We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shawnee on Delaware
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shawnee River Village 2
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

After reading all the reviews, I was very leery walking into our unit. I was pleasently surprised that the unit was clean. As others have stated, older units. 2 story unit with TV's in every room. 2 1/2 baths and a washer and dryer. All the comforts of home. The ammenities at the complex were lacking. Exercise room was minimal and not worthy of my time. Garbage pickup was spotty and critters would enjoy themselves in the evening. It would be days between pick ups and the containers were overflowing. Close to golf and Poconos sites.

Room Tip: Call ahead and request a clean and updated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bearcat382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    37
    27
    13
    18
See reviews for
63
21
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South River, NJ
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This vacation was given to us by my sister so we could have an affordable vacation this year. Yes, some little things are dated but trip has been wonderful. Staff is friendly and helpful. Pools are clean, activities are great for kids. Villa has some quirks but all is clean and functional. Master bed was a bit too soft for my taste but my sister likes soft beds as they stayed the first night. All appliances were clean and usable. All towels and sheets were clean. Carpet was clean...looked newer. While we were there, needed to call maintenance for a burner on stove that was not working and they arrived within 30 minutes. If you expect a 5 star hotel, you won't get it but for a family get away, this is great.

Room Tip: If you have any problems, contact maintenance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Showmetheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This was a Getaway Rental through Interval. We stayed in the River Village II, which was the more "modern" of the two villages. About us. We are a family of 5, ages 2, 6, and 7. We stayed in late June 2012. After check-in, we made our way to our room. It was the last room at the bottom of a steep stairway. Trekking our stuff up and down was a nightmare. The room was straight out of the 70s. It smelled bad, it had bad couch coverings, and I never took off shoes or socks. My kids didn't know any better and loved the place. The bathroom had a red stand up tub with wooden steps to enter it. Yikes! The screened covered porch was filled with bugs and bad plastic chairs. We used it as a home base to spend some time at attractions in the area. The only positive was the mini-golf course (at a rate of $5 per person) and the indoor pool. We sat through the time-share sales pitch, during which they showed us the beautiful rooms on the mountain with granite counters and hot-tub bathrooms. Despite our saying no several times, they were pushy and rude. Overall, there are better places to stay in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shawnee on Delaware hotels

Colchester, Vermont
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Yes the furniture is dated but overall it is a clean comfortable place to stay. However be prepared to be nickeled and dimmed. We have been here before and to our dismay mini golf is a charge now even for owners. Makes you wonder if they will charge for the pool soon?? They have no business center so we were unable to print our dining dough from restaurant.com. Most ironic thing about this was when I was asking for the printer I found out they give these cards out when people go on tours and stay there. The employees are all very nice and if you want the "in" on where to go hiking ask the lifeguards.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Funtraveler1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
115 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 393 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We have exchanged into this 2 bedroom River Village Villa over Easter week. We have family visiting and Shawnee and the Poconos area offers the biggest unit closest to NYC area. Our home in Bergen County NJ area is impossible to accommodate 7 adults and 1 young child. This arrangement prove to be great. The drive to the resort is about 1 and a half hours. The road is great. One exit over NJ and you are there. We have been owner at Shawnee for over ten years. The resort have not change much over the years except for the newly built session by Wyndham. We have called 2 weeks prior to check-in to ask for a clean unit because of young child and family flying in from Asia. We did not want problems checking in after their long flight. We checked into a nice unit. It was clean.

Our two level unit is very large in the Poconos. The area is very woodsy. The unit is clean and comfortable and did not change much for the last ten years. The living area is large with flat screen TV, fireplace and a weird formation of cushioned sofas. Two adult can comfortably sleep on the sofas. The equipped kitchen has with full size refrigerator, stove, oven, microwave, toaster and blender. It also has all the pots, pans, plates, bowls and utensil you will need to fix a good meal. There is a few choices of supermarket and a Walmart is about five to ten miles away. We usually cook our own meal at the Poconos. The dining area has sitting for eight. There is full size washer and dryer in the unit. There is a half bath downstairs. The balcony is screened in and very large with two lounge chairs. The upstairs master bedroom has queen bed, TV and own shower. The second bedroom has two queen beds and TV. The main bathroom has the red tub, shower and large vanity. There is a two and a half bath in this unit.

The resort offer activities for kids and adult everyday. Most of the activities are in the recreation area. The activities included kids craft, poker games, movie night, vineyard tours. There is a very large indoor pool and two outdoor pools. There is large game room and gym. miniature golf, two large golf courses, tennis court, basketball court, a river, water fall and endless trail for hiking. The miniature golf was very nice but it is close. There is also a country store, a playhouse and playground for kids. The country store have very nice breakfast and lunch for very reasonable price. Both the golf course and ski area is open this week which is rare. We have a great time and will always come back to the Poconos.

Room Tip: Call ahead to ask for a clean unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank schong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone Ridge, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I was a bit nervous about staying at Shawnee River II after reading some of the online reviews, but my experience with the property has once again reinforced my belief that online reviews are always going to be slanted towards the negative.

My parnet and I spent three days here in early April, and were really impressed with the facilities and the staff! Had a great time, and would definitely come again.

We arrived after dark, and had a little bit of trouble trying to check in. I would suggest to the property managers that they install some lighting on the signs pointing the way. Once we found the resort clubhouse, check in was quick and easy, and the staff at the front desk were very helpful.

We arrived at the unit with trepidation, not really knowing what to expect. The reviews we had read online suggested that the property was "outdated" and "rundown". Ha!

We were REALLY impressed with how well maintained the property was. Yes, it was rather "dated" (think Brady Bunch), but I actually loved the open floorplan and the practical no-nonsense appeal of the furnishings. It was comfortable and inviting, and we felt at home in no time.

Everything in the unit was CLEAN and well maintained, and the kitchen came with a complete set of basic supplies (utensils, cutlery, pots and pans, dishware, etc.). Beds were very comfortable and the linens were immaculate.

We had a two bedroom, two and 1/2 bath townhouse with a screened-in porch. The living area was very spacious and featured a fireplace and large flat-screen TV. We used the fireplace each night of our stay (you'll need to provide your own wood, available at local gas stations) without issue.

The clubhouse was well appointed, with billiards, air hockey, video games, a LARGE indoor pool and Jacuzzi. We had a great time taking advantage of these amenities, and were only disappointed that the Mini-Golf Course (Which looked to be in good repair) was not yet open for the season. There was also a golf course, but I do not play and therefore can't comment. Seemed nice enough.

The Delaware River was just a short walk from our unit, and provided a beautiful backdrop to a nice jaunt along a wooded trail. I think there are several marked paths along the property, but we just meandered along the banks of the river.

The master bath in our unit featured a "Grecian Soaking Tub", which creeped me out a bit at first. While everything was very clean and in good repair, I did spend a few minutes scrubbing the tub down with a chlorine cleaner (can't be too safe- I really never use hotel tubs but this seemed too interesting to pass up). Soo glad I tried it despite the odd looks of the tub- SUPER relaxing and enjoyable. Plenty of hot water, no issues there.

The units in River Village II DO have their idiosyncrasies, which didn't detract from our experience as much as make us wonder. For one, there are small, square windows installed at awkward places throughout... we appreciated the extra light, but had to wonder if maybe there had been through-the-wall AC units at one point which were later replaced with these little windows.

Also, the bathrooms were not connected to the central heat/ac... they each had independent floorboard radiators instead. Could be a energy saving consideration, but more likely a hold over from earlier times.

The third oddity was the absence of any clocks in the unit. No wall clocks, no alarm clocks... very strange. However, we actually came to appreciate the opportunity to experience our vacation "outside of time".

There's no shortage of dining options near the resort, running the gamut from low key (the "four seasons diner" offers a limited selection menu at reasonable prices) to the exceptional (REALLY enjoyed our meal at the Peruvian restaurant, Inti, just a mile from the resort).

Overall, I would not hesitate to recommend the River Village 2 units to anyone who might appreciate clean and well maintained "retro" accommodations in the Delaware Water Gap area of the Poconos. If you're looking for the latest, sleekest, most modern accommodations... maybe look elsewhere. But for many people, the River Village 2 offers a great place to relax and regroup in a quiet setting with few interruptions.

For us, it was just what the doctor ordered, and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a unit with a fireplace... some of the river II units have only a wood stove, which might be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank thelema5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

I was pleasantly surprised and relieved when we arrived. we stayed in River Valley II - 159. Check in took about 20 minutes - there was a line, but it moved quickly enough. After reading the other reviews, I came fully prepared to clean and inspect for bedbugs and thankfully i neither had to clean nor worry about bed bugs! There were 3 bathrooms, one of which was small and another which had a large unusual looking round orange tub that was extremely deep and at first i thought it was a hot tub, but it's not. The bath connected to the master had a separate small area with a sink in addition to the shower/toilet. There were two bedrooms- one had a queen and connecting bath and the other had 2 double beds. Each bed room had a TV. the living area had a flat panel TV. The unit was clean, there was a wood burning fireplace (bring matches and perhaps a firestarter as you'll need to collect your own fire wood ) and a new washer and dryer. There were plenty of towels and soap and a coffee maker with filters. there was a roll of paper towels, several rolls of Toilet paper, dish washing detergent (only enough for one wash so i would suggest bringing some of your own), dish detergent (for hand washing dishes) and some laundry detergent with Bounce. If you are interested in knowing what the kitchen provided, there were salt and pepper shakers, but no salt and pepper, sugar and cream holders, toaster, microwave, tea kettle, can opener, corkscrew, bottle opener, potato peeler, slotted spoon, serving spoon, large pronged fork, potato masher, set of 10 steak knives, spatula, slotted metal spatula, ladle, 6 glass bowls, large and small plates, large and small glasses, knives, forks and spoons. There were no cabinets - only shelving. we brought our own bottles of water as we were not sure what the water purity was going to be like. the recreation center was always busy - the pool was crowded with kids even during the week, but it was large enough. Nice towels were supplied for the pool with a $25 fee if you do not return them. there is a game room which included air hockey and some other games. there is a snack bar which we did not check out. the best advice i can give you is to ask for a refurbished unit. we almost got stuck with the mutli-stair place that had broken appliances but when i asked right up front for a refurbished unit (when i made the reservation and again when i arrived to check in), they changed our assignment to a much better place that had been refurbished in the last 8 years instead of never having been refurbished since it was built in 1980. this is truly hit or miss kind with the kind of place you end up with. close to lots of hiking trails and 20 minutes up the road are waterfalls well worth seeing. the slopes had very little snow on them so we did not go skiing. The welcome center in town has some great hiking trail maps and advice on different places to go for dinner, although we ate in most nights. Really enjoyed our time together. Hope this info helps!

Room Tip: The best advice i can give you is to ask for river valley II unit 159. it only has 3 steps, all app...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank quiltware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shawnee on Delaware
21.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsburg - Poconos
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsbu...
#4 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
10.3 mi away
Bushkill Inn & Conference Center
7.3 mi away
Hotel Fauchere
Hotel Fauchere
#1 of 6 in Milford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Scottish Inns Milford
Scottish Inns Milford
#3 of 6 in Milford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
11.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Matamoras
Hampton Inn Matamoras
#1 of 2 in Matamoras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
12.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shawnee River Village 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shawnee River Village 2

Property: Shawnee River Village 2
Address: rt 209 N, Shawnee on Delaware, PA
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Shawnee on Delaware
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Shawnee on Delaware
Number of rooms: 290
Also Known As:
Shawnee River Village 2 Hotel Shawnee On Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing