We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pioneer Park Highly Recommended!”

Pioneer Park Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Somerset
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pioneer Park Campground
Athens, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pioneer Park Highly Recommended!”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Our "maiden voyage" in our RV was from Alabama to Somerset - Pioneer Park. We were welcomed and set up in a wonderful campsite. We had rain everyday, to no fault of the campground. We stayed over July 4th and had a wonderful display of fireworks! The pool was cool and inviting, the staff was most hospitable and always the fellow campers were most friendly. I would recommend Pioneer Park to anyone wanting a wonderful experience in those beautiful Laurel Highlands! Thanks Bill and Staff for making our vacation the best we could hope for (except for the rain)! We'll be back! Bud, Ruth & family!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    4
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
13
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

One of the nicest campgrounds we have ever stayed in. We had a great time. Staff was great, and the facilities are 5 star. The park is surrounded by lakes and tall pines. A beautiful park, more like camping in Minn. than Pa

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
201 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Love the campground, our site is nice and just about flat. Great view of the lakes and activities areas. We have 4 kids and 2 dogs and everyone has fun here. The kids love riding bikes around the area and we love to walk over and play tennis anytime. The people seem to be very nice and the service from management has been excellent. We even had a bit of trouble with our new travel trailer and they recommended a good maintenance person. The pool is not open yet but the kids are excited for it. Our kids love fishing in the lakes and because of the location there are tons of state parks and activities to do all around the area. We really like this campground.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KimCarlKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

After visiting Pioneer Campground on many occasions, I found it to be the cleanest and has the friendliest employees in the state of Pennsylvania. Not to mention the great fishing and the best water facilities around.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tony c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finger Lakes
Level Contributor
124 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We went with a group of 18 people for the IBO Worlds Archery Tournament. We made reservations a year ago before our trip for one of the “cabins”, they are really a trailer on wheels with log siding (hitch and all!) They do not sit on the ground like they look in the picture on the website, please see the pictures I took for the real thing! When we checked in we were told that the cabin would not sleep 8 people even though it states that on the website and in the brochure and we would have to find another place for some of us. They finally did let us stay there but it is VERY small and was VERY crowded for our party (4 adults and 4 kids). The brochure & website are full of false advertising, please read it very carefully. For instance the pool is NOT heated. It is nice but definitely not heated! The staff is extremely rude, unfriendly and unhelpful, and there is an 8 pm curfew for everything! Even if it is still light out no one is allowed to ride bikes, they lock up the pool, mini golf and paddleboats. Even the free activities, including basketball, volleyball, shuffleboard, horseshoes and tennis courts are unavailable after 8pm. Our kids (9, 11 & 13) were told they would have to pay for a lost tennis ball that went over the fence into the pond or they would need to rent a paddle boat for $2 to go retrieve it! One day it rained in the morning and after it cleared up around 5pm, we went up to the pool around and were told it was closed until 10 am the next day because the lifeguard was sent home early. They would not even let us swim at our own risk with 3 adults to watch 4 kids! When I went up to the pool I was asked snottily by the manager if I had parked by the pool I hadn’t. If you want to use the laundry facility or the pool you have to walk from your campsites you are NOT allowed to drive your vehicle around the place, it must stay at your campsite at all times (unless leaving the park) I later overheard one of the staffers chew out a lady who had driven up to the pool, in front of her kids! He said that she was not allowed to drive up to use the facilities and must leave her car at the campsite at all times! Check out the fine print of the brochure it says that! I would not recommend this place to anyone!! And I will never stay there again. We will be returning next year for another tournament and we have already made reservations at the Seven Springs Resort which BTW is less money!!! It is the WORST place I have ever stayed and we camp with our own camper multiple times every summer. DO NOT STAY HERE!

Room Tip: The cabins not really a cabin, are overpriced and VERY small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank MammaLax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Stayed here in Aug 2012. This was our third campground in our travel trailer. Ended up being a chilly weekend but great for fishing. The stocked lakes were great. We caught several fish and got alot if bites. My 10 year son never got bored here. The basketball court, tennis court, shuffleboard, and mini golf were all in very nice condition. Also very nice for biking around campground and lakes. Our site was a nice size and had a nice view of children's lake, but had trouble getting level. Had to use boards and our steps were very high from the ground. Noticed alot of campers had additional wooden steps. Only other drawback was everything closed by 8-8:30. Even the game room. Definatly will stay here again and may even consider it for a seasonal site after we try a few other campgrounds.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniram74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Stayed here July 2010. We traveled in our motorhome and friends had pull-behinds. Mostly adults from 30-60 and 2 children age 7 & 10. Some of our spots were flat and some were on a slant all had at least one medium tree on the lot. Nice activities for the children. Pool was clean but there was a slight problem with teenagers and bad language. It was a 90 degree weekend and the campground was full. All the 7 yr old did was bump into one of them and she got yelled at by teenagers and there were alot of 4 letter words. I was disappointed when I looked right at the 2 lifeguards and they were watching but then looked away. Also a fight was about to break out and once again strong words were being used loudly and these lifeguards AGAIN turned their heads. If they couldnt handle it the office is right there one of them should of gone in and gotten backup. Hopefully this was an isolated incident because I've camped here before and never seen a problem.

There is alot to do in the area. We visited Kooser State park for the beach, went to Stone Villa Winery, and visited Fallingwater. If you like wineries you will love the Stone Villa. What a beautiful setting and excellent wine. Fallingwater was nice however it was a busy weekend and we had no reservations so we only had ground passes (our fault). So I suggest making reservations for weekends.

A nice all-around campground to visit! Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Solstice101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset
9.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
7.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 12 in Somerset
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Somerset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Somerset
Hampton Inn Somerset
#1 of 12 in Somerset
4.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
8.3 mi away
Log Cabin Lodge and Suites
Log Cabin Lodge and Suites
#1 of 1 in Jones Mills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
10.3 mi away
Days Inn Donegal
Days Inn Donegal
#2 of 2 in Donegal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pioneer Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer Park Campground

Property: Pioneer Park Campground
Address: 273 Trent Rd, Pennsylvania Turnpike Exits 91 & 110, Somerset, PA 15501-5638
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Somerset
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Somerset
Number of rooms: 341

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing