We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly Pleased”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Abraham Lincoln Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Reading
1 review
“Thoroughly Pleased”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have stayed here for a number of times within the last few months. The staff has been fantastic and the rooms have been very nice. It has the classic appeal of an older hotel and history not necessarily found in this day and age.They have been going through improvements and rennovations none of which impacted our stay but you can obviously see the improvements time after time. The bar/reasturant has had an excellant fare even with the rennovations ongoing to their Kitchen and dinning area. They have welcomed any comments and sincerely asked if there is anything they can do to improve our stay. We will continue to use this facility as we travel to the Reading area over the next few months.

Room Tip: We have found the rooms on the 15th floor include a second seating area with business work station t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa S, Manager at Abraham Lincoln Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Dale,

Thank you very much for the wonderful and thoughtful review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Abraham Lincoln Hotel. We look forward to having you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    146
    109
    58
    48
See reviews for
110
135
28
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel was surprise. In downtown Reading, it has recently been renovated and looks great. The lobby is real old school and room modern, clean and spacious. The breakfast was modest but the bar very nice. I would go again, but downtown reading is not ready for prime time. Pretty run down.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric_W844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa S, Manager at Abraham Lincoln Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Eric,

Thank you very much for your thoughtful review. We always welcome any feedback that our guests have to offer. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and that you had a pleasant stay.

Downtown Reading is constantly improving in all areas and we are excited to see what the city has to offer in the near future. We are very hopeful that the downtown area will be a "happening" place to be very soon.

We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
104 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The hotel seems to lack professional management. The staff is friendly enough, but everything seems to be done ad hoc with little structure. The front desk was unmanned most of the time and you are pretty much left on your on to wander around the hotel to find out what it offers (not much). They appear to be trying to restore some parts of the hotel, but seem to be falling short of doing a quality job. The room we had was quite large and clean. It could have used extra furniture like a sitting chair. All-in-all it is basically a sleep box.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph_F52511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa S, Manager at Abraham Lincoln Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Joseph,

I sincerely apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us here at The Abraham Lincoln Hotel. We take our guests concerns very seriously and I will look into these issues immediately. We are in the process of renovating certain areas of the hotel and I am sorry if this caused you any inconveniences. If you have any other concerns, Please feel free to contact me directly at events@abrahamlincolnreadinghotel.com

I hope that we can accommodate your needs in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We had stayed in this hotel seven years ago when in the city on a concert tour and had a great time. Therefore, we booked the hotel this time around despite some warnings from our promoter and the group booking agency we use when we are on tour.

Arrival was already upsetting for our tour manager and although our check-in requirements had been submitted months ahead, the tour manager called to confirm everything with the hotel two hours before our arrival. Upon arrival two hours later, front desk was still "working" on our check-in requests and wanted all 30 people to wait an undisclosed amount of time upon. Luckily, the tour manager was confrontational enough and we did not have to wait, but front desk was still not ready for us.

This used to be a great hotel, but it seems the owners are running it into the ground. The old glamour still shines through but the hotel is crumbling. Literally. The ceiling tiles came down in front of my door in the hallway, due to water leakage. The lobby had several buckets placed in strategic positions to collect water coming through the ceiling - in the lobby! No doubt, the collected water can be reused fighting forest fires in California.

There is more water...The star of our show noticed that water was coming through the light fixture in his bathroom. Called front desk and was told: "what do you want me to do? I am alone here". Now, he was not satisfied with the response and considering his options, he thought about calling the fire department for a while, but then decided to take matters in his own hands and had gone to investigate. Namely, he went a floor up, knocked on the door our female guest star answered him. It turned out that she was taking a shower and the water drained into the bathroom below via the light fixture.

During our stay, water seemed to be the key determining factor. It seemed to be everywhere, except in the water taps on the day of the concert. There were different reasons given to us for this problem. A building collapsed and the city closed the water main, then it was the water pump in the building. Who knows...

Apparently, TVs did not work in several rooms,some towels were so used that they were shredding and with some exaggeration, one could see through them. All in all, we had an unsafe feeling in the building and were happy to board our tour bus the next morning.

The bartender was great and after being amused by me drinking Martini Rosso (vermouth) without vodka or gin, he got the hang of it and was able to pour the second glass without a glitch. Touche!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Reading hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reading
0.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Reading
3.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Reading
1.9 mi away
Inn at Reading
Inn at Reading
#5 of 7 in Wyomissing
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Reading Wyomissing
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wyomissing
2.1 mi away
Days Inn Reading Wyomissing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abraham Lincoln Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abraham Lincoln Hotel

Property: Abraham Lincoln Hotel
Address: 100 N 5th St, Reading, PA 19601-3497
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Reading
Hotel Class:4 star — Abraham Lincoln Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abe's by Chef Alan offers casual and fine dining cuisine in the Restaurant and Bar located in the Lincoln Tower Apartments. The Presidential Ballroom and a Private Dining Room are also available for weddings, meetings, parties, and other special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Abraham Lincoln Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Abraham Lincoln
Wyndham Reading
Reading Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing