We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another wonderful trip to Smethport”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Smethport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mansion District Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Smethport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Another wonderful trip to Smethport”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I just returned to Pittsburgh from my two-day business trip to Smethport and had an absolutely wonderful stay at the Mansion District Bed and Breakfast! I've stayed with Jovanna and Ross several times in the past, but this was my first time in the B. D. Hamlin Suite. It was a large, beautifully-decorated two bedroom suite with a kitchen and large bath. The back bedroom has windows all around, allowing me to look out at the beautiful mountains beyond. Jovanna was her usual hospitable self and we enjoyed great conversation at breakfast, as I ate the omelet she made me with fresh eggs, laid by the chickens in the back yard, vegetables and herbs from her garden. This is a beautiful and welcoming place to stay when you're exploring northern Pennsylvania and I highly recommend it to all!!! Thanks Jovanna for another great stay!
Sandy K.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful and they can accommodate singles, as well as small families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
194
13
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is a beautiful mansion...and it really is a mansion. The whole place is beautifully decorated with antiques and art and every little thing is thought of, from wine, coffee and homemade cookies in the living room to shampoo, conditioner, soap in the bathroom, to robes, chocolates and even earplugs in the bedroom! The breakfast was amazing both mornings we were there, both gourmet and generous portions. You will not leave hungry! The hosts are amazingly gracious and interesting and know a lot about local history if you are interested. There are large porches for lounging on and it is an easy walk to the lovely downtown area.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the third floor which uses a bathroom with a jacuzzi tub big enough for two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

What a great stay in Smethport. First, it was a first-time visit to Smethport for work and I was very impressed with the town. It's a very nice, properous-looking town in a beautiful mountain valley anchored by an impressive district of restored industrialist mansions. And Mansion District Inn is right in the center of it all.

You can tell that the owners Ross and Jovanna love what they do. The house is impeccably furnished with period artwork and tasteful furniture and the accommodations are nothing short of luxurious. I felt like I was staying somewhere that should cost three times as much per night. The little touches are tremendous, with snacks, drinks and wine at your disposal, and while the home pays homage to the Victorian era when it was built, it's very updated with all of the modern conveniences, including flat screen TVs in the rooms (my suite even had a little flat screen in the bathroom). The suite was also very bright and airy.

Breakfast is the highlight. Quite honestly, I felt so spoiled by Ross and Jovanna I almost felt guilty. Jovanna served a three course breakfast that was gourmet and spectacular - cranberry/walnut biscotti from her native Sicily, grilled carmelized peaches in yogurt, hickory bacon, and a gourmet omelet using fresh eggs from their chicken coop ...yum!!! Ross is great company and during breakfast gave us a very interesting history lesson about the house and the town that was very enjoyable.

I would highly recommend a stay here. While the Inn's right in town, Smethport is so on the edge of the wilderness that a short hike takes you off the beaten path in no time, observing herons, deer, ducks and even a bald eagle. Before breakfast at first light I grabbed my fishing rod and waders and within a five minute walk was fishing Marvin Creek, and hooked a trout in no time (which Jovanna was happy to prepare).

All in all, a great stay. Felt bad for my colleagues who didn't know about the place and wound up at a roadside motel in Bradford.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This beautiful B&B is a historic find nestled in a charming town - Ross and Jovanna were so welcoming and informative, Jovanna's breakfasts (with her yummy homemade biscotti) were culinary masterpieces complimented by Ross's smooth Sumatra coffee! The amenities were above and beyond - complimentary wine, bottled water, soda pop and fresh cookies! We enjoyed our bike ride outside of town on a quaint country road and the walking tour of the 19th century mansions was a history lover's dream come true - thank you Ross and Jovanna for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The Home, Furnishings, Food, and Ambience made for the best B&B experience. Ross and Jovanna were perfect hosts. The beautiful old homes in the town of Smethport were charming and there was easy access to the Allegheny National Forest..
Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: The Freeman room was comfortable with a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My mom and I ad booked only one night to stay here. After arriving, we decided on a second night. We were impressed with the mansion and the innkeepers, Ross and Javonna. The weekend was relaxing and just what we needed. I am gluten free and Jovanna was able to accommodate my dietary restriction. We enjoyed wine on the huge front porch and even on the chicken coop! We both plan to go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My fiancé and I stayed here in May 2014. We searched the internet for a B & B near the Allegheny National Forest. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The B & B was nestled in a scenic valley full of historic mansions. Once inside, we were greeted by Jovanna, who was very friendly and laid back. The house was full of wonderful oddities that kept us entertained all the way to our room on the third floor. The bed we slept in was one of the many antiquities that abounded... a Chinese wedding bed circa 1850. The room was clean and had complimentary drinks in the mini fridge. In the evening, Jovanna offered fresh baked chocolate chip cookies and wine in the common area.
Breakfast in the morning was wonderful, especially the homemade biscotti, an Italian family recipe. As the rest of the tasty breakfast was served. Ross, Jovanna's husband entertained us with local history. Ross was also very down to earth and knowledgeable. After breakfast, Jovanna offered suggestions for nearby attractions. We went to the Kinzua Bridge Sykwalk, which was beautiful, not to be missed.
Overall, we were both very satisfied with our stay and felt that it was well worth the 5.5 hour drive. We are recommending this to friends and family. Don't forget to check out the high class chicken coop that Ross built!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smethport
14.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites - Bradford
14.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 6 in Bradford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
14.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Bradford Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Best Western Plus University Inn
19.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Olean
15.5 mi away
Oz's Homestay Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion District Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion District Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Mansion District Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 905 W Main St, Smethport, PA 16749-1040
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > McKean County > Smethport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Smethport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion District Inn Suites Bed & Breakfast is situated in the heart of historic Smethport, PA's Mansion District; deep in the Pennsylvania Wilds. Experience exquisite Victorian opulence in the magnificent 1891 Hamlin-McCandless mansion. Enjoy your gourmet breakfast beside the fireplace in the spectacular Golden Oak dining room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing