We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low-key motel, but clean and good food”
Review of Gunners Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gunners Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Saint Marys B&B and Inns
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Low-key motel, but clean and good food”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed here for one night after viewing elk in the Weedville/Benezette area. Not a high-end place with perks, but great location for touring the small town or bar-hopping. I was having second thoughts by the way the corridors were looking, but the room and bathroom were nice and clean! Good nights rest on the bed. We got a late night snack (a quesadilla) from the restaurant/bar, which was good. Very friendly staff, both at the front desk and at the bar. The bartender recommended going to Straub Brewery, which we did the next morning before we left for home.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kim982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    4
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
4
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Chose it as it was only place with accomodation and restaurant. Meals in the evening were ok but breakfast was terrible, only coffee, juice, cereals and muffins/bagels to toast.
Room was acceptable but on ground floor on side of Inn, door opened onto parking area, would never have stayed if it was in a city but as mid week and not a large township no problems encountered.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, VA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We stayed here for one night in St. Mary's (so we could visit the awesome Straub Brewery in the morning) and really enjoyed it.

We will stay here again and recommend it to anyone traveling through the area. Nothing fancy, but a spotless room and bathroom and a great location over a restaurant/bar.

Make sure you also visit the Straub Brewery when you're in town. Tours are from 9 to noon M-F and the "eternal tap" runs all day until 4:30 p.m.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TBGBoodler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

How much you like this hotel is totally contingent upon the type of person you are. If you're a laid-back individual who can feel comfortable anywhere, you will love this place. It's conveniently located in St. Marys, it's clean, the beds are sturdy and comfortable, and the restaurant on the first floor serves some great food.

We asked for early check-in, and they accomodated us, which was really nice. The room had the basics: bed, dresser, tv, closet, iron. The only thing I would suggest to the owners is maybe adding another mirror in the room itself, because four people sharing a mirror in the bathroom while getting ready for a wedding was kind of tricky.

The biggest criticism: noisy. If you're here on a weekend, don't try to go to bed early. The bar downstairs is open late, and you're going to hear a lot of noise outside from people spilling out of it and out of the other nearby bars. If you're a night owl yourself though, you'll love it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank resabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We stopped in the middle of the afternoon for an early dinner. The menu has a large selection of sandwiches, salads, seafood, wings, pasta, and steak. I selected a Monte Cristo because it looked a little unusual. It was a turkey and swiss sandwich with french toast bread and raspberry sauce on the side. Different, but I thought it was delicious. Hubby had a burger, daughter a seafood salad and son had spicy chicken. His chicken seemed like a small portion, but fortunately I had plenty and was able to share my sandwich. The ambience is definitely western, but they were playing obscure 70's pop tunes which was a wierd combination. Bottom line - we enjoyed the experience and would return again. We didn't spend the night so I can't review the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zanychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlebury Center, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2009

Pleasant staff, excellent food from their very complete menu. The decor was festive and very clean.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wellsboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2007

Attempted to get several rooms booked at once. Got it booked, got it confirmed--until they found out we were a baseball team. Then suddenly "they were looking at the wrong screen and everything was booked." That was until another parent called later and booked 10 rooms. They didn't even consider how old the kids were, if we were responsible. They just shut us down.

The rooms are small. Little things like light bulbs out, batteries out of remote control, could have made it better. The staff was helpful at getting extra sheets and cots. If you stay there a night there is a band, be prepared to listen to the bass reverberate through the floor until 1 or 2 am.

Additionally, the continental breakfast consisted of chocolate chip cookies, toast-chees and juices that were used to make drinks in the bar the night before.

Clean, reasonable price. If you are looking for something comfy and posh...this is not it. If you are looking for a cheap place to stay, you get what you pay for.

  • Liked — We have some great stories and memories.
  • Disliked — The band playing really loud until 2 and the small rooms.
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank novlhap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Marys
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Executive Inn
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites St Marys
0.3 mi away
Cobblestone Inn and Suites St. Marys PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton DuBois
22.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#7 of 10 in DuBois
144 reviews
22.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubois
Hampton Inn Dubois
#2 of 10 in DuBois
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gunners Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gunners Inn

Property: Gunners Inn
Address: 33 S Saint Marys St, Saint Marys, PA 15857-1690
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Saint Marys
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Marys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gunners Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Gunners Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing