We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Somerset
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Somerset
Certificate of Excellence
Manheim, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
154 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Stayed here on a free nights reward. This hotel looks to be a newer building with easy access to the PA Turnpike. The room we had was extremely large and very quiet. We could walk to several restaurants from the hotel which was nice since we were on a motorcycle all day. The staff is very friendly and I think the one girl worked all night and still cheery in the AM. The breakfast was the average IHG affair which will get you started.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noraasgranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansara-Manoj, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Somerset, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful words.

You appreciated our new building, easy access and nearby restaurants, staff services and our breakfast quality.

We always try to match your all expectations and for that we need to have a very co-operative staff. We are really lucky to have best employees in our team. You said, a girl working all night was cheery in AM. Acually, this is the result of our trainings and incentives. Your review will inspire not only to that girl but all our staff members to serve you more better in the future.
Thank you very much for your inspiration.

We are expecting your another visit to serve you more better.

Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    79
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
87
72
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berry
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel over the phone. Great place to stay. We liked it so much we came back the next night. Very clean rooms and beds was great. Breakfast was very good and good variety. Staff was very helpful. First night we stayed on top floor and got a great nights sleep. Second night our rooms was on 3rd floor. Sitting here now writing this and all I can hear is kids running down the hall on 4th floor. Which is not hotels fault. Would stay here again but will try to get top floor.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Pam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansara-Manoj, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Somerset, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking a time to make a perfect review.

The title of your review - "Very good place to stay" says everything and a description in the review matches with the title.

You stayed for 1 night and returned to stay for the another night also. This proves that we were success to match your expectations.

You appreciated our clean rooms, Great beds (Because they are comfortable and also we provide 2 types of pillows - Soft and Firm), Fresh and healthy breakfast and our best quality staff services. We thank you for that.

Same time, we apologize for your inconvenience because of kids running on upper floor hallway. We confirmed this by watching a recording of our security cameras.

We promise, in your next visit we will be make your stay more pleasurable.

Looking forward to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River Vale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stopped on way from NJ to Ohio and also on the way back. Very nice hotel with excellent breakfast. Everything was above average, although the town itself could use more eateries. Very easy access to and from Penn Turnpike which makes you owner why more restaurants haven't opened in area. Would recommend to anyone needing a stopover on the turnpike.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sageman45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansara-Manoj, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Somerset, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

You just stopped on the way from NJ to Ohio and we are glad to know that we match your expectations which made you to stop again while on the way back to NJ.

It's a great compliment to see you back in our hotel. That is the proof of your 100% satisfaction.

We love your words - "Above average". And you are right. We are not trying to compete to the other hotels but we are trying to be unique. And that is possible only if we maintain IHG (Our brand) standards.

You loved our hotel, excellent breakfast and easy access (location). Thank you for giving reasons for your smile.

Hope to see you again,

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The general manager should be fired for allowing an untrained, new employee to be alone in a full hotel.

Traveling with a family of six has taught me to always call the hotel directly to ensure we get the right combination of two rooms. When I tried calling this property a few days before arriving, the front desk person admitted she was alone in the property and was busy checking people in. After holding for 20 minutes, I called Priority Club's member number. I booked the right combination of rooms only to find that they weren't available when we arrived to check in.

Again, the same person was at the front desk and again, she was completely alone in a full hotel. She was only on the job three weeks, didn't know the actual configuration of the various rooms, and didn't know how to affect a change on the computer.

The whirlpool room we were assigned could only sleep two - we needed it to sleep at least three. No cots were available, and no pull out couch in that room. Her solution was to offer us extra pillows and blankets so someone could sleep on the floor. That might have been alright if the rooms were $50, but not at $150 a night. We managed to work it out only because the guy checking in behind us swapped rooms with us - though the change wasn't made on the computer.

Another couple had just checked in before us only to discover that they had a plugged toilet in their room. Thirty minutes later, they were still waiting. No facility person on property - she borrowed one from a neighboring property. Out of towels in the swimming area? No problem - the same person trying to check in a flood of guests in an overbooked hotel could also do the towel laundry...

This poor girl wasn't supposed to be alone - she was supposed to be working alongside someone else who "called in." Good management would get a replacement. Bad management figures its easier to screw the customer and save some money along the way. AND, by the way, she was ALSO alone two days before when I initially called the hotel which, to me, sounds like consistent understaffing.

When Holiday Inn sends me its regular "how was your stay" I will recommend they withdraw their franchise rights, or fire the GM who allows untrained staff to be alone in a large hotel.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JW567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikash P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Somerset, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear JW567,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback! We want to sincerely apologize for the issues you had to go through with your stay with us. Your concerns do not go unwarranted and we apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. We understand you called the hotel prior to arrival to ensure that your rooms were booked as to accommodate six people, and we apologize for not being able to fulfill your requests. We were sold out of the quad occupancy rooms in far in advance before your arrival which I understand is why Rewards Club had booked two of our standard rooms. Please understand that when booking a standard room it is stated that "When you arrive at the hotel we will do our best to meet your room and bed type preferences these are subject to availability and cannot be guaranteed". This booked room is not a room that can reserve a specific type of room however we do our best to accommodate any and all requests. We appreciate you informing us of your other issues and we have informed the proper parties. We are happy to see that the room situation was worked out with much gratitude to the other guest. We also see that you were satisfied with the overall rooms and cleanliness of our hotel. We know you were not 100% satisfied with your stay but we hope you give us another opportunity to provide you with the best lodging experience we know we are capable of giving to our guests! Thank you once again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Our family of three stayed at this hotel while on the road driving from Wisconsin to Virginia. We hadn't booked anything for that night yet so we started looking at what towns would be on our route. We chose Somerset because it would be getting dark around the time we neared the area. It is right off the tollway so it was convenient. There was some noise from the road, but we can live with that for a night. We are almost always satisfied with Holiday Inn Express and this one did not disappoint. It was clean with no bad smells in the room or hall. Free breakfast was a variety of baked goods as well as cereal, eggs and sausage, juice and fresh coffee. There were several fast food places in the area and a few sit down places. Didn't see much of the town but I know this was a good place for a quick stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Somerset, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Dan L,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
186 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We received Great service & got a Great room. We were asleep before we hit those wonderful pillows. The usual great breakfast awaited us in the morning.

The hotel was only two years old & looked brand new.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bthomaspe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansara-Manoj, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Somerset, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your short and very sweet review for us.

Looks like words came out from your heart.

Glad to know that our great room and grea services imp[ressed you well.
Thank you for appreciating our wonderful pillows and a quality of our breakfast.

Looking forward to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This hotel is only two years old. Typical for newest Holiday Inn Express chain. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was normal fair for this brand, but the two breakfast attendants were not very observant. They stood chatting together as there was ONE plate left and all the cinnamon rolls were empty. This went on for about five minutes until someone finally told them. We I went back to get the cinnamon roll I missed from earlier, it was not warmed all the way through because they were rushed. The rooms were clean the bed very comfortable. Even though it was right off the turnpike exit, there was not outside noise.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansara-Manoj, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Somerset, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Tahnk you very much to spare your important time to make a review for us.

Yes, you're right. Our hotel is new one, people like our hotel structure and facilities.

Also, usually our guests appreciate our staff because of their best services. But still, I can see that our breakfast attendies missed something. We assure our better services in the future. We will have a meeting with our breakfast attendies to explain IHG standards.

We appreciate your appreciations and appologize for your inconviniencies with the promise of our better and high quality services in the future.

Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Somerset
Hampton Inn Somerset
#1 of 12 in Somerset
602 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 12 in Somerset
216 reviews
16.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Conference Center
0.3 mi away
A1Economy Inn
A1Economy Inn
#5 of 12 in Somerset
161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Somerset
Days Inn Somerset
#6 of 12 in Somerset
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Somerset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Somerset

Property: Holiday Inn Express Somerset
Address: 132 Lewis Dr, Somerset, PA 15501-1074
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Somerset
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Somerset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Somerset 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Somerset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing