We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is ok”

Saen Thai Cuisine Limited
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It is ok”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The restaurant is small. I like the decorations. Service is good. I used to eat Thai food, their food is ok. It is not spicy at all. It is just ok for me.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ngelaymai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    43
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level Contributor
369 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Thai food”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Thai food is one of our favourites! We went along with 2 friends and their toddler daughter. They do a special lunch deal $7.55 which can include one of 2 other items alongside the main course. We also enjoyed a dessert consisting of bananas. Was a little disappointed that one of the staff was dour but food was excellent and served quickly. It's a very busy place so you need to get there early. They don't open on a Monday but otherwise time is 11.30 to 2pm and evenings

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Laurel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
108 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very good food and service”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Get there early. We were hungry and went about 5:45 pm. The restaurant was already half full and filled up pretty quickly. The food is very fresh and cooked to order. It takes a while, but is worth the wait. We had chicken curry puffs and soft shell crab for appetizers with 2 dinner specials. It was excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, PA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“NEVER AGAIN.”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I have never had Thai food before and everyone raved about this place. We showed up 15 minutes before opening and there was already a line. Good sign right? We went inside and yes it is VERY small but that is fine. We were seated and our server was very nice. I informed him that this was my first time trying thai food and he informed me that I came to the best place. I ordered a salad and it came out looking good with peanut sauce on top. Next we ordered chicken satay (chicken on a stick) with peanut sauce as a dipping sauce, We also ordered spring rolls. Hard to go wrong with that. Hubby ordered a beef dish and I ordered shrimp pahd thai. I figured I was safe with that since I had told the server that I cannot have certain sauces because of stomach issues. He said yes that is basic. So..,..1.5 hours later we still have no entrees. Meanwhile everyone that came in at opening time was long gone. My husbands meal comes out and while not very hot, it has good flavor. 15 minutes later, I still have no food. At this point I should have gone with my gut instinct and left for the Minisink. All of a sudden my food appears looking very good but as soon as it was put down I noticed a horrific smell. I literally felt ill. I told my husband it smelled spoiled. His response was just pick the shrimp out. Well, I ate one and immediately thought I was going to be sick. I told the server it was spoiled and he informed me it was cooked in fish sauce and that most people that have it the first time know better and order it without fish sauce the next time. OK then, why make it that way? I was asked if I would like to try something else but I did not have another hour and a half to wait. He wanted to box it up to take with me. Hell no! We did not want that smell anywhere near us. I told him just to throw it out. This is the first time I have ever sent food back . Anyway got the bill. It was not taken off so live and learn. This was by far the most disgusting thing I have ever had. I guess if you stick with chicken on a stick and fried spring rolls you are safe.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michele T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Thai food”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We ran out of time to eat in the restaurant but when we went to pick up the dishes we had ordered for take-out, the sights and smells were out of this world! We enjoyed our selections and wished we had another day to eat! Very reasonable for the quality.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 653dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saen Thai Cuisine Limited also viewed

Shawnee on Delaware, Pocono Mountains Region
Stroudsburg, Pocono Mountains Region
 
East Stroudsburg, Pocono Mountains Region
Marshalls Creek, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Delaware Water Gap, Pocono Mountains Region
Shawnee on Delaware, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Saen Thai Cuisine Limited? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing