We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Night”
Review of Glades Pike Inn

Glades Pike Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Somerset
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glades Pike Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Somerset B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 July 2008

After a beautiful wedding at the Somerset Country Club we spent our wedding night at the Glades Pike Inn. We were so happy we did! Janet had a small bottle of champange, cheese and crackers and an apple waiting for us when we arrived at midnight. Lucky for us - we were starved! So many nerves, talking to guests and dancing we hardly ate a thing during the day! The room was gorgeous and we slept in a four poster bed. The next morning we were the last guests to make it downstairs and everyone had already eaten breakfast. No big deal, Janet was so kind to make up more pancakes and eggs. We had a great time talking to her and she even used her computer to look up flight information for us regarding our honeymoon. If you are getting married in or around Somerset and need somewhere to stay on your wedding night I highly recommend Glades Pike Inn!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ABC10XYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2008

I just returned from my first visit to Glades Pike Inn, and I must say that, if you're looking for a place where you will instantly feel comfortably at home, like visiting a dear friend or relative, this is the place for you. Janet is a truly gracious host, and her lovely home is beautifully located in the country, but close enough to Somerset and centrally located to many natural sites, the theatre, and monuments (like the Flt 93 site and site of the Quecreek mine visitors center) to keep you occupied for days in the area, should you choose to leave the comforts of the Inn. There is a winery just down the road a couple of miles and also a couple of very nice restaurants that serve great food at reasonable prices and in large quantities (Oakhurst Tea Room is famous for their smorgasbord lunch and dinners and the dinner price was around $12.95 for an adult!...and they are less than a mile away from the Inn). There are also some great looking restaurants in Somerset, but I never felt the need to go into town to eat, thanks to Oakhurst TR and Laurel Hill Inn. Janet serves a great breakfast every morning, and you'll have wonderful fresh fruit salads, juices, breakfast meat, some kind of eggs, and great breakfast sweets which varies every day, but could be anything from blueberry pancakes to homemade muffins and fruit-filled coffee cakes. Her coffee was excellent every morning, but for tea drinkers (like myself), she has a stash of really great teas available, something for everyone. You won't be hungry when you get up from her breakfast table! The Inn is small, only about 5 guest rooms, so you will enjoy an intimate experience there, and not get lost in the crowd, as you would at a chain lodging. Janet has a following of returning guests to her Inn, and after having stayed there, I can understand why.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SnowChik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2008

We had never stayed at a B&B but I am glad now we have. Glades Pike Inn was the best place we have ever stayed. Janet was a great host! Because we were very far away from home, Janet told us where to get the best food, and what was around. Her hospitality was so relaxing and wonderful. Our room was incredible. It had so much charm, and personality. It was a very relaxed setting and just quiet. The fireplace was an added bonus. We were able to fall asleep to a crackling fire with a glass of wine and soak up the room. Each morning we had great conversations over a fresh breakfast. From the fruit to the bacon it was high-quality! An added bonus was that Falling Water and fight 93 memorial is real close by. I recommend Glades Pike in to anyone just looking to get away.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank Acmccurdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2008

We were looking for a (last minute) place to spend the night in Somerset, and were very happy with what we found at the Glades Pike Inn.

Janet was a very warm and welcoming hostess. There was only one room that was still available when we called, so we stopped in to check it out. It was a quite spacious, well-decorated, and very clean room with a wood-burning fireplace. We were pleasantly surprised to find such a gem at a reasonable price at that late hour!

The only two things that took away from our wonderful experience were a slightly sagging mattress and some "noisy" upstairs neighbors . . . Everything else was quite pleasant! Breakfast was absolutely delicious, and the company was very friendly as well.

All in all, a great experience!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lrs1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2008

We had a great experience at Glades Pike Inn. Our room was lovely, tastefully decorated and cozy with a working fireplace. Karen was a wonderful host and was very accomodating. We have a dog and he loved it there as well. A great place to stay especially if you are going to visit Falling Water. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank moziemo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2006

We met up with friends at the Glades Pike Inn and were surprised to make new ones while we were there. Janet was welcoming and gracious when our arrival came in the middle of a dinner party. She assisted us prior to our trip by making reservations at Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob for us and had detailed directions to several local attractions for us Saturday morning at breakfast.

Janet was a great hostess through the weekend. Her breakfasts were to die for! The food and fellowship kept us lingering around the table for a good long time.

We had a great time, the Laurel Highlands are a fantastic setting and we would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeninPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2006

If we were rating our stay on the room alone, it would be lower. Our room had a lot of character, but could definitely be maintained better. But it was comfortably clean and provided the basics.

Making up for that, though, was the hostess. Janet was very warm and friendly--definitely the kind of person who should own a bed and breakfast. She was ready with lots of suggestions for things to do, offered everything with a sense of humor, and made a delicious breakfast.

The value for two adults and two children with breakfast was amazing! We would definitely consider staying here again.

1  Thank Terry9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Somerset hotels
5.4 mi away
Quill Haven Country Inn
Quill Haven Country Inn
#1 of 7 in Somerset
237 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Somerset
5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#3 of 12 in Somerset
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Somerset
Hampton Inn Somerset
#1 of 12 in Somerset
653 reviews
5 mi away
Days Inn Somerset
Days Inn Somerset
#5 of 12 in Somerset
575 reviews
5.2 mi away
No photo provided
Budget Inn
#12 of 12 in Somerset
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glades Pike Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glades Pike Inn

Address: 2684 Glades Pike, Somerset, PA 15501-8520
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Somerset
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glades Pike Inn has 5 rooms with private bath, three rooms have a queen size bed and a wood burning fireplace, one room has two full size beds and one room has two singles/king bed. The Inn is located a scenic 35 minute drive southwest to Fallingwater, the Frank Lloyd Wright masterpiece and a 30 minute drive northeast to the United Flight 93 Memorial. Five state parks are nearby for hiking, biking, canoeing, kayaking and lake beach/ swimming. The Great Allegheny Passage bicycle rails to trails is 12 miles away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing