We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average stay- you get what you pay for!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knights Inn Somerset
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Somerset
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average stay- you get what you pay for!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was the first and probably last time I will ever stay at a Knights Inn. The room was badly in need of updating - for the most part clean and quiet. Mini fridge in the room was a nice touch. No frills, basically a comfortable bed. There are some things in walking distance but if you need to get off the interstate on a moment's notice with the only other option being sleeping in the car, probably the only way I'd stay here again. For another $10-20 could have rented a room twice as nice somewhere else.

Probably the best part of the stay was listening to my husband read other people's Tripadvisor reviews of the place as we were staying there. Bought the room on Hotwire though (one of my only Hotwire "fails" IMO as I've rented MANY rooms through Hotwire and always been satisfied) so I knew what I was getting. Somerset is a nice place to stop on the Turnpike and there are a lot of food/hotel options here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hall_family2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    8
    17
    17
    10
See reviews for
18
14
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

You're right by the highway and you can walk to typical fast-food restaurants but other than that you really get what you pay for here. The rooms are beyond outdated, and I was amazed that someone took a picture of the bottle opener that is built into the bathroom door frame because I wish I took a picture of that to post on here LOL, in fact this is the only place I have ever stayed in that had a bottle opener built into the door frame ha! Other than that do not expect anything other than a bed for the night. Personally I wouldn't stay here by choice and now know better if I end up traveling through the area again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KB630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Somerset hotels

Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Made a reservation through Expedia for 5 (2 adults + 3 kids) for tonight. Called ahead to make sure that we are all set. The person at the reception proceeded to tell me that I only paid for 2 people, and there are not cots for kids. The person was rude and obnoxious. I promised him to write this review. I had to cancel this reservation, and Expedia helped me locate another hotel which cost double, but were nice and promised to be ready for us. The only way to stop bad businesses is not to give them your business. Please stay away

Room Tip: Do not Stay Here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VRT900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The people were very friendly and helpful. The beds were clean and comfortable, the bathroom was outdated and the shower wasn't the best, but the toilet was clean. There was a small continental breakfast, which wasn't bad considering this place was only $45 per night. It was quiet and convenient to the turnpike and restuarants. Certainly not the Ritz, but I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victorianeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I stayed here 20 yrs ago and it was a thriving 400 room hotel. They must be low on funds. They only have like a little over maybe 200 rooms now, Its all in 1 building, the lot is NOT maintained, I almost fell on the ice and then the back wasnt even able to walk on the lot without good boots. They used to have 4 or 5 buildings and they are gone. It had a pool at 1 time and its been emptied and its just a big hole now. The rooms are nice but thats about where the good part ends. The cost was not worth what I got.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvtotrvel6594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldwin, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

You've read the other reviews: outdated, crumbling, no breakfast to speak of.... but the people are great, the room is "clean" , location was perfect for us traveling - just off of the turnpike and easy to get back on. Owner/operators had a cute step-dog visiting when we were there and we still talk about what a pleasant animal it was. One of the nicest "dumps" I have ever spent 6 hours in.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DangeRuss-714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I was VERY concerned when I first arrived to the hotel. I anticipated just absolute horrible accommodations. I expressed my concern to the elderly man who was checking me in and he said, I understand, please, here's a key, go check if the room meets your satisfaction.

I did. I walked with my two kids to the room and while it certainly wasn't trump plaza, it was ok. The mattresses seemed relatively new, however, the décor was definitely WAY outdated. The fridge worked, the water worked, microwave worked. Everything worked and I didn't see any bugs or anything. It wasn't the cleanest, but it wasn't obviously dirty. TV worked and the room was really ok.

I accepted the room and stayed the night. Took a shower the next day and we left. We did not opt for the breakfast as I wasn't sure about the food storage. Just a cautious guy with kids. I had a good night sleep as the mattress was comfortable enough.

The only _real_ concern that I had was that there wasn't enough security on the door and when there were people talking outside, it was audible in the room. There is not any way to lock the door from entry from the hotel. No deadbolt, no chain lock, nothing. Just a door knob that will allow a key to open the door.

I was pleased with my stay -- and I stayed again for two more days the following week. I figured a known, acceptable, commodity is better than worrying about something you don't know.

Not bad, GREAT value for the money, and really reasonable accommodations.

Room Tip: King room has a sofa, two double beds has a table with chairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Somerset hotels
0.3 mi away
A1Economy Inn
A1Economy Inn
#4 of 12 in Somerset
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Somerset
Hampton Inn Somerset
#1 of 12 in Somerset
4.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 12 in Somerset
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Somerset
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Somerset
Super 8 Somerset
#12 of 12 in Somerset
3.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Somerset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Somerset

Property: Knights Inn Somerset
Address: 147 Gateway Rd, Somerset, PA 15501-1067
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Somerset
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Somerset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Knights Inn Somerset 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knights Inn Somerset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Knights Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing