We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B Hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Smethport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mansion District Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Smethport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fayetteville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We unfortunately spent only one night here. Wished it could have been a longer visit. The Inn is definitely a top notch B&B, and Jovanna and Ross Porter are fantastic innkeepers. Jovanna fixed the guests a delicious breakfast, and Ross gave an interesting talk about the Inn's history. We stayed in the Dr. McCoy suite on the third floor, which allowed us to also have a sitting room and Jacuzzi tub. Even before we walked in the front door, there was a blackboard on the front porch personally welcoming us to the Inn. For sure, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
192
13
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We recently stayed three nights at the Mansion Inn and enjoyed every single moment. We stayed in the McCandless Suite and found it to be elegant and quite comfortable. Jovanna provided us with wonderful breakfasts, and Ross engrossed us in the history of the Mansion and the town of Smethport and the surrounding area. We felt so welcomed and quite at home staying with this charming couple. We left refreshed and happy, but also sad to leave.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed there on Labor Day weekend. We will certainly be going back, if only just to stay there again. Very nice place, everything about it- the rooms, breakfast, etc. The owners know the surrounding area very well as well as the current events (hours, road construction, where to eat). While at breakfast the owners' friend popped in, the inventor of the "Wooly" Willy" toy himself. Shook his hand and chatted for a few moments, my wife and I wished we'd got a photo and had him sign our Wooly Willy toy we got for staying at this inn. We have four kids ages 11 to 1... we don't get out much alone and get away even less, so if a stay or trip somewhere doesn't work out so well it may be a year or more before we get another chance to get away and try again. We were so impressed with this place we may just head right back there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a wonderful two day stay in the B&B. We could not get a room in the main building but had a wonderful suite in the Sheriff Startwell House. We had our wonderful breakfast and history lesson in the main house. Both of the breakfasts prepared by Jovanna were excellent. They featured fresh locally sourced foods and wonderfully brewed coffee. We also spent a late afternoon before dinner conversing with Ross and sipping on a complementary glass(es) of wine and enjoying the front seating room. We had a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

I travel a lot and prefer to stay at bed and breakfast locations. This is so beautifully furnished with the area history. Ross and Jovanna are great in sharing history of all the area towns and the people who started them. The food and hospitallity are the best of any place I have stayed across the entire country! You will be glad you have chosen to stay here, and may even be glad to stay a few extra nights as my wife and I did.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSPMTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, Usa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

I can't say enough good things about this B & B. The rooms are spotless, the breakfast was to die for, and the owners are friendly and knowledgeable. Also the price was very reasonable. Will definitely stay here again.

Janet

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank JBufa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuQuoin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

EVEN though we didn't stay at the mansion we had breakfast there. The food was excellant! We stayed at one of their other properties which was like a small apartment. Jovanna and her husband were so much help with our trip planning. We definetly want to go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smethport
14.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites - Bradford
14.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 6 in Bradford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
14.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bradford Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn
19.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Olean
15.5 mi away
Oz's Homestay Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion District Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion District Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Mansion District Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 905 W Main St, Smethport, PA 16749-1040
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > McKean County > Smethport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Smethport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion District Inn Suites Bed & Breakfast is situated in the heart of historic Smethport, PA's Mansion District; deep in the Pennsylvania Wilds. Experience exquisite Victorian opulence in the magnificent 1891 Hamlin-McCandless mansion. Enjoy your gourmet breakfast beside the fireplace in the spectacular Golden Oak dining room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing