We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint Restaurant Typical of Historic Bucks County”
Review of Washington House

Washington House
Reserve with OpenTable
Washington House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 18 Restaurants in Sellersville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quaint Restaurant Typical of Historic Bucks County”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We had previously been to the Washington House for drinks only after seeing a show at the nearby Sellersville Theatre and decided to return for a meal. We chose to dine at the bar as there was a short wait for a table in the dining room and the bar had seating. The bar and surrounding booths are made in the heavy dark wood typical of other historic taverns in the area, which fosters an inviting feeling. We noticed several patrons were repeat customers, as the staff greeted them by name. Our dinner was well-prepared, very tasty, and was served quickly. Most offerings had a twist, such as my grilled wahoo that was served over mashed black beans with a light sauce. My dining partner felt the portions were a little small; however, I prefer feeling satisfied, not stuffed, so I was happy with the size. Prices are average for the area - dinner for two with drinks was $75. Since we live nearby, this is definitely on the list of "go-to's" for the future.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MamaFuzbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    54
    22
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
131 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“First time fabulous!”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Before seeing a fantastic comedy show by Chris Rich at the Sellersville Theatre, we went next door for a fabulous dinner in the quaint Washington House Restaurant and Antique Bar. The duck was prepared perfectly, the rolls served warm and the piping large cup of coffee delicious. Our service was lovely from the moment we walked in as the hostess rearranged our table when we added another guest at a moments notice. The waitress suggested a great dry white wine that complimented my meal and the ladies behind the bar were great letting me know they would be with me in a moment as a large order had been placed! That was nice of them instead of leaving me standing there feeling forgotten.
After the show, we returned to the Washington House Bar area and loved the warm and cozy atmosphere.
I cannot wait to return, especially for the fabulous food choices on the lovely menu.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MCoolBreezeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perkasie
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Happy again”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My friend and I had lunch here after a long hiatus due to a few disappointing experiences. We had friendly, attentive service and a delicious meal. The chef made a quiche like dish that was a step above anything like I've tasted before, along with a refreshing salad. Slight decorating changes looked very nice. Looking forward to going back (and catching a show!)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A fabulous meal with a history lesson”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We recently moved from FL and into the Chlafont area (5 miles or so from Sellersville).

The Washington house is one of our "Go To" places to eat. You will always have great food, reasonable rates, and there is normally some form of entertainment right next door at the theatre!

So bring your friends or family and make sure you look around on the walls. TONS of fun history of the city.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LTunlimited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perkasie PA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“You Can Always Count on the Washington House”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Whether you are in the mood for fine dining or more simple fare from their bar menu, this place never lets you down! Attentive service and creative specials from the kitchen keeps us coming back for more. We have never had a bad meal at the Washington House, it has become our family favorite. A tad expensive but well worth it for the quality, quantity, and atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Washington House also viewed

Quakertown, Bucks County
New Hope, Bucks County
 
Perkasie, Bucks County
Perkasie, Bucks County
 

Been to Washington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing