We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, friendly, comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Mainstay at Saxonburg
Ranked #1 of 4 Saxonburg B&B and Inns
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming, friendly, comfortable”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I came to Saxonburg for work and the Mainstay was recommended as a place to stay: I'm very glad! My room was really comfortable, *great* bed, bathroom (and everything else) spotless, and breakfast was convenient and delicious. And when I had to leave early am on the day of my departure, Jim got breakfast ready for me early. A thoughtful, lovely place in an absolutely delightful town.

Room Tip: Some rooms have bathrooms en suite, some across the hall -- but even if your bathroom is across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erica362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
14
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Meadville, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My sister, brother-in-law and I stayed at the Mainstay this past week because of a death in the family. The rooms were quiet and very comfortable, and we were able to greet cousins in the library, living room, and back patio very easily...which made everything like a home away from home. We were so happy for the relaxed atmosphere - it was one less thing to worry about with all of the other things we had to plan and arrange. Breakfast was also very laid-back and we were happy to be able to spend the time together. Definitely will come back again when visiting family in the area!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My humans recently stayed with me at the Mainstay for 2 nights. They often have difficulty finding quality lodgings that are willing to host dogs, but this time they really got it right - beautiful home with loads of character. I loved the upper deck and yard space, and my room was very comfortable too. I could tell from my view from my bed on the floor, that my humans were enjoying themselves too. I liked the house very much (I was permitted to sniff about) and the owner, Buddy, and his human, Jim, were excellent hosts and treated me like family. The wonderful smells coming from the vegan restaurant next door would cause any dog to salivate, and I enjoyed walking my humans along the beautifully refurbished Main Street. I thought our visit was rather short (I was looking forward to furthering my relationship with Buddy), but as humans do they rushed me off to a new destination, just when I was really starting to feel at home >sigh<. I would highly recommend to my fellow dogs that they bring their humans here for a visit. They won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leatherandharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Weekend at the Mainstay was everything others have noted- friendly, immaculate, relaxing and low key. Inn is wonderfully decorated, and host Jim was both knowledgeable and willing to share his insights into the region- which he obviously has embraced with passion. Enjoyed the convenience of the Artist Co-op across the street, the inviting bar and restaurant right next door, and best surprise of all, Randitas organic vegan cafe on the corner. Hope to return again soon and often.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I recently stayed at the Mainstay while visiting family and am totally pleased with my experience. It was my first stay at a B and B and Jim and his canine assistant Buddy truly made me feel like a welcomed guest. I stayed in the Florida Suite (which was fun for me as I live in Florida) and enjoyed the deck for reading in the September sunshine. The Mainstay has historic charm, but all the modern conveniences a traveler would want - lots of outlets for charging electronics, free wi-fi, and a continental breakfast with a wide variety of choices. Jim was an attentive host, going so far as to call me at my sister's to advise me of an event going on that might affect traffic in town one night. I plan on staying at the Mainstay again and would certainly recommend it to others. Thanks Jim and Buddy for making my stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cathy M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here while in town for business. The owner was extremely friendly, the room was clean, and the breakfast was delicious. The little town is adorable. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cshillito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Visiting family in the Natrona Heights area, the Mainstay offered a lovely, convenient location. Host Jim was most accommodating offering earlier than usual coffee and anything else to make our stay memorable. We would certainly stay again. The updated location was beautiful and offered all we needed and then some. Wish I could have taken our bathroom home with us! Thanks again, Jim, for a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saxonburg
7.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 8 in Butler
224 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Butler
Hampton Inn Butler
#1 of 8 in Butler
233 reviews
8.3 mi away
Days Inn Butler Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh / Cranberry, PA
Home2 Suites by Hilton Pittsburg...
#1 of 15 in Cranberry Township
432 reviews
12.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Mills
12.7 mi away
Locust Brook Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mainstay at Saxonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mainstay at Saxonburg

Property: The Mainstay at Saxonburg
Address: 214 W Main St, Saxonburg, PA 16056-2253
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Saxonburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Saxonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Mainstay at Saxonburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mainstay at Saxonburg Bed & Breakfast in historic Saxonburg embraces old world charm and country chic, creating unique experiences for business and leisure travelers, meetings, parties or special getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Mainstay at Saxonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing