We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ridge Top Village at Shawnee
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort(Shawnee on Delaware)(Great Value!)
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn East Stroudsburg(East Stroudsburg)
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pocono Inn At Water Gap(Delaware Water Gap)
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paramount Motel(Stroudsburg)
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$108
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Stroudsburg(East Stroudsburg)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn - East Stroudsburg POCONOS(East Stroudsburg)(Great Value!)
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveller rating
16
63
60
25
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
63
60
25
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscreened in porchrec centersmall tvvisited severalhalf bathpowder roomfull bathroomsthese unitsget away from it alllight fixturesplanned activitiesworked greatbeds were comfortablewhirlpool tubdvd playershawnee resortsnow tubing
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 188 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We spent 10 days in the Poconos in October 2013. Great weather and beautiful Fall Colors. We stayed at Wyndham Shawnee Village Ridge Top Resort in PA. The resort was good but we didn't use the activities available as we wanted to explore the area. We had never been to the Poconos. We went along the Delaware Water Drive & explored several waterfalls. We drove into NY, explore the Zane Gray area & drove along the beautiful Delaware River. There are many places to take walks and enjoy the colors. Bushkill Falls was a wonderful place to walk & explore. So many waterfalls and The Niagara of Pennsylvania was a treat.The story of Jim Thorpe was interesting as he went to college in this area. We walked a bit of the Appalacian Trail. There was so much to see and explore.

Room Tip: This was a timeshare exchange
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Greta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We had a lovely fall week in the Poconos and stayed in the Shawnee Ridge Top Summit. Being in the mountains was lovely and our unit was spacious. Check in was efficient but we were disappointed to be informed that WIFI cost was $30.00 per device to use. Not wanting to mix emails and business contacts on each other's computers and phones we chose not to purchase this service. There was no area in the resort with free WIFI. We were told to go to the Shawnee Inn, to buy a cup of coffee and use their free WIFI. This seems rather cheap to me but we did go to the Shawnee Inn and it is gorgeous, welcoming and serves delicious food. Well worth a visit.
Our unit was clean in general but had large water stains on the ceiling in the main room, a cracked ceramic tile counter in the kitchen with mildew and a gas fireplace that wouldn't do any more than glow. A maintenance call resulted in being informed that all the gas fireplaces have been shut to very low due to a law suit over a child being burned. Not the image of sitting by the fire after an invigorating walk in the lovely crisp fall mountain air.
The mini golf at the entrance is well done but the area leading into the pool is filled with vending machines with junk toys and pop. It appears that all the design was put into the entrance way and the rest of the area is more like an old YMCA/YWCA.
We saw bears mid morning crossing the main road to our unit. This resulted in my choosing not to go for a walk alone but we did walk keeping in mind what we'd do if we encountered bears.
This resort needs to invest in much better garbage storage bins as every morning the plastic ones were torn apart and the garbage strewn beside the main path to our unit. This was repeated all around the area. Maintenance cleaned it up efficiently.
We visited Bushkill Falls, drove in the mountains, visited many great restaurants, rode the Trolley and more, so all in our week was relaxing and enjoyable. It isn't a place I would trade into again.

Room Tip: If you like a wood burning fire and have a chance to request one do. We were on a preassigned exchange unit so even though I requested the possibility of a different unit I was told it wasn't possible.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank MarilynBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

As Wyndham owners booked this resort for a week for motorcycling the Pocono's. Arrived about 2:30 pm and room wasn't ready. That was fine as we knew we were early, they took our cell phone number and directed us to a nice sports bar to watch our favorite college football team play. ("Jock and Jills" I would recommend this sports bar for any sport viewing) at about 3:30 pm they left a message our condo was ready. We got there about 6 pm check in was a breeze. Got to Ridge Top 10 and found the unit very clean and spacious. The place is very dated, 19 inch tube TV's in the living room and master bedroom. The carpeting is old and couch and chair were worn with holes in them. The master bedroom has a queen bed and needs to be replaced as it is worn.
The other bedroom carpeting had been cut about 2' by 2' and had been patched. My wife took a shower in the master bath that evening, she walked downstair to the kitchen a slipped on very wet tile floor. The shower drain had leaked through the ceiling onto the kitchen floor and counter top. We cleaned up the water and that morning called maintenance. About 8:30 am maintenance showed diagnosed the problem and determined the shower drain was broke. After two trips (wrong parts) he finally got the drain fixed a 11:00 am.(we're waiting to leave). When he left he replaced the one ceiling tile but left the other. Not a big deal but I commented to my wife it was right next to the one he replaced. I took care of it. Struggled all week with someone parked in our assigned parking stall and on the last day the toilet off the master bath broke. Tried to fix it but the chain to the stopper was broke. Made it through the night using the other toilet and notified maintenance when checking out. About everything we touched broke from the cupboard to the dryer. When we met with the Wyndham rep.she emmediately told us this was not a Wyndham resort but a resort they manage. (disclaimer?) A couple we met who owns at Ridgetop told us they haven't replaced items in the unit they have in seven years. She said she thought they were trying to force the owners out. With all of this we would return to the Wyndham resort area but try to stay at a newer property.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bba66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Our 4 day stay here was good due to the things there are to do in the area - Bushkill Falls, Grey Towers, No. 9 Mine Tour in Lansdale, Miner's Village in Eckley, a wonderful shooting range, and the great little Saen Thai restaurant just across the street from the resort check-in.

We stayed at Ridge Top in a 2 BR unit. It had sufficient space, although the master bath was the smaller bathroom, but as many have mentioned before, it is fairly dated looking. There were burn marks inside the kitchen cabinet, and see the picture of the lower level bathroom sink.

I was dismayed by the lack of supplied amenities (lotion, shampoo, Kleenex, trash bags, paper towels, salt/pepper, etc.) that normally we expect, but when I mentioned it at the desk, they said that those particular units are managed by the HOA, not Wyndham. So my question is, why was Wyndham putting in in them for our stay with their program? However, they did give us shampoo and lotion when asked. Also unit was missing extra blankets in 2nd bedroom, so we had to ask for that.


Yes, we did see a bear - that was fun! But when we mentioned it at the desk, they sort of yawned and said "did you get a picture" - It did not phase us, but if someone had gone out and run into the thing or their child had gone out and tried to get close to it, ....Seems like they should
have mentioned this beforehand!

No check-in welcome packets, poor maintainence.(see pix) - my biggest complaint is that they have no hanging full-length curtains - the bedrooms all have the vertically-slatted fabric shades, which do not prevent anyone from seeing straight into your room - hard to relax in your 'jammies knowing that everyone who happens by can see right in!


ALL OF THAT SAID, however, their mini-golf course was nice and we enjoyed playing pool and air hockey. they have a large indoor volleyball court, a pool, and work-out room (the standard bikes, elipticals, etc.). The grounds were nice enough . So not bad, but not great. (they did have the new washing machines which have no agitator, so you can actually fit a full load in there , although the dryer has not been updated to accommodate that much stuff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank karensquirkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The unit we stayed at was very spacious with 2 BRs, 2 1/2 baths, kitchen, dinning and living area with a wood burning fireplace. Furnishing was dated but was clean through out. Kitchen was well equipped with all the necessary cooking equipment. The washer/dyer were convenient. Beds were too soft for my liking. Location is quiet with plenty of trees. Their clubhouse offered a gym with exercise equipment, a game room with a couple of pool tables and a decent sized swimming pool.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank German F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews