We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic and accomodating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Mainstay at Saxonburg
Ranked #1 of 4 Saxonburg B&B and Inns
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Historic and accomodating”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Weekend at the Mainstay was everything others have noted- friendly, immaculate, relaxing and low key. Inn is wonderfully decorated, and host Jim was both knowledgeable and willing to share his insights into the region- which he obviously has embraced with passion. Enjoyed the convenience of the Artist Co-op across the street, the inviting bar and restaurant right next door, and best surprise of all, Randitas organic vegan cafe on the corner. Hope to return again soon and often.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
13
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I recently stayed at the Mainstay while visiting family and am totally pleased with my experience. It was my first stay at a B and B and Jim and his canine assistant Buddy truly made me feel like a welcomed guest. I stayed in the Florida Suite (which was fun for me as I live in Florida) and enjoyed the deck for reading in the September sunshine. The Mainstay has historic charm, but all the modern conveniences a traveler would want - lots of outlets for charging electronics, free wi-fi, and a continental breakfast with a wide variety of choices. Jim was an attentive host, going so far as to call me at my sister's to advise me of an event going on that might affect traffic in town one night. I plan on staying at the Mainstay again and would certainly recommend it to others. Thanks Jim and Buddy for making my stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cathy M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here while in town for business. The owner was extremely friendly, the room was clean, and the breakfast was delicious. The little town is adorable. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cshillito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Visiting family in the Natrona Heights area, the Mainstay offered a lovely, convenient location. Host Jim was most accommodating offering earlier than usual coffee and anything else to make our stay memorable. We would certainly stay again. The updated location was beautiful and offered all we needed and then some. Wish I could have taken our bathroom home with us! Thanks again, Jim, for a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downingtown, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The Mainstay is an absolutely lovely B&B with proprietors (Jim and Brian) who clearly know how to create a warm, inviting and beautiful destination. It excdes comfort in every way. Their level of hospitality and attention to detail is hard to find elsewhere (I've done my share of traveling)! I don't stay anywhere else when I'm visiting family. It also happens to be in the charming little town of Saxonburg and only about 30 min or so from Pittsburg. I'm pretty darn picky when it comes to accommodations and have never been disappointed. I've already booked my room for Christmas!

Room Tip: The Pine Suite has a luxurious bathroom with a large jacuzzi tub. The bed is extremely comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellefonte, pa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We had a wonderful stay. Everything from pre-booking dealings to departure were handled so well. Jim was so helpful in answering questions and making suggestions.Warned us that the Pittsburgh Marathon would create traffic problems in the burgh and recommending alternate routes. The house was great, clean, quiet and very nicely appointed. Stayed in the Safari Room which was really cool! Interesting town with good food options (vegan cafe, Saxonburg Hotel restaurant), art stores, antique stores, etc.) and in a beautiful rural setting. Only a half hour from downtown so a nice option before heading into town. As with other reviewers, we recommend it highly..... oh and a better deal than the flea bag chain motels in the area. Thanks guys!

Room Tip: Safari Room is cool with African motif and facing quiet beautiful backyard courtyard, other rooms l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bellefontebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

I stayed at The Mainstay at Saxonburg because of an early morning business meeting in the area. Jim was very helpful with the reservation. He also greeted me upon arrival and prepared an early breakfast. The room was spacious and well appointed. I highly recommend The Mainstay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jbb56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saxonburg
7.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 8 in Butler
211 reviews
15.3 mi away
Courtyard Pittsburgh North/Cranberry Woods
Courtyard Pittsburgh North/Cranb...
#5 of 15 in Cranberry Township
350 reviews
14.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh / Cranberry, PA
Home2 Suites by Hilton Pittsburg...
#1 of 15 in Cranberry Township
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Butler
Hampton Inn Butler
#1 of 8 in Butler
226 reviews
12.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Mills
12.7 mi away
Locust Brook Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mainstay at Saxonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mainstay at Saxonburg

Property: The Mainstay at Saxonburg
Address: 214 W Main St, Saxonburg, PA 16056-2253
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Saxonburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Saxonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Mainstay at Saxonburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mainstay at Saxonburg Bed & Breakfast in historic Saxonburg embraces old world charm and country chic, creating unique experiences for business and leisure travelers, meetings, parties or special getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Mainstay at Saxonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing