We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you llike being a pest....” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites St Marys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites St Marys
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Saint Marys
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If you llike being a pest....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2008

My main problem is the relative unfriendliness of the staff. They give you the distinct impression that you're bothering them and wasting their time. Case in point: when I checked into my room, I discovered that the bed sheets were covered in dog or cat hair. When I complained at the front desk, they told me that they didn't have any housekeeping staff on duty "at that time" and that I would have to wait until the next morning. They also refused to check me into another room. I ended up walking into the laundry room and retrieving my own clean sheets--which I had to change myself. Also, even though required by Pennsylvania law to change the bed sheets every three days, that doesn't happen. I stayed here for 7 nights and the sheets were never changed once despite the fact that the rest of the room was straightened up.

One final point: Nothing was done about a loud guest screaming into his cell phone at 4 a.m. while walking up and down the halllway. Again, the front desk told me that "nothing can be done about that".

Pathetic.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gorath6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    22
    15
    13
    14
See reviews for
20
22
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2008

If only the hotel was as good as its staff.

The positives: friendly, helpful staff, nice pool and workout area, good buffet (pre-made omelets, sausage, bacon, made-to-order waffles, breads, etc.), good wi-fi, and its own stoplight.

The negatives: broken top lock on door, loose hair dryer mount (which my wife pulled off of the wall, right over the sink), and big-time water leaks.

The last is the real problem. When we walked into our room, the carpet was damp and there was a moldy smell. Not oppressive, but enough so a person with an allergy would not have been able to stay. Since there were 3 weddings and a family reunion staying there, there was no possibility of changing rooms. We were more fortunate than others, who had water coming into their rooms during each rain.

To their credit, the front desk did give us a ten dollar compensation per night for our problems.

The staff is also to be commended for handling weekend breakfast for a completely full hotel. Food and beverages were kept full, tables were kept clean. Nice work in a challenging situation.

With some maintenance, Comfort Inn could give the Best Western nearby a run for its money. Until then, you may want to stay there, especially if you're expecting rain.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DAU_Prof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2008

My husband and I are "frequent flyers" at Choice Hotel's the parent of Comfort Inns. One of us is in some type of Choice Hotel every week. So, we accumulate a lot of hotel points. One night I decided to use points to stay at this hotel. You would have thought I was stealing food out of their mouth they way they reacted at the front desk. The warm smile faded to a cool chill and they made an ordeal out of the check-in process.

This is not the way the rest of the chain responds to the points program. I agree with other posters...the front desk staff needs some customer service training.

Other than the staff, the hotel is what you would expect from an older Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank suite_thing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint Marys hotels

glen rock
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2007

Our company contacted the hotel because our truck driver needed to sleep for safety purposes. I spoke to the clerk, asked about rooms for the night, only had one left. She gave me a verbal committment for that room for my driver. Only to have the verbal contract broken when he arrived. She then rudely told him he could stay down town at the inn which has rooms above a bar. Doesn't work for a tractor trailer driver.

Be aware that a verbal committment doesn't mean anything to this company. The breach of their verbal agreement cause us a lot of problems when looking to safely get our driver a room.

And watch out for the rude front desk staff. Depending on what you look like they may be just as rude to you as they were to our driver.

  • Liked — Absolutely nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank lmbrqun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Marys
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Executive Inn
1.9 mi away
Cobblestone Inn and Suites St. Marys PA
20.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites DuBois
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton DuBois
21.2 mi away
Comfort Suites DuBois
Comfort Suites DuBois
#4 of 10 in DuBois
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
21.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubois
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites St Marys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites St Marys

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites St Marys
Address: 195 Comfort Lane, Saint Marys, PA 15857 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Saint Marys
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Saint Marys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites St Marys 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites St Marys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Marys Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Saint Marys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing