We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Continuity”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Smethport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mansion District Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Smethport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

For almost a year, I have been fortunate to stay at the MDI.
Each time, and my visit last week was my 6th, has been just as enjoyable as the last.
You will be greeted warmly in a beautiful, historic home. You will find the place and your room immaculately clean. Bedding and towels are excellent quality and also immaculate.
Complimentary coffee (single serve cups), wine and cookies in the living room are a good break before entering to dinner.
I have since ventured to Port Allegany for food, and have been happy with Moe's.

The three course breakfast is still amazing and perfect for a full days work! (Last week it included grilled fresh peach with a honey-rosemary drizzle, on a bed of yogurt)

Do not hesitate to go to MDI, even if you need to change your schedule to get a room!

Room Tip: Check the MDI website to see what each room has to offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

220 - 226 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

Only a few hours drive from Toronto, the Mansion District inn is well worth the drive! With Ross as the resident historian and Jovanna as gourmet chef and loving caregiver(!) to the chickens out back, they are a hospitable pair! The suites in this house are reasonably priced and beautiful - the 2-bedroom Hamlin suite was perfect for my husband and I and our two young kids. I loved the high beds, beautiful antiques and the breakfast awaiting us downstairs when we woke up. Delicious coffee, a homemade biscotti to start, caramelized apples and strawberry crepes with smoked bacon.

Room Tip: Check out their third floor suite on line.With a Chinese antique bed and a jacuzzi, this would be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I just returned to Pittsburgh from my two-day business trip to Smethport and had an absolutely wonderful stay at the Mansion District Bed and Breakfast! I've stayed with Jovanna and Ross several times in the past, but this was my first time in the B. D. Hamlin Suite. It was a large, beautifully-decorated two bedroom suite with a kitchen and large bath. The back bedroom has windows all around, allowing me to look out at the beautiful mountains beyond. Jovanna was her usual hospitable self and we enjoyed great conversation at breakfast, as I ate the omelet she made me with fresh eggs, laid by the chickens in the back yard, vegetables and herbs from her garden. This is a beautiful and welcoming place to stay when you're exploring northern Pennsylvania and I highly recommend it to all!!! Thanks Jovanna for another great stay!
Sandy K.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful and they can accommodate singles, as well as small families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is a beautiful mansion...and it really is a mansion. The whole place is beautifully decorated with antiques and art and every little thing is thought of, from wine, coffee and homemade cookies in the living room to shampoo, conditioner, soap in the bathroom, to robes, chocolates and even earplugs in the bedroom! The breakfast was amazing both mornings we were there, both gourmet and generous portions. You will not leave hungry! The hosts are amazingly gracious and interesting and know a lot about local history if you are interested. There are large porches for lounging on and it is an easy walk to the lovely downtown area.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the third floor which uses a bathroom with a jacuzzi tub big enough for two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

What a great stay in Smethport. First, it was a first-time visit to Smethport for work and I was very impressed with the town. It's a very nice, properous-looking town in a beautiful mountain valley anchored by an impressive district of restored industrialist mansions. And Mansion District Inn is right in the center of it all.

You can tell that the owners Ross and Jovanna love what they do. The house is impeccably furnished with period artwork and tasteful furniture and the accommodations are nothing short of luxurious. I felt like I was staying somewhere that should cost three times as much per night. The little touches are tremendous, with snacks, drinks and wine at your disposal, and while the home pays homage to the Victorian era when it was built, it's very updated with all of the modern conveniences, including flat screen TVs in the rooms (my suite even had a little flat screen in the bathroom). The suite was also very bright and airy.

Breakfast is the highlight. Quite honestly, I felt so spoiled by Ross and Jovanna I almost felt guilty. Jovanna served a three course breakfast that was gourmet and spectacular - cranberry/walnut biscotti from her native Sicily, grilled carmelized peaches in yogurt, hickory bacon, and a gourmet omelet using fresh eggs from their chicken coop ...yum!!! Ross is great company and during breakfast gave us a very interesting history lesson about the house and the town that was very enjoyable.

I would highly recommend a stay here. While the Inn's right in town, Smethport is so on the edge of the wilderness that a short hike takes you off the beaten path in no time, observing herons, deer, ducks and even a bald eagle. Before breakfast at first light I grabbed my fishing rod and waders and within a five minute walk was fishing Marvin Creek, and hooked a trout in no time (which Jovanna was happy to prepare).

All in all, a great stay. Felt bad for my colleagues who didn't know about the place and wound up at a roadside motel in Bradford.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This beautiful B&B is a historic find nestled in a charming town - Ross and Jovanna were so welcoming and informative, Jovanna's breakfasts (with her yummy homemade biscotti) were culinary masterpieces complimented by Ross's smooth Sumatra coffee! The amenities were above and beyond - complimentary wine, bottled water, soda pop and fresh cookies! We enjoyed our bike ride outside of town on a quaint country road and the walking tour of the 19th century mansions was a history lover's dream come true - thank you Ross and Jovanna for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The Home, Furnishings, Food, and Ambience made for the best B&B experience. Ross and Jovanna were perfect hosts. The beautiful old homes in the town of Smethport were charming and there was easy access to the Allegheny National Forest..
Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: The Freeman room was comfortable with a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smethport
14.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 6 in Bradford
151 reviews
14.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites - Bradford
14.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Bradford Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Best Western Plus University Inn
18.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Olean/Allegany
19.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Olean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion District Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion District Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 905 W Main St, Smethport, PA 16749-1040
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > McKean County > Smethport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Smethport
Price Range: £80 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion District Inn Suites Bed & Breakfast is situated in the heart of historic Smethport, PA's Mansion District; deep in the Pennsylvania Wilds. Experience exquisite Victorian opulence in the magnificent 1891 Hamlin-McCandless mansion. Enjoy your gourmet breakfast beside the fireplace in the spectacular Golden Oak dining room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing