We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Golf, Great Food, Great Atmosphere, but room somewher else.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The playing conditions at both Shawnee and the Great Bear golf courses was outstanding.The food service was top-notch, the dining facilities were adequate and pleasant. But, while the beds were comfortable, the quality and cleanliness of the rooms just doesn't measure up to the quality expected at a renowned Golf/resort facility. I would definitely return to utilize your out standing, and diverse, facilities, but would probably seek accommodations elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Mark G: Thank you for your review. We are very fortunate to operate two of the finest golf facilities in the Pocono Mountains. With a classic course at Shawnee and a contemporary course (Nicklaus Signature design) at Great Bear, we have two great options for golfers.
The playing conditions at both Shawnee and the Great Bear golf courses was outstanding.
I apologize about the cleanliness of the rooms. That is not acceptable. Please reach out to me personally when you would like to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (961)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

521 - 527 of 961 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had a very nice stay at Shawnee Inn and Resort. The golf courses were well maintained. It was a short distance from home so made it very convenient to travel to and from. The room was very clean and we had a nice dining experience in the River Room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dick & Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dick and Linda F: Thank you for taking the time to let us know how great your stay was. We try to keep our award winning golf course in tip-top shape. Our River Room is always updating our menu for every season using out farm fresh foods. I hope you will come back and visit us very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

If you wish to truly enjoy your experience at Shawnee, work with the staff (Ask for J.J.). We played 63 holes of golf, had a BBQ by the river, rocked with a GREAT band at the craft brewery, and enjoyed the all restaurants. Great time!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

David: It is always a pleasure to have groups both large and small come to our resort. I am very happy to read that our staff gave great service and showed professionalism. I am so glad you loved the brewery's "Rhythm and Brews" night. We take pride at Shawnee to listen to our guests and deliver exceptional service for every guest at every chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I, unfortunately, believe the rooms were overpriced, especially since the air conditioning was not working properly. We should have received some kind of discount and/or credit. The Inn is old and looked a bit run down, but the golf course was nice and well maintained.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cblood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear cblood: I am sorry to hear about your disappointment. Our staff have since resolved the air conditioning issue. I hope you will give our resort another try, perhaps in the fall; the foliage is quite beautiful. It is a historic inn (103 years old!), and we do our best to keep up with the maintenance without losing the historic charm. We hope that our guest find value in all of the activities they can take part in as well. Again, I am sorry to hear your trip was disappointing, and I will reach out to you personally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Beautiful old hotel on the Delaware River, staff was excellent, beds very comfortable, the room was clean. There is no outdoor pool and the indoor pool has seen better days and was dirty. If you want to relax and unwind this would be perfect for you, if you like a little excitement this is not the place. The golf course was beautiful and well maintained. The A/C in the room did not function well. Your only choice for breakfast is a buffet, excellent as it was I would have liked a choice of something smaller.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Linda S. : I am happy to hear you thought our resort was beautiful. I suppose it depends on what you call exciting. If you love outdoor activities, campfires, hayrides and family bonding time - it can be exciting. Yes, we do offer a breakfast buffet 7am-11am in our River Room, but I am sad to say someone should have informed you we also have the Buckwood Café, which features specialty coffee, tea, breakfast sandwiches and pastries for the guest on the run or simply to enjoy breakfast on the veranda. I am sorry about our outdoor pool. We can discuss over a cup of coffee sometime while you are here. We added a sundeck to our indoor pool and a sandy beach so that guests may swim in the Delaware River. We are working on our indoor pool; I have spoken with our staff on the condition and cleanliness. I am sorry it did not meet your expectations. Thank you again for recognizing our beautiful resort and golf course located on the majestic Delaware.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Overall the experience was very good except for the air conditioning in my room and the wedding reception room.
The view and grounds are wonderful.
I would recommend but a little pricey. A small breakfast would be nice!



  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Bathrooms need to be bigger with additional counter space.
A/C could have been cooler.
The trip to the last hole was an eyesore. A fence should be placed between the parking lot and the fairway to leave a pleasant lasting impression.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shawnee on Delaware
14.5 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,494 reviews
9.7 mi away
Bushkill Inn & Conference Center
2.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsburg - Poconos
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsbu...
#4 of 7 in East Stroudsburg
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Country Club
Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Cou...
#1 of 3 in Delaware Water Gap
115 reviews
6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stroudsburg - Poconos
16.7 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort

Address: 100 Shawnee Inn Drive, P.O. Box 67, Shawnee on Delaware, PA 18356
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Shawnee on Delaware
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Shawnee on Delaware
Price Range: £78 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort in the Pocono Mountains - Discover the historic Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, a unique destination for golf, skiing, vacations and meetings. Located only 75 miles from New York City in the Pocono Mountains of Pennsylvania, the resort is set amidst the splendor of the Delaware Water Gap National Recreation Area. Championship golf, breathtaking views, and some of the finest dining in the Pocono Mountains are only a small part of the Shawnee experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shawnee Inn & Golf Hotel Shawnee On Delaware
Shawnee Inn And Golf Resort
Shawnee Hotel On Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing