We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A surprise place to stay in this samll, clean Pennsylvania Town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shippen Place Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Shippen Place Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Shippensburg
Certificate of Excellence
La Jolla, CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A surprise place to stay in this samll, clean Pennsylvania Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2008

We visit family each year in Shippensburg, PA. This was our first stay here. This hotel on the main street is more like an English Hotel with its reception lobby and an adjoining dining room and bar area. There is a rear patio for dining or to have a cocktail in the warmer months, when we were there. The patio has a wall blocking the parking lot view. The place is a little gem, for such a small town. I agree with the previous reiewer that the beds could be a little more comfortable. They are kept clean. Many of the staff, for the most part, seem to be students at the local University. The rates at $89.00/nightly could not be beat for such a large room. It definitely beats the ho-hum chains off the freeway ramps.

  • Liked — The Traditional English Hotel layout, and the location right in Town on the Main Street
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    66
    16
    8
    5
See reviews for
53
41
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2008

I stumbled across this hotel during an internet search for the Shippensburg, PA area. I was traveling to Shippensburg for a last minute visit with family friends and was unable to get a room at the larger chain hotels in town. The price here was right and the reviews I could find were positive.

After staying here, I would agree with the earlier reviews. The rooms are basic, but clean. The continental breakfast is mediocre, but as expected. I also found it strange that the cleaning staff and front desk clerk routinely helped themselves to the breakfast spread while the guests were still in the room. It appears this is also the hotel staffs normal breakfast.

From what I gathered talking to the staff, the hotel is owned by Shippensburg University and is normally reserved for the university's distinguished visitors. The hotel has a lot of potential, but as it is right now it is just a place to crash while you are enjoying the Shippensburg area. Do not expect anything more than a clean room and free ice!! I personally found the beds a little uncomfortable and in need of replacement. Overall, I would stay here again if traveling thorugh the area.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Uncomfortable bed
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveler807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southcentral PA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2007

My husband and I live in the next town but just wanted some alone time from the little darlings. We chose the Shippen Place because it was close and locally owned. The staff was very friendly and the hotel was not very busy. The rooms were tastefully decorated and didn't look completely "hotelish". Nice and comfortable. It was very quiet and the price was just right~actually cheaper than the Sleep Inn. We were VERY pleased with the room.

My husband and I weren't crazy about the breakfast. Just your typical boxed cereal, boxed muffins and such. There were cheese danishes, but I won't tell you what was growing on the bottom of it. Luckily I noticed it before I took a bite into it! EEeee...! I thought it also strange that as the guests were eating, the cleaning staff came in and helped themseleves to coffee and the food. Not that I cared, but most restaurants (except fast food) don't allow the on duty wait staff to eat among the patrons, so I thought it a bit odd that the hotel staff was allowed to eat off the guest buffet. Again, not important, just odd!

Overall, a very nice hotel. By far the best choice in Shippensburg!

  • Liked — Room/Great View
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2006

We stayed in Shippen Place for a 2 nights. It was perfect in every way. The rooms were super clean and the restaurant was great. Nice town.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2mousey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shippensburg
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Shippensburg
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Shippensburg
Courtyard Shippensburg
#3 of 6 in Shippensburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
#5 of 16 in Chambersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
10.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chambersburg
Candlewood Suites Chambersburg
#7 of 16 in Chambersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
9.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chambersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shippen Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shippen Place Hotel

Property: Shippen Place Hotel
Address: 32 E. King Street, Shippensburg, PA 17257
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Shippensburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Shippensburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shippen Place Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Shippen Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing