very nice and helpful and advised me to make sure they took care of the parking in the building to make sure I got the hotel rate. The lobby is beautiful and well kept. I had a nice room in the corner near the top floor. It was nice. At some point, the rooms are due for a makeover and certainly the gym needs a lot of work. There is essentially no gym if you need it, but the hotel staff kindly refers you to a nearby Gold's Gym where you can pay $5 a day.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pzs200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

This hotel sucks! We were evacuated from NY due to hurricane Irene and HAD to go there because almost every single hotel in PA was booked. First impression is ghetto. The hotel is in a dumpshack with homeless people on the streets. Driving an escalade I felt very unsafe. Parking was at an extreme limited there were only 2 spots for oversized vechicals(SUV's) so we had to park on the street!! The room was dirty and dated. We slept the first night very uncomfortably. The next day we wake up to no breakfast in the hotel and then go to Hershey. When we get back there was a COCKROACH yes a COCKROACH on the wall we imidietly packed and left. The front desk didnt say sorry or refund us a total dissapointment. A disgrace to Abraham Lincoln.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jake M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

The hotel was nice. I was there for a convention and the hotel was packed. All of the staff was friendly to the guest. The bar staff was extremely polite. Food wasn’t expensive at all and the drinks were inexpensive. The room was good also. I had a king room that was spacious, clean, and properly ventilated. The bed was very comfortable. The only drawback was parking. If you have a SUV over 6ft tall, you will not be able to park in the garage. They only have about 5 spaces for taller vehicles, which is not enough for today’s drivers. Remember, this is an older hotel. When it was built, cars were nowhere near as tall as they are today.
Overall, I must say that the hotel is nice.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Getaway4613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

This was a very comfortable hotel. The room was adequate, beds comfortable and room to move around and places to leave suitcases open. Bathroom was larger than usual. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and will stay there again if the need arises.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Except for business or social obligations, I suspect about the only reason anybody goes to Reading is to shop at the Vanity Fair Outlet Center. Near this Center is a Country inn and Suites where we have stayed at the past but which can be quite expensive, e.g., $150, for a standard chain motel room. Instead we stayed at the historic downtown Abraham Lincoln Hotel, a 5 minute drive away , for $80. (Another guest said she paid $40 on Priceline.) I knew there was little in downtown Reading of interest but there are several pubs nearby. Well, it was Sunday night and the pubs were closed as was the hotel restaurant. The hotel bar was nearly deserted and I am not sure whether the kitchen was open or not. During a walk around town, we found that there was virtually nothing open in downtown Reading except for a dive bar on the main street. We had no choice but to drive somewhere so we ended up back at the TGI Friday's across from the Country Inn and had a very satisfying, pleasant and reasonably priced dinner.

The Abraham Lincoln hotel itself is showing a little wear and tear but overall is very nice. It has been thoroughly restored and our corner room was spacious, clean, quiet and had a refridgerator and micorwave. Parking is $6 a night in the hotel garage. The big problem is that center city Reading, like so many other small Pennsylvania cities and towns, is so drab, depressing, and rundown. There is nowhere pleasant to walk, nothing to do and nothing worth seeing except some large deteriorating houses which date back 75 or a 100 years when I suppose Reading was in its heyday. As a 'city' person who dislikes the suburbs I must reluctantly recommend that if you have to go to Reading (avoid it if you can - actually avoid all of Pennsylvania if you can), stay somewhere around their peripheral highways where you have the standard chain motels and hotels, restaurants, shopping motels, Home Depots and so forth. At least then you can imagine you are in any number of hundreds of cities across the US rather than in Reading PA .

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room and check Priceline and the discount websites for the best price
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews