We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stop for dinner in Red Lion”

Great American Saloon
Ranked #1 of 34 Restaurants in Red Lion
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
102 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good stop for dinner in Red Lion”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Had dinner with friends a few times when meeting in that end of the county. Good choice for a decent meal. Caution on the seasoning- asked for no garlic on the salmon, so they slathered it on the asparagus instead. Servers are always friendly but tend to get a bit overwhelmed when busy. Overall, a decent choice, but not one to go out of your way to find.

Helpful?
1 Thank Guy_says-Gal_says
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    55
    11
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Menu, Delicious Food”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Went for a special birthday dinner. The menu has so much to choose from, so everyone will find something that they like, from soups, salads, seafood, beef , chicken pasta & chef specials. We enjoyed all the food we had & will go there again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nanette7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“A night out!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had a terrific waitress and the food was served hot and delish! We recommend the restaurant to friends.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gertie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good place to eat”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Pretty much your standard beef and beer kind of place. Food was good but about the same as the local chains such as Texas Roadhouse and O'Charley's. A friend ordered a margarita which seemed to be all ice with little liquid in it. But then he is really choosy. I had a craft brew which was pretty good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly service and big portions”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We were four friends spending one night in Red Lion, and the Great American Saloon was recommended to us by our B&B host. We all left the place very happy - and very full! The portions were really big, but happily also really good. The steaks were prepared exactly as wished, and the meatloaf was good too. The only tiny complaint might be the overcooked pennes in the pasta, but the great sauce compensated for that.

Our waitress was genuinely friendly and helpful, and had a very personal and professional way of taking care of everybody's wishes. Thanks also for letting us have a sampler of the local beer!

We stayed for a while also in the bar, as we really enjoyed the atmosphere of the place. Would be happy to stop by here again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaSa27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Great American Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Great American Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing