We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lousy location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abraham Lincoln Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Reading
New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“lousy location”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This hotel looked good online. However we choose not to check in because area looked shakey. When we called to cancel, we were informed our reservation had been cancelled already. Wasn't surprised due to confusion on phone when making initial reservation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank ChiliK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    146
    109
    58
    48
See reviews for
110
135
28
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The food was terrible, we couldn't eat the fish. The air conditioner was very loud. It was almost impossible to get the shower to go on and the bathroom fan sounded like an airplane.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Reading hotels

Shortsville, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Beautiful hotel but very disappointed in my stay. Rooms are dirty, carpets stained, coffee cups too large for the coffee machine. Smoke free room smelled of smoke. Woke up with my eyes burning. Felt as if they were pumping smoke into my room all night. Walls are very thin. Can hear the person next door. Small fitness room.. Bar and restaurant were nice. Staff are very helpful. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgeville
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

This place is a dump. More like a Best Western. Yes the lobby is beautiful and the building is very old, but the dirt and filth of this place will make anyone sick. Yes, I'm a Marriott girl and love me some Marriott, so maybe I'm spoiled. But this place is just plain dirty. The layer of dust on things and stained carpets... Window unit air conditioner... Lack of any outlets but 1... Old nasty phone from the 1980's. don't do it people, don't stay here. I'm leaving early in the morning or I wouldn't either.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

After reviewing previous comments, we booked a room for two nights. We arrived in Reading at around 10 pm. As we neared the hotel, we noticed ladies of the night on one street corner and on another, a drunk leading -- I should say stumbling with -- someone drunker across the street. So we checked in with a lit of reluctance. We should have turned back right there and then. The ceiling in the hallway was peeled and the room had a musty odor. The cushion on the bed was thin and was obviously very old. We checked out after finding another hotel. Whew! That was close.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinaStone42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reading
0.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Reading
3.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Reading
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Reading Wyomissing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
#1 of 7 in Wyomissing
632 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wyomissing
0.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Reading
Candlewood Suites Reading
#1 of 2 in West Reading
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abraham Lincoln Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abraham Lincoln Hotel

Property: Abraham Lincoln Hotel
Address: 100 North Fifth Street, Reading, PA 19601-3497
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Reading
Hotel Class:4 star — Abraham Lincoln Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abe's by Chef Alan offers casual and fine dining cuisine in the Restaurant and Bar located in the Lincoln Tower Apartments. The Presidential Ballroom and a Private Dining Room are also available for weddings, meetings, parties, and other special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Abraham Lincoln Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Abraham Lincoln
Wyndham Reading
Reading Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing