We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place is a little piece of heaven!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Horizon View Farms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rockwood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Horizon View Farms
Uniontown, Ohio
2 reviews
“This place is a little piece of heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

After biking on the GAP and kyaking on the Yough river we were exhausted. We biked into Rockwood late (8pm) where Cheryl arranged to pick us up and take us to the b&b and my sore rear end was thankful. When we arrived there was a cheese tray and wine awaiting us. This place is beautiful. The room was immaculate and there was attention to detail. So relaxing. In the morning a good breakfast was served. After breakfast my husband and I went down to see and pet the 27 horses they have. They took us back to the trail in the morning.The staff is great and really put their heart into making us feel welcome. We will definitely come back!
Jason & Angela OH

Room Tip: Two rooms on lower level with private bath. Big loft upstairs with three bedrooms and one bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed here back in early spring during our visit to Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob. Close to these places and a really wonderful room and hosts. Made us feel at home with their awesome hospitality. A real gem in western PA. We will be back!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msacco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

What a gorgeous bed & breakfast! The rooms were beautifully decorated, well maintained, and clean - the grounds of the farm were truly exquisite. I could have never imagined that only 45 minutes outside of Pittsburgh such a paradise existed. My husband and I went for a horseback ride through the pristine and scenic trails - which was incredibly romantic! The deck was beautiful to have breakfast on overlooking the pastures where the horses graze. We sat by the fire pit at night which was so romantic and wonderful - we really cannot wait to return! The breakfast was delicious and abundant - Cheryl was wonderful and the owners stopped by as well to say hello. Needless to say we are planning our return ASAP!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Our stay while biking on the Gap Trail from Pittsburgh, PA to Cumberland , MD at the Horizon View Farms was an incredible experience! We were really late coming in and really really tired after a long day of biking 62 miles uphill through some rain. With no cell to call our B&B and just having left a message, our hostess, Cheryl, magically appeared at the beginning of another scary dark storm in her car to transport us 3 more miles to the B&B. She went those miles above and beyond the call of duty for sure. When we arrived, there was a hot, home cooked meal and a bottle of wine awaiting us. The old farmhouse was nicely refurbished with the original copper pattern ceilings and very quiet on a high hill. What a lovely get away for us. Next morning, after a another great meal and warm welcome by staff, we were again "escorted" back to the trail. The guys in the barn even hosed down our bikes for us; what an incredible warm and welcoming stay
We highly recommend this B&B! Joanne and David

Room Tip: All rooms were nice; 2 suites actually on the main floor, then apartments on the top floors for fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Couple2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Originally, I emailed Horizon View Farms just to ask a few questions about the facility and surrounding areas. After reading the very complete and helpful response from Cheryl, my sister and I knew this is where we would stay and organized our road trip around the farm!! From the very first email you're made to feel like family!! We were sent detailed directions and still manage to get slightly lost, our fault completely. For over 15 minutes the staff stayed on the phone trying to help us get back on track. When we finally were able to tell them where we were, they immediately said stay there, I'm coming to get you. Gerry came and we followed him to the farm!! From the outside the farmhouse is modest ,the property is gorgeous, the facility breathtaking. Cheryl met us at the door and welcomed us into the beautiful home. Brand new spacious suites with elegant furnishings, wine, fruit, crackers, cheese and chocolate waiting for our arrival!!! They were gracious showing us around the entire house and barns. We had scheduled a ride for 4 o'clock, weather conditions kept us from our ride, but Gerry had 3 horses dried and ready just in case. They also stayed later in hopes of getting us out. We met and feed the horses, they gave us emergency contact numbers and great advice on where to eat. We enjoyed the tranquil views, walked around the grounds, learned to relax, played cards and slept like babies in the comfortable beds!!! The next morning we woke up to see the sunrise and were greeted by the sweetest woman, the aroma of fresh coffee, a place setting of ripe fresh fruit, blueberries, strawberries, cantaloupe and homemade waffles!! We met more of the staff, visited our new 4 legged friends, then unfortunately it was time to go. I do have one complaint, we should have stayed longer!!!Great place to get away, slow down and chill out with couples or families.We will return, possible renting the entire house and filling it with both our families. Horizon View Farms is your Home away from Home...........Go and ENJOY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zingba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

first, i love being able to say that we stayed on chickentown and mud pike roads. other novelties: b/b that wasn't victorian or "grandmotherly," a "farm" with modern comforts (almost too much fun, actually), and having a 2-level suite. interesting and cosmopolitan owners, sweet, helpful, and warm staff. comfortable and casual stay.

most ppl in this area are soooooo nice, many random acts of kindness. in hindsight and after rereading reviews below, i wish that we'd at least gone out to see the horses/grounds since that's part of why i had wanted to stay here. and yes, they could still use a cutting board :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kcl932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012 via mobile

I feel very fortunate to have picked Horizon View Farms for our rest on a road trip between Ohio and NY.
The farm house suite is very comfortable and with great elegant country charm. From every window I could spot their beautiful horses and the serene rolling hills. My son had his first horse ride there, and still asks for "Penny"!
The staff is very courteous and helpful, and gives guests a lot of privacy. We look forward to spending more time in your guest house and exploring the Laurel Highlands in the near future!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockwood
15.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Somerset
13.5 mi away
Log Cabin Lodge and Suites
Log Cabin Lodge and Suites
#1 of 1 in Jones Mills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa
16.3 mi away
Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast
15.5 mi away
Days Inn Donegal
Days Inn Donegal
#2 of 2 in Donegal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon View Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon View Farms

Property: Horizon View Farms
Address: 2393 Chickentown Rd, Rockwood, PA 15557-7045
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Rockwood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Rockwood
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come ride the open trails, relax in the meadows, hike the hills and valleys or bike the scenic country roads. When your day is done, stay in our farmhouse and soak in the serenity of country living. The majestic and magical landscape of the Laurel Highlands provides the perfect back drop for a stay at the farm. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing