We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay and accomodations!!!”
Review of Glades Pike Inn

Glades Pike Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Somerset
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glades Pike Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Somerset B&B and Inns
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best stay and accomodations!!!”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We are from Pittsburgh and were looking for a getaway not to far from home. I did a lot of research online before we decided to book our stay at the Glades Pike Inn. The reviews for this bed and breakfast are excellent and our stay was excellent as well. Janet, the inkeeper was the most friendly person and we felt like we had already known her. She made our stay so comforable and she was very easy to talk to. Her little dog Xena is the friendliest puppy you will ever meet. She also has a cat, Fuzzycat, who is also very friendly. We stayed for three nights in a room with a queen size bed and fireplace. The room was very, very clean and even had body wash and shampoo in the shower. The towels were clean and soft. The whole place has a great atmosphere and is very well kept. Janet had a lot of good suggestions for things to do during our stay. Everything that she suggested, we decided to do and were not dissappointed. Her recommendations on things to do in the area are great. We visited the Flight 93 Memorial, went hiking, and ate at a few very good restaurants in the area while we were there. I really can't say enough good things about Janet and we really miss her already! This place is really charming and perfect for couples looking for a place to relax and get away from city life for a few days. Janet made wonderful breakfasts each morning with muffins, fresh fruit, pancakes, bacon, sausage, toast, scrambled eggs with cheese and broccoli/asparagus, coffee and tea if you would like. We will definately stay again. I can just imagine how great and cozy this place is in the winter. Thank you so much Janet. We miss you! Joey and Sarah

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank choicechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
29
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheswick, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Janet, her dog Xena and kitty greeted us when we arrived and made us feel right at home. The house was warm and decorated so nice. A surprise fireplace kept us warm in our room that night! The canopy bed was SO COMFORTABLE. Was very close to Somerset and Donegal. Would stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yogamama522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

At first, as you come upon Glades Pike Inn, it strikes you as being in the middle of nowhere, but the bed and breakfast is centrally located between the town of Somerset and the Seven Springs Ski Resort, and also Frank Lloyd Wright's, Falling Water. It was lovely to spend two nights here. The Inn is pet friendly (and indeed the innkeeper, Janet, has a small, well mannered and friendly chihuahua and a silent cat), and several rooms have fireplaces. There is plenty of parking and the common areas are very cozy.

i would also like to recommend the breakfasts. This innkeeper is an amazing chef. The pastries, especially, are a delight. Janet is also very knowledgeable about local attractions. She was able to steer us to several fabulous restaurants and also to help us make reservations at FallingWater.

I recommend Glades Pike Inn and Janet Jones, the Innkeeper very highly.

Room Tip: Be sure to mention if you want a room with a fireplace or a pet friendly room. I believe most of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank con_corazon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We first stayed here on our wedding night, in May '07, it was booked by our wedding party as a mini honeymoon. We arrived in the early evening and Janet welcomed us and let us settle in our room. The package that was purchased by our friends was one that included a gift certificate to a local restaurant, but Janet said that wasn't romantic and handed us the cash value of the certificate and told us about another romantic restaurant. And then made reservations for us! We had a great time and didn't want to leave. We stayed in the downstairs room, with a fireplace, and it was comfortable and nice. Janet showed my husband where the woodshed was and we had a crackling fire all night. Breakfast was great, very delicious. Janet uses seasonal items and makes homemade jams and breads. There were 2 other couples there and we all had some fun conversations over breakfast. That next year, for our anniversary, we decided to return, and again, had a great experience. Then again, for our 2nd and 3rd anniversaries, we returned. Janet was a great as ever. Then, for our 4th anniversary, we called to ask if it was OK to bring our 2 month old and Janet was thrilled to meet him. This year, for our 5th anniversary, we were unable to go. But we just got back yesterday from an improptu trip to make up for not getting to go in May. Janet was excited to see us and said she missed us that May, and was happy to see how our son had grown. She really makes us feel welcome, always has fun suggestions about activities, and makes a great breakfast!

She now also owns a cabin not far from the inn, that she is renting out. We went and looked at it and can't wait for a chance to stay there too. We will miss seeing Janet, but it is a nice place for a smaller family (2 bedrooms).

Room Tip: We have stayed in 3 of her rooms and have enjoyed them all. We particularily like the room upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsg2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libertyville, IL
Level Contributor
133 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We have stayed at Glades Pike Inn roughly 8 times. We travel from Chicago to Ocean City, NJ each summer -- leaving in June and returning in August. Rather than endure a 14 hour drive, we stay at Glades Pike.

There is a reason why we keep coming back - and as almost all reviewers have said, it is Janet. She is one in a million. Being an Innkeeper is not easy - but she makes it look effortless.
The accommodations are clean, comfortable and homey. We always have the same room - second floor - in the front of the house with two double beds. The road noise has never been a problem -- we simply don't hear it.

As others have said, the breakfasts are delicious and plentiful. Janet always uses what is in season -- peach coffee cake; blueberry pancakes....

Janet has a way with guests of all ages - and has even delighted my boys by taking them on her four wheeler. (...really!)

We just love Glades Pike Inn, and couldn't imagine staying anywhere else when we journey to and from the Jersey Shore.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JPfromNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

My 2 sisters & I stayed at Glades Pike Inn on our annual sister's road trip. We loved the inn's casual country atmosphere and Jan was so welcoming and interesting to talk with. She recommended a local restaurant for us which we totally enjoyed. When we returned, we were able to work off some of the calories by walking up the field lane behind the inn to find a nice view from the top! Jan is an excellent host and she knows how to get conversation started among the guests around the breakfast table. And of course breakfast was delicious, abundant and wholesome - just right for our day at Falling Water and beyond. Our room was perfect, beds were comfortable and we slept well. The closeness to the highway was no problem. I'm looking forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed at Glades Pike on our way to New Jersey. We had a room upstairs with a king size bed. Janet went above and beyond to accommodate us as we called for the room at the last minute. She also turned the air condition down so our room was nice and cool. Although the Inn is located on a busy street, there was no noise to be heard during the night. Breakfast was very good and plentiful. We had a great stay and an amazing low rate!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennyr303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset
11.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 12 in Somerset
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Somerset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Somerset
Hampton Inn Somerset
#1 of 12 in Somerset
4.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
5.3 mi away
A1Economy Inn
A1Economy Inn
#4 of 12 in Somerset
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
10.2 mi away
Log Cabin Lodge and Suites
Log Cabin Lodge and Suites
#1 of 1 in Jones Mills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glades Pike Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glades Pike Inn

Property: Glades Pike Inn
Address: 2684 Glades Pike, Somerset, PA 15501-8520
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Somerset
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glades Pike Inn has 5 rooms with private bath, three rooms have a queen size bed and a wood burning fireplace, one room has two full size beds and one room has two singles/king bed. The Inn is located a scenic 35 minute drive southwest to Fallingwater, the Frank Lloyd Wright masterpiece and a 30 minute drive northeast to the United Flight 93 Memorial. Five state parks are nearby for hiking, biking, canoeing, kayaking and lake beach/ swimming. The Great Allegheny Passage bicycle rails to trails is 12 miles away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing