We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels Like Family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brownstone Colonial Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Reinholds B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We have stayed at the Brownstone Colonial Inn on two different occasions during January 2014, one time for 5 nights. The inn itself is cozy and comfortable, the breakfasts where awesome (the baked oatmeal is the best) and ample but the most important reason we came back after the first time and will stay there again is that Brenda and Mark just seem like family to us. The reason for our time in the area was not necessarily a happy one but even though we didn't know the Millers before we happened on The Brownstone Colonial Inn they were a comfort to us during a difficult time.

Dan C.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
There are newer reviews for Brownstone Colonial Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

I spent a night at the Brownstone Colonial Inn in January 2014. I had business about 20 minutes away and was delighted with my choice of staying at the Inn. When I arrived, I was offered a beverage and given a tour which ended with my room (Grandma's Room). The room was ample and quiet, the hosts Brenda and Mark were warm and welcoming, and you couldn't beat the price ($89)! Although the Inn was built in the 1700's, it has been completely updated with modern conveniences yet holds all the charm of a farmhouse. The room did not have a tv, phone, or hair dryer but I was able to manage without them for the night. Breakfast in the morning was lovely and complete with coffee, juices (orange and cranberry), a main course (mine was egg-based), and dessert (fruit pizza). It was really nice to have some friendly conversation with breakfast as business travel is usually so solitary. This was a welcome change. I also want to add how nice it was that Mark & Brenda lived there and knew the area. They recommended a great restaurant for dinner (The Black Horse) and helped with directions. Their knowledge and friendliness were a welcome change from the usual impersonal corporate hotel selection. I would recommend their B&B and stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My daughter and I chose the Brownstone Inn mainly for the location when we visited our family in nearby Ephrata for Thanksgiving. My niece had stayed for a romantic getaway with her husband earlier in 2013 and couldn't say enough about the inn and the innkeepers, Mark and Brenda. I am so tired of impersonal hotels at ridiculous prices for a less than comfortable stay, so we decided to give the Brownstone a try. What a wonderful change! The "Grandma" room was very comfortable and as modern as any hotel, but had the original 18th century charm throughout the whole inn. Mark and Brenda were wonderful hosts, friendly and very knowledgeable about the area as well as very good cooks. My eleven year old is not the most adventurous of eaters but each morning her first sentence was "what are we having for breakfast this morning?". She is still talking about Brenda's grandmother's recipe for the baked oatmeal served there. I loved relaxing and sitting at breakfast, talking with the other guests and Mark and Brenda about the area, antiquing and the lifestyle in Lancaster County. I have driven across the US 6 times, to and from Alaska 2 times and throughout Canada and can definitely say this was one of the nicest, friendliest places I have ever stayed at. Mark was extra nice to my daughter the morning we left and showed her those week old boxer puppies.
Thanks again for a great stay. We'll definitely see you again soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Me and my wife visited Christmas Village on the 25th Dec and were contemplating which motel to book (not so good past experiences with some Motels and Hotels make us give more than just 2nd thoughts before finalizing one), heard about Brownstone Colonial Inn in this area, checked the reviews, looked at pictures and any information availiable about this place spoke very highly about it.
Brenda and Mark are exceptional hosts, we loved the 18th century (yet very solid) architecture, every small part of this building is brilliantly worked on to sustain the vintage feel. It definetely felt like we travelled back to the colonial period with all the modern convenience. We like to meet people and share stories so the most beautiful moment for me was the breakfast time where we got to share the table with other guests including the hosts. Sipping coffee and sharing your experiences and listening to others (rejoicing flurries falling outside the window). it's just not possible to put everything into words but the feeling that "we were there and lived it" is there to stay for a lifetime within me.
In this modern world and flashy lifestyle, how i wish we had more places and people like these.

Keep up the awesome work Miller & family !

God bless your family
Bhatts

Room Tip: We stayed in "Grandma's room" which has two windows with an open view of country area...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gaurav B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Brownstone. We love B & B's and this one was no exception. It's a beautiful, old stone house, updated for today, but all the old charm still there. I could almost picture myself there back 100 years. But besides the "Grandma" room I stayed in (which I hope is a premonition of what's to come), the best part is getting to meet the innkeepers, Brenda and Mark. Like at many B & B's, we had a lovely breakfast, but the exception was that they joined us for breakfast and we had such a lovely, enlightening, warm conversation with them. We could have sat there all day instead of the antiquing we had come for. We hope to get back there again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Wendy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Great place...Beautiful and relaxing...Away from all the hustle and close enough to the sights.Breakfast was wonderful and it felt like home. The best was their boxer had puppies after we left and it was fun seeing her and sharing her last moments.

Room Tip: All rooms are different and unique. Slept on a rope bed and it was a new experience and very com
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 284KimG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

While visiting a relative at a Caron Treatment Center the hospitality of the innkeepers went above and beyond. It was a short ride every morning for my visit and I couldn't of asked for more comfort when returning in the evening. The room was extremely comfortable and immaculate. The breakfast and snacks were fresh homemade and so delicious. The innkeepers Brenda and Mark were so kind and made my stay with them I cant say enough about my whole experience at Brownstone, I would return there again without hesitation and have recommended it already to friends and family.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reinholds
17.7 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
9.2 mi away
Artist's Inn and Gallery
Artist's Inn and Gallery
#1 of 1 in Terre Hill
428 reviews
16.2 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Historic Smithton Inn
Historic Smithton Inn
#1 of 8 in Ephrata
404 reviews
17.1 mi away
Bird-in-Hand Village Inn & Suites
12.9 mi away
The Inn at Twin Linden
The Inn at Twin Linden
#1 of 1 in Churchtown
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brownstone Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brownstone Colonial Inn

Address: 590 Galen Hall Rd, Reinholds, PA 17569-9420
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Reinholds
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Reinholds
Price Range: £78 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brownstone Colonial Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full country breakfast is offered. Afternoon tea and snack is available Early morning coffee available. Take a step back in time and let us at the Brownstone Colonial Inn pamper you today. Beautifully restored 18th Century Sandstone Farmhouse situated on 7 country acres in Northern Lancaster County PA. Located 3 miles from Adamstown, the Antiques Capital of the USA. Located in Northern Lancaster County, in the heart of Mennonite farmland, and a short scenic drive to Amish cultural attractions. This 18th Century restored Sandstone Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast offers the most serene and relaxing place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brownstone Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing