We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Innkeeper, great food.”
Review of Glades Pike Inn

Glades Pike Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Somerset
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glades Pike Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Somerset B&B and Inns
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Innkeeper, great food.”
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We stayed here on a recent trip to Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob and couldn't have been more pleased. Janet is a great host. Our slow mornings over great food and conversation were so relaxing. As others have mentioned, her waffles are great, as was a bountiful quiche on our last morning. We felt like we were staying with an old friend. Some have mentioned the close proximity to the highway, though that was not an issue for us. We slept well every night. Janet was very helpful with directions and recommendations. They came in quite handy as the roads in Laurel Highlands are not as well marked as they could be, so keep a good map handy. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCalBurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
29
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed here as an alternative to the drastically overpriced hotel at Seven Springs. It was close enough to the resort that it was well worth the $300+ savings. Breakfast was fabulous! Eggs and perfectly cooked bacon and waffles and fruit and muffins....Way too much to eat! We loved being able to come back and sit in front of a real wood-burning fireplace after a day on the slopes.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hydrophilicity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boothwyn, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Took a trip to ski Seven Springs/Hidden Valley and decided to stay here.. it was a great choice. Janet, the innkeeper, is very friendly, personable and helpful. The breakfast was delicious (especially the apple cinnamon walnut muffins). The room was very nice with an extremely comfortable bed and a nice little fireplace. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the inn are quieter as they do not face the road, but there isn't too much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

The inn -keeper Janet is the nicest lady and she is a great cook. The Glades Pike Inn was clean and comfortable and a great deal. The location is also good, about 25 minutes to Falling Water and very close to hiking trails. The reality is, everything in the area is spread out so no matter where you stay, you will be doing a good deal of driving. I would stay here again for sure. It feels like staying at a friend's mother's house where she makes you a great breakfast everyday, give you tips on what to do but then leaves you be the rest of the time. Also, you can possibly bring your dog.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle1285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Friends recommended the Glades Pike Inn when my two sisters and I recently traveled to the Laurel Highlands to see Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob. The 1842 farmhouse is very comfortable, with cheerful and spacious rooms in the $60-65 range. The innkeeper, Janet, is friendly, knowledgeable, accommodating, an outstanding cook, and a pleasure to talk with. She not only provided us with detailed directions to the two Frank Lloyd Wright homes but also made tour reservations for us and secured our tickets. In addition she suggested a stop at Ohiopyle Falls, a very convenient and worthwhile sight between the two FLW homes. And at Janet’s recommendation we had dinner at Out of the Fire Cafe in Donegal, about 12 miles up the road. The food was excellent. Janet has much repeat business and we understand why. Glades Pike Inn was a real find.

Room Tip: As has been mentioned, traffic on Route 31 can be heavy, especially early in the morning, and is qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2011

After being so impressed with our first stay and how Janet was kind enough to transport the four of us (bikes and all) from the bike trail in Rockwood to her B&B and back again in the morning , we stayed there again in August. We love the front room and the beds are very comfortable. It's so beautiful and so quiet inside. Breakfast was delicious both times. The conversation at the table was very enjoyabe. My two kids wish that I could make waffles as good as Janet's blueberry waffles! The kids just love her and still talk about "Janet's place". She is the perfect host. She will even give you driving instructions if you need them. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stu and Sandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here. Janet is a very good host and very knowledgeable and helpful on local attractions. Great breakfast with fresh fruit and homemade goodies. An excellent value too!

Room Tip: Room was very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Somerset
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 12 in Somerset
216 reviews
11.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Somerset
Hampton Inn Somerset
#1 of 12 in Somerset
603 reviews
5.3 mi away
A1Economy Inn
A1Economy Inn
#4 of 12 in Somerset
162 reviews
5.4 mi away
Quill Haven Country Inn
Quill Haven Country Inn
#1 of 7 in Somerset
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glades Pike Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glades Pike Inn

Property: Glades Pike Inn
Address: 2684 Glades Pike, Somerset, PA 15501-8520
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Somerset
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glades Pike Inn has 5 rooms with private bath, three rooms have a queen size bed and a wood burning fireplace, one room has two full size beds and one room has two singles/king bed. The Inn is located a scenic 35 minute drive southwest to Fallingwater, the Frank Lloyd Wright masterpiece and a 30 minute drive northeast to the United Flight 93 Memorial. Five state parks are nearby for hiking, biking, canoeing, kayaking and lake beach/ swimming. The Great Allegheny Passage bicycle rails to trails is 12 miles away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing