We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best of the best in the Laurel Highlands”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Glades Pike Inn

Glades Pike Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Somerset
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glades Pike Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Somerset B&B and Inns
Libertyville, IL
Level Contributor
133 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“The best of the best in the Laurel Highlands”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We have stayed at Glades Pike Inn roughly 8 times. We travel from Chicago to Ocean City, NJ each summer -- leaving in June and returning in August. Rather than endure a 14 hour drive, we stay at Glades Pike.

There is a reason why we keep coming back - and as almost all reviewers have said, it is Janet. She is one in a million. Being an Innkeeper is not easy - but she makes it look effortless.
The accommodations are clean, comfortable and homey. We always have the same room - second floor - in the front of the house with two double beds. The road noise has never been a problem -- we simply don't hear it.

As others have said, the breakfasts are delicious and plentiful. Janet always uses what is in season -- peach coffee cake; blueberry pancakes....

Janet has a way with guests of all ages - and has even delighted my boys by taking them on her four wheeler. (...really!)

We just love Glades Pike Inn, and couldn't imagine staying anywhere else when we journey to and from the Jersey Shore.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JPfromNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
29
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

My 2 sisters & I stayed at Glades Pike Inn on our annual sister's road trip. We loved the inn's casual country atmosphere and Jan was so welcoming and interesting to talk with. She recommended a local restaurant for us which we totally enjoyed. When we returned, we were able to work off some of the calories by walking up the field lane behind the inn to find a nice view from the top! Jan is an excellent host and she knows how to get conversation started among the guests around the breakfast table. And of course breakfast was delicious, abundant and wholesome - just right for our day at Falling Water and beyond. Our room was perfect, beds were comfortable and we slept well. The closeness to the highway was no problem. I'm looking forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed at Glades Pike on our way to New Jersey. We had a room upstairs with a king size bed. Janet went above and beyond to accommodate us as we called for the room at the last minute. She also turned the air condition down so our room was nice and cool. Although the Inn is located on a busy street, there was no noise to be heard during the night. Breakfast was very good and plentiful. We had a great stay and an amazing low rate!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennyr303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We were looking for a convenient place to spend the night after visiting Falling Water and Kentuck Knob and before continuing on to see family and friends. I found the Glades Pike Inn on the internet. All we were looking for was reasonably priced lodging and a good night's sleep. We liked what we found here so much, that we stopped again on our way back home. Being from the city, we were surprised when Janet informed us she would be out bowling when we arrived but the house would be open and our room would have our name on the door. Ah, so that's why folks move to the country :-). The Inn as built as a stop for the stage coaches but fell on hard times when the railroad went through the other side of the mountain. Perhaps this explains why the rooms are such a generous size. Besides having a king size bed, our room had a dresser, 2 upholstered chairs, a settee, a deck and a TV. That was plenty of space if you did not want to relax in the spacious living room. The furnishing remind you of a trip back to grandmom's house--a mix of antiques, shabby chic and some pieces that need replacement. The mix is comfortable and delightful. We liked the fact that our room was in the back as the house sits on a road that gets a good amount of traffic. We tried to open our windows but found that the sashes were broken so the windows would not stay up. In addition, there were old fashioned storm windows as well to deal with. When Janet returned from bowling she checked to see how we were and she turned on the AC--problem solved and the noise was kept outside. One thing did disturb me, the smoke detector for our room was not mounted to the ceiling. It seems it fell off and I found it in a drawer. While there is a wonderful wrap around porch, the inn is so close to the road that I don't think you'll want to sit there. So, what this comes down to is this is a great place to put your head down for the night and to have a very good breakfast in the morning. Janet gets many folks during the ski season and regulars who pass through on their way to other places. I would not pick this inn if you wanted a just relax there for a few days, it does not have that setting or those amenities, but for the rate Janet charges, you'll get good value as a stop over place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We stayed here on a recent trip to Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob and couldn't have been more pleased. Janet is a great host. Our slow mornings over great food and conversation were so relaxing. As others have mentioned, her waffles are great, as was a bountiful quiche on our last morning. We felt like we were staying with an old friend. Some have mentioned the close proximity to the highway, though that was not an issue for us. We slept well every night. Janet was very helpful with directions and recommendations. They came in quite handy as the roads in Laurel Highlands are not as well marked as they could be, so keep a good map handy. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCalBurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed here as an alternative to the drastically overpriced hotel at Seven Springs. It was close enough to the resort that it was well worth the $300+ savings. Breakfast was fabulous! Eggs and perfectly cooked bacon and waffles and fruit and muffins....Way too much to eat! We loved being able to come back and sit in front of a real wood-burning fireplace after a day on the slopes.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hydrophilicity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boothwyn, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Took a trip to ski Seven Springs/Hidden Valley and decided to stay here.. it was a great choice. Janet, the innkeeper, is very friendly, personable and helpful. The breakfast was delicious (especially the apple cinnamon walnut muffins). The room was very nice with an extremely comfortable bed and a nice little fireplace. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the inn are quieter as they do not face the road, but there isn't too much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset
11.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 12 in Somerset
210 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Somerset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Somerset
Hampton Inn Somerset
#2 of 12 in Somerset
581 reviews
5.3 mi away
A1Economy Inn
A1Economy Inn
#3 of 12 in Somerset
160 reviews
10.2 mi away
Log Cabin Lodge and Suites
Log Cabin Lodge and Suites
#1 of 1 in Jones Mills
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glades Pike Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glades Pike Inn

Property: Glades Pike Inn
Address: 2684 Glades Pike, Somerset, PA 15501-8520
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Somerset
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glades Pike Inn has 5 rooms with private bath, three rooms have a queen size bed and a wood burning fireplace, one room has two full size beds and one room has two singles/king bed. The Inn is located a scenic 35 minute drive southwest to Fallingwater, the Frank Lloyd Wright masterpiece and a 30 minute drive northeast to the United Flight 93 Memorial. Five state parks are nearby for hiking, biking, canoeing, kayaking and lake beach/ swimming. The Great Allegheny Passage bicycle rails to trails is 12 miles away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing