We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Skeeter's Pit BBQ

Skeeter's Pit BBQ
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Shamokin Dam
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Bloomsburg
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This place is located up on a hill that overlooks the river. We love too go there in the summer time when we can be out on the deck. For anyone that likes pulled pork,ribs and brisket this is the place too go. Can't wait til we're able to go back!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KathyBloomsburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    61
    34
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Very nice location with view of the water. Food was good and cost was reasonable. Would eat here again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland0424
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“What a surprise”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We were driving to see our son play soccer and saw a sign for this restaurant. On the way back home we decided to stop and take a chance, being 2 hours from home.What a surprise. The food was wonderful and very inexpensive. It was quick, you place your order and pay upon arrival and the food is delivered by a waitress. The view is very relaxing. If we lived nearby we would surely visit regularly. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teacher0424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not Exactly Great BBQ, But Not Bad Either”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The location truly is an awesome place to put a restaurant- what a great view. It's too bad that once you step into it, you are greeted by a fast food feel, and food quality that is a mixed bag. Some things- like the pulled pork and sides- are really good, and others- like the ribs, of all things- taste like they were either microwaved too long, or sat under heat lamps too long. The beef brisket was tasty, but a bit on the tough side. My wife got a veggie wrap, and loved it. Overall, the experience inside the restaurant doesn't live up to the view outside, but if you just got to have some BBQ, it will do in a pinch.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank nanangankaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Delaware, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Skeeters is a MUST for Central PA”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Skeeters is this quaint BBQ place in central PA. We actually stopped here twice in our trip. The food is that good. I was amazed by the place itself. It is located on a bluff overlooking the river. It is amazing. There is indoor and outdoor seating. The ribs, pulled pork, and beef were tender and their BBQ sauce is awesome. Stop by on Sundays for Live music. This is a definite stop on my list.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ktruitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Skeeter's Pit BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Skeeter's Pit BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing