We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SHUPP'S IS DYING AND WILL SOON BE HISTORY! IT'S TIME THE TRUTH COMES OUT!”

Shupp's Grove Antique Market
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“SHUPP'S IS DYING AND WILL SOON BE HISTORY! IT'S TIME THE TRUTH COMES OUT!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

How can i put this. 10 years ago there were maybe 500 dealers, 5 years ago maybe 300 dealers, last year maybe 150 dealers and this year almost dead with maybe 100 dealers left if you're lucky, but last week it was more like 50 dealers and all the regulars are leaving. I have spoke to some of the remaining dealers and many of them blame the quicker decline on the owners new boyfriend who they say ruined what is left of the market and nobody likes him, they claim he is miserable. Shupp's use to be one of our favorite places to take a stroll and fine a nice treasure. not anymore. The dealers have disappeared and the market is 90% empty and the ones that are left are selling lower quality junk for the most part and things that nobody wants. What use to take at least an hour to walk around now takes 15 mins. It's really no longer worth the effort. I would suspect this place will be history in less than 5 years. It's too bad because it use to be so nice.

Even during their bottle show a few years ago there would be over 100 bottle dealers this years there was one, we actually only saw one bottle dealer. Pottery theme weekend NOBODY!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank TheTruth77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    15
    8
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Radnor, Pa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Treasure in the Grove”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We really like this spot out of all in the surrounding area. Come early and seek out the bargains. Clean bathrooms and fairly priced snacks. Good coffee!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mk1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place to find nifty stuff”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Get there early to get the best buys. It is very nice to walk amoung the trees trying to find that treasure you seek. The food court serves large portions of good food and is very comfortable. Lots of parking near either gate.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank goldfngr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Outdoor Antiques Market”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Out of all the antiques places near Adamstown, PA, Shupps Outdoor Market by far was our favorite. It is in a shady wooded grove (reminded us of a Renaissance Festival location). We recommend you get there when they first open. We arrived near closing time and very few vendors were still open, but we still got some great finds. The selection was good. Prices varied from good deals to overpriced, depending on the vendor.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank MountainTraveler370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
115 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice outdoor market.”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This is a good market set in a tree covered grove. The number of vendors varies but you can usually find interesting things. Parts of it are up and down hill with large exposed tree roots in the paths so it can be difficult for the handicaped.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Stillmoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shupp's Grove Antique Market also viewed

 

Been to Shupp's Grove Antique Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing