We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect escape in the Poconos”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shawnee on Delaware
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Santosha on the Ridge Bed and Breakfast Sanctuary
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A perfect escape in the Poconos”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

After a week full of driving on a business trip, this was the best surprise. The B&B feels like a home away from home. It is decorated in beautiful mountain/peaceful charm without the kitschy Bed & Breakfast feeling you get from many places. No doilies, overwhelming fabric, or old furniture. We stayed in the only room on the first floor. It was a weekday so it was very quiet, so i'm not sure what it would be like with more couples and noise. You are literally in the woods, it's beautiful. The view is gorgeous, the surrounding gardens, labyrinth, and pond are fun to explore. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. My husband and I will be going back, and I can't wait to do yoga on the porch!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
126
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We've stayed in the Sunrise Room twice and would like to move in. The food and people at Santosha are wonderful and helpful, especially if you care about health, well-being, yoga, or real relaxation. But the atmosphere, location, and view make the place. It gives you all the beauty and convenience of the Poconos in a setting that seems far removed from the bustle and kitsch that one also finds there. The soulful, spacious place invites you to reconsider things. And I should note that we actually got some work done and relaxed. Can't recommend it enough.

Room Tip: Sunrise is magnificent, but be ready to rise and shine early, as you might expect in a place defined...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed in the Riverview room on a Saturday night. The room was great - super comfortable bed, spacious, private bathroom, the view out the window makes you feel like you're in a treehouse. The architecture of the home is beyond gorgeous. Light streaming through every window, beautiful furniture, modern and sleek but still home-y. We relaxed on the back porch with a bottle of wine late into the night on Saturday, and had no idea that there were other couples also spending quality time on the other porches until we all talked about how wonderful and relaxing the evening was at breakfast the next morning. So, definitely lots of space for privacy! Breakfast was super healthy, and very tasty. I can't wait to come back.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paulina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2012

This was our second stay at Santosha on the Ridge. It is an amazingly beautiful, relaxing and welcoming place. The view from the deck is wonderful. My husband and I spent most of Saturday on the deck reading and talking. Breakfasts are delicious and Leslie and Amy are wonderful hosts - very friendly and warm. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable - every detail has been thought of in advance. We plan on returning every year to recharge our batteries.

Room Tip: Altho the most expensive room, "Naturescapes" was worth every penny. It has a king sized...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2012

After having my eye on this place for years, my wife and I finally had an opportunity to get away (from parenting) for a few days. I had built up Santosha in my mind as the perfect place to unwind, and trust me, it didn't disappoint. Our idea of getting away doesn't include heavy drinking and wild parties as we are certainly past that. Instead, the peaceful surroundings allowed us to talk, relax and reconnect. It was almost immediate once we found the place.
The views and grounds are away from everything and picturesque. The pics on the website are beautiful in person and our room was outstanding.
In addition, morning breakfast is prepared with fresh and organic ingredients, much of it from their garden, and is delicious.
Hiking and outdoor activities are very accessible year round and we spent most of our days hiking by beautiful waterfalls that weren't filled with tourists.
The people that run Santosha are so warm, welcoming and casual that you immediately feel at ease and you are encouraged to literally make yourself at home.
We are definitely going back, and may make this our number one weekend getaway destination.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aryehd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2012

A beautiful spot in a beautiful part of the US!!! I was hesitant about a bed and breakfast for my marathon weekend. Every B&B that I've ever spent the night in was at best a horror movie.. Old furnishings in a old house with lots of old things around and people with strict rules. Not at ll what I needed before or after running a marathon!! Santosha could not be more opposite from my past experiences!! New, airy house overlooking the Appalachian trail. Accommodating home owner and assistant( they are both great but very different personalities). Breakfast was delicious everyday, the house was comfortable, and the views and ambiance was fantastic!! Couldn't recommend santosha more.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool. A hot tub sits on one of decks. Quiet, views, delicious healthy food in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2trigirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

My husband and I recently made a last minute trip to Santosha from NYC. The weather was not on our side, but Santosha made up for it. We do quite bit of b & b-ing, and this is one of the most peaceful and relaxing places we've ever stayed. Amy was so gracious and wow, does that gal know how to cook a breakfast! If you're considering this area as a get-away, look no further than the beautiful house on the mountain. We look forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daytrippers38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shawnee on Delaware
4.2 mi away
Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Country Club
Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Cou...
#1 of 3 in Delaware Water Gap
105 reviews
14.8 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,425 reviews
4.6 mi away
Budget Inn & Suites
Budget Inn & Suites
#2 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bartonsville
1.3 mi away
The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort
The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort
#1 of 4 in Shawnee on Delaware
923 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pocono Palace Resort
Pocono Palace Resort
#1 of 2 in Marshalls Creek
2,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santosha on the Ridge Bed and Breakfast Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santosha on the Ridge Bed and Breakfast Sanctuary

Property: Santosha on the Ridge Bed and Breakfast Sanctuary
Address: 121 Santosha Lane, Shawnee on Delaware, PA 18301
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Shawnee on Delaware
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shawnee on Delaware
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 72 miles west of Manhattan, nestled in the heart of the Pocono Mountains, Santosha on the Ridge Bed and Breakfast is a secluded sanctuary overlooking the Delaware River valley. With 4 rooms available for accommodation, exclusivity and privacy are key elements of your relaxing getaway. Wake up to start your day with an amazing home cooked breakfast, then explore the beauty of the region or just relax on the front porch with your favorite book. However you define your retreat, we will make you feel welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing