We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cherry Lane Motor Inn
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Ronks
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Second trip with family in 2 years. Yes it is in need of some updating but the clean quaint rooms, comfortable beds, amenities needed, and fair price make it well worth while. I especially enjoyed the hall way with the benches and windows to look out onto the farm. I had to drag my granddaughter out of the pool the 4 days we stayed. The owners are very pleasant and willing to help. They informed me they have only had the inn for 2 years and are constantly updating. Next up are all the carpets and bathroom updates. And we never saw anything moving that wasn't supposed to be, or evidence of same! Some people have to re-evaluate what is REALLY important in a brief motel stay! We will be back!!

Room Tip: Second floor on the farm side. We liked #28!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 491 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2013

A girlfriend and I only stayed for two nights, but the motel was a great location for visiting the Amish area. Room was spacious and very quiet but old bathroom. Nice continental breakfast. Will go back again. Especially liked watching the buggies go by.

Room Tip: second floor had no view unless you look our the bathroom window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonnie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We decided a last minute get away to Lancaster. We opted not to book lodging until we got into the area. I read about Cherry Lane on trip advisor before we arrived so we kind of had a feeling of what to expect. Before checking in we asked to see one of the rooms. There was no hesitation from the owner Peter. He showed us a ground level room across from the pool. It was very clean with an outdated bathroom. They told us that the beds were 2 queens, but I do think that they were doubles. For the rate per night we decided to stay. The grounds at the Cherry Lane are very nice. Pretty flowers everywhere. The location of Cherry Lane was perfect to. It's located in a quite area where you will see the amish horse and buggy's pass by. The pool was perfect for the kids. It was a little run down and needs some repair, but the main thing it was clean. Our room was nice. 2 beds, flat screen TV and table and chairs. The bathroom was clean, but very outdated. The ac was located high up on a wall and if you wanted to turn off or adjust the temp you needed to stand on a chair to do that. The maid service was good BUT beware they left our room unlocked after cleaning. We came back from being out all day to find our door was not locked!!! They do serve a small breakfast each morning. It consisted of bagels, some cereal, danishes, muffins, and they had some bananas. They had OJ and apple juice as well as coffee. We enjoyed our stay here and we will stay again, but we of course would ask to see the room of we aren't in one of the ground level pool view rooms.

Room Tip: Ground level pool view rooms seem to be updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I agree totally with reviews from Martha W and Edwin J. I chose this Motor Inn because we only had one day in the area and I didn't want to waste time doing a lot of driving. We started our day with a quick continental breakfast at Cherry Lane, which was just enough since we were looking forward to an Amish feast later in the day. Just minutes away, we started with a buggy ride and tour of an Amish farm. Then, just minutes away, we headed to the Tanger Outlet for shopping. We needed a "home base" for resting before going to our feast and on to the Sight n Sound show of NOAH. Cherry Lane extended the stay in one of our rooms, which allowed us time to take a breath, change and put our feet up for a little bit. The owners were so very hospitable and we are grateful for that kindness. For an overnight stay, we will return. The beds were very comfortable and we all slept well. I do agree that the carpets need to be cleaned, but I've paid a lot more in other hotels and had to say the same thing. Thank you, Cherry Lane.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbiePlus4More
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

The location is wonderful. The owners are so friendly and helpful. It is quiet there and the rooms are clean. We enjoyed sitting outside on the benches and watching the Amish buggies go by. The pool was clean and there was a swing set for kids. The grounds were beautiful. It was very reasonably priced. The housekeeping person gave us fresh towels everyday. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Upon arrival, we noticed that the motel was indeed compact and lovely, just like the motels of yesteryear. It completely had the vibe of being a throwback to the way it used to be when we adults were kids and would stay in motels with our parents.

One of the most outstanding things about this inn is the fact that it has a beautifully flowered courtyard in which your children can run around and play. The swimming pool is located adjacent to the courtyard and is pleasant as well. It is safe to say that the outdoor area is in very good condition.

My wife and I had a nostalgic flashback when we saw that the room key was actually a key; it even had the old style hard plastic marker with the room number printed on it! Contrary to what some reviews have said, the upstairs rooms are not difficult to find. The grounds are not absolutely sprawling across acres of land, so it really doesn't require a brilliant mind to find the staircase. An ounce of common sense will do nicely.

The room itself was spacious, and we were pleased with the layout. Possessing a window unit air conditioner, the room was cooled quite well and the unit was out of the way, so we didn't have to be concerned with cold air blowing directly upon us. The decor and furnishings were dated, but that's what gave the room a retro appeal to our family. We were thoroughly amused that nothing had changed in this quaint, little place. However, we did have amenities such as a microwave, mini fridge, LCD television, and heat lamps in the bathroom shower which allowed for a better experience. The only complaint that I had about the room is the fact that it quickly made my family's feet turn a shade of black after walking on it; a good steam cleaning should fix that. The floors were vacuumed well, however. There were absolutely no issues with cleanliness. We were very pleased to see that the bedroom and bathroom had no visible filth.

We will be staying here again, considering that the quality of the place is excellent for the price that we were expected to pay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edwin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I had seen reviews on Trip Advisor that warned against this hotel but chose to overlook them thinking it is only for one night that I am staying - how bad can it be? We are not hard to please... Well, how I wish I had listened to the reviews! The only reason I did not give a "terrible" rating instead of poor is because the water in the shower was hot and the beds were semi-comfortable and the air conditioning did work (extremely noisy but it did cool things down). First of all, our room was so out of the way that we could not even find it and had to go back to the office to ask again where it was. It was down this long skinny corridor. When we opened the door, this awful musty smell hit you immediately and was even worse in the bathroom. We opened the windows and it helped a little - enough to make it bearable. The carpet looked like it had not been vacuumed in weeks. We considered requesting a room change but we needed a room with the 2 double beds and the bunk beds to accommodate us all and were very tired so we chose to try to make it work. We did not see any bugs of any type or we would have exited quickly! My husband went to get a drink and some ice only to find that the vending machines were empty and there was no ice at all! There was no tissues in the bathroom, the toilet paper was very thin and rough as sandpaper. One of the headboards on the beds was broken. My son slept on the top bunk and when he laid down the light came right in his window shining directly onto the top bunk. We tried to close the blind but it was broke so had to pile pillows up on the window to keep the light out of his eyes. Thankfully it was only one night that we needed a stay! This is one place which we will not be visiting again unfortunately.

Room Tip: Dont stay in the family rooms with the bunk beds. They are old, outdated, rundown and ours was dirty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lighthouselover1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ronks
1.3 mi away
Eastbrook Inn
Eastbrook Inn
#4 of 16 in Ronks
520 reviews
0.9 mi away
Red Carpet Inn
Red Carpet Inn
#10 of 16 in Ronks
79 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scottish Inns Ronks
Scottish Inns Ronks
#13 of 16 in Ronks
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Olde Amish Inn
Olde Amish Inn
#12 of 16 in Ronks
85 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn, Inn & Suites Ronks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Lane Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Lane Motor Inn

Address: 84 N Ronks Rd, Ronks, PA 17572-9780
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Ronks
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ronks
Price Range: £42 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cherry Lane Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally located amid the peaceful beauty of Amish farmlands in the village of Ronks. We are just down the road from the country towns of BIRD IN HAND and INTERCOURSE, and only minutes away from the Rockvale outlets, amusement parks, Amish tours, historical sites, Lancaster County's famous PA Dutch restaurants, Sight & Sound Millennium Theatre and much, much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Cherry Lane Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Lane Motor Hotel Ronks
Cherry Lane Hotel
Cherry Lane Motor Inn Lancaster County, PA - Ronks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing