We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way below expectations”

Miller's Smorgasbord
Reserve with OpenTable
Miller's Smorgasbord is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 19 Restaurants in Ronks
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations
Description: Lancaster PA Restaurant & Smorgasbord 85 years ago... Anna Miller served chicken & waffles to truckers as her husband repaired their rigs. It was a simple dish, but it was always served up with a smile. Today our tried & true recipes may not be as simple, but they are prepared with the freshest ingredients ... And they are still served up with a smile. If you miss Miller's, you miss Lancaster County.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Way below expectations”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We drove by the restaurant and we saw it was very typical, home atmosphere and with a big sign highlighting that it was voted as the best restaurant.
In the visitors center they recommend it to us, saying that it were the best typical restaurant in the area.
Reality is that it's really plain, regular buffet. Where even the hamburguer is average.
Really noisy and crowdy.

Helpful?
Thank Miquel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer B, Director of Sales at Miller's Smorgasbord, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm so sorry that you didn't enjoy your dining experience with us. We think that our Miller's Cheeseburger with house-made Warm Bacon Dressing is pretty original, but certainly understand if you don't agree. Again, I'm so sorry that you were unhappy with your recent meal, and appreciate the feedback we receive from all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,079 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    888
    610
    393
    119
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mohnton, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food & service”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This restaurant was recommended to us, so we decided to give it a try. The atmosphere is pleasant, the service is good & the food was good. The place was clean & the servers were clean & neat. They have good hours & serve alcohol, which is unusual for the area. It was not noisy, & overall, a very good experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jnordblomhannum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer B, Director of Sales at Miller's Smorgasbord, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent dining experience with us. Please do come again the next time you're in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great chicken dinner”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We decided against the smorgasbord, as we didn't want to overeat. I don't think ordering chicken dinners from the menu spared us from that. The chicken was just perfect and the side dishes were wonderful (we had dressing and grilled vegetables). I generally try not to eat the entire portion of dressing because of high carbs. I found that I couldn't leave it alone. The grilled vegetables were good, but there was a bit too much onion for my taste. There was no room for dessert. It was an excellent meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer B, Director of Sales at Miller's Smorgasbord, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
I'm so glad to hear that your recent dining experience at Miller's was so enjoyable! I agree - our homemade stuffing certainly is irresistible. Next time you'll need to save room for some of our homemade pie with ice cream!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryans Road, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“We wanted some "Amish Country" type food!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

And we got some! We were actually hoping to head to the GIANT buffet place we had heard about, but didn't realize it was closed on Sunday. So, we searched out a couple other places and found Miller's! They had everything we needed that evening. A simple selection of local wines, which we loved. The buffet, while a bit pricey ($24/person), was fabulous! It had yummy foods and delicious homemade desserts. I was shocked that some people opt for their "just soup and salad" option, but after sampling their soups and salads, I can see why!! You can also order off the menu. We arrived a bit later than we would have liked (like around 7/7:30pm) so our wait was about 10 minutes. It was very clean, the service was great, the food was yummy...what more do you need? We even took home a pie for the family!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BWizMays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer B, Director of Sales at Miller's Smorgasbord, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thanks so much for your review! I'm so very pleased that you enjoyed the food, drink and atmosphere at Miller's. Hopefully we will be your dining choice again on your next visit to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“selection!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Great food, all top quality items. Roast beef, shrimp,fried chicken and chicken and dumplings.Many dessert choices too. There are coupons too for a discount. The place to go for pleasing different palates.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank wendala64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer B, Director of Sales at Miller's Smorgasbord, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
I'm so glad you enjoyed your dining experience with us! Thanks so much for the review, and I hope we can serve you again on your next trip to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miller's Smorgasbord also viewed

 
Bird in Hand, Lancaster County
 

Been to Miller's Smorgasbord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing