We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shawnee business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I love places with history and character, the Shawnee in has both! I really enjoyed looking at all the pictures and imaging what a place it must have been in it's hayday of the fifties and sixties with all the celebrity visitors.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marcia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Marcia K: Thank you for staying with us and relaying your experience. Our history and the character that our historic architecture provides is what makes us such an interesting and unique destination. The beauty of our area is what attracted the celebrities visitors here in and what keeps guests coming back year after year. We hope that you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (952)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

528 - 534 of 952 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

I love the Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort and want to return soon. The place seems to be about 100 years old with lots of scenic views and lovely grounds along the Delaware River. It has 27 holes of golf in addition to a par three course and a driving range and practice green. We stayed in the Inn and loved our room and all the historic photos hanging in the halls which helped to tell the story of the countless famous people staying and golfing at the resort over the years. There are condos and cottages to rent and an theater which I hope to visit someday. The Gem tavern is truly a "gem." I was only there for one night but next time I'll plan to stay longer. The staff gives guided tours of the grounds. You may canoe, golf, hike part of the Appalachian Trail, play tennis, bike or gather for songs and s'mores around the campfire in the evening. If you go in the winter, it's a short trip to Shawnee Ski Resort.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Brenda A: Thank you for choosing to stay at our historic resort. You are correct, we are about 103 years old. Our history is something we celebrate and want to continue to improve on the ability to tell our story. There are a plethora of things to do at Shawnee and the surrounding area. We are all about taking time out to enjoy the beauty of the area and the serenity of nature. Come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We went for a little rest and relaxation. As soon as my head hit the comfortable bed and pillows I went to sleep. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. There were many activities to do on site and nearby. This was a location I would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Carla S. - We are delighted that you were able to relax and feel comfortable at our historic resort. We hope to see you again in the near future. Thank you for your kind word. I will pass them along to our staff. We have many special events that can be enjoyed throughout the year. Please make plans to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

we keep coming back many times every year. the team treats us like family. Osman, Rob and the team do a great job. always accommodating and making us feel at home..our friends who joined us enjoyed their visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Warbal: Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff. Delivering exceptional service to every guest at every opportunity is an important part of the mission of our staff. We hope you eill continue to return and regard the historic Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort as you home away from home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

If you stay at Shawnee, you have to rent a canoe, raft or kayak & get on the water. Awesome experience! The grounds at the resort are beautiful!! Easy to get to
Loved the farmers market on Tuesday & fun band




  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carolyn & Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Carolyn and Kevin K - Thank you for taking time to point out some of the most unique things abut the Shawnee experience. Spending time on the Delaware River, enjoying the farmer's market and concert every Tuesday night in the summer. We are blessed to be located in such a beautiful natural setting. We hope you can return soon to enjoy our "all natural water park."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We was invited to come to this hotel by an owner-member of Club Wyndham. It was a Club Wyndham promotion. This happened during the memorial day weekend. We was enjoying ourselves near the hotel lobby. Then my friend was told by someone from the hotel who i find out later he is the assistant manager "Ousnam Sy", that we cannot consume alcohol in the lobby when I went back to my room to get something. When I came back down to the lobby, I was trying to find out from the front desk why we cannot hangout in the lobby. The Ousnam answered with a very bad attitude that we can't drink in the lobby. I asked why. He replied "IT IS THE RULE ". I asked "is it written anywhere. If it is, can I see it?" The assistant manager answered "no, it is not written, but it is the rule." I asked who made the rule. He said "WE MAKE THE RULE" in a very loud voice and said "If you don't like it, you can leave" I then asked for the general manager. Ousnam answered that the manager is busy, you have to wait here for an hour if you want to talk to him. I then called the contact number from Shawnee Inn website and was able to transfer to the manager voice mail and left him a message that I would like to speak to him. Within five minutes, the general manager Rob Howell came to the lobby and made himself available to talk to me. I explained the situation to him. Rob was able to provide me with the written rule and explained to me in detail s of each one. He was very kind and accommodating. I respect the rules and have no issue following the them since they are written.
However, my complain is that I should not be treated like this on my "vacation" provided by Wyndham. Being an assistant manager, he should be able to provide me a copy of the rules upon my request. And he should know the content very well being in that position.
I am very unsatisfied with the way that I was treated here in The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort. I am also very disappointed that Club Wyndham is recommending a hotel with this kind of services for their potential client.
I contacted Wyndham regarding the issue after the trip. After a few email exchanges, their reply was that Club Wyndham does not own or manage the Shawnee Inn. They denied that they are the one that got me into this hotel.

I WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND THE SHAWNEE INN AND GOLF RESORT TO SOMEONE I HATE.

TOO BAD I CAN'T LEAVE NEGATIVE STAR

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sam m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Sam MM - Thank you for your feedback. Though difficult to read, we must as a hospitality organization ensure that we are communicating properly. I am so sorry that we did not communicate clearly in the first place and that our staff was not succinct and pleasant in their response to your inquiry. To be clear to any readers, it is not the consumption of alcohol in the lobby, but the consumption of alcohol that was not purchased on property being consumed in the lobby or other public spaces. Sir, please be assured that this has been discussed with the staff member in question. You are right, you should not be treated rudely. I apologize for what occurred. I hope that you enjoyed the other amenities at the resort. We have a very good relationship with Wyndham and are very appreciative of their support. Please do not let this harm your impression of Wyndham or Wyndham/Shawnee Vacation Area. Please let me know if I can be of service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Throughout this survey, I explained in detail our visit to the Shawnee. We realize it is really a "golfer's paradise" but it is a beautiful experience for non-golfers as well who want to enjoy a restful, relaxing get-away amid beautiful scenery and a very welcoming and friendly staff of people to insure all their needs are met!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Maryann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Maryann M - Thank your relaying the details of your experience. I certainly will share these comments with the rest of the staff. I am so glad that you had a chance to relax and see that this is a great place to either do any of the many activities that are available or just relax. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shawnee on Delaware
14.5 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,475 reviews
9.7 mi away
Bushkill Inn & Conference Center
2.9 mi away
Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Country Club
Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Cou...
#1 of 3 in Delaware Water Gap
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsburg - Poconos
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsbu...
#4 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
252 reviews
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stroudsburg - Poconos
16.7 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort

Address: 100 Shawnee Inn Drive, P.O. Box 67, Shawnee on Delaware, PA 18356
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Shawnee on Delaware
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Shawnee on Delaware
Price Range: £114 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort in the Pocono Mountains - Discover the historic Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, a unique destination for golf, skiing, vacations and meetings. Located only 75 miles from New York City in the Pocono Mountains of Pennsylvania, the resort is set amidst the splendor of the Delaware Water Gap National Recreation Area. Championship golf, breathtaking views, and some of the finest dining in the Pocono Mountains are only a small part of the Shawnee experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shawnee Inn And Golf Resort
Shawnee Inn & Golf Hotel Shawnee On Delaware
Shawnee Hotel On Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing