We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful quiet weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quill Haven Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Somerset B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Wonderful quiet weekend”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were looking for a quiet getaway from the city near various outdoor activities. The rooms were great and very private, we enjoyed the hot tub and fresh homemade cookies in the evenings, and the breakfast in the morning was great and filled us for most of the day. We were close by to cross country skiing areas as well as hiking trails. Would definitely go back!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
150
8
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Malvern, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I booked this Inn at the last minute and was very happy with the value, cleanliness and hospitality. The room was very comfortable and the shower was great - especially after a day of skiing! Very convenient to restaurants, the turnpike and Seven Springs ski resort. The bed was very comfortable. Carol, the owner, was so nice to talk to. She offered some wine and cookies when I arrived. Breakfast was great - she definitely makes a special breakfast for her guests - not just the basics. I stayed there 2 nights and I'll stay here again when I go back to Seven Springs. It's close to the Flight 93 National Memorial too.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My husband surprised me for Valentine's Day and took me to Quill Haven Country Inn. Our stay was exceptional---marvelous breakfasts, beautiful room, and outstanding comraderie. Laughter abounds at this B & B. Carol and Rowland are friendly and make their home our home. We came as guests and left as family.
We were provided with information about activities and restaurants in the area (discount coupons to some places were available). There was also a wide selection of movies and books if you want a quiet retreat without going anywhere.
We have stayed at many B & B's. Quill Haven is outstanding.

Room Tip: If steps are an issue, there is a room on the main floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandj7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagleville, PA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Quill Haven Country Inn while on a road ski trip to west-central PA. Our room (The Rose Room) was lovely and the bed extremely comfortable. Carol was so friendly & welcoming and greeted us with some wine after a long day skiing & traveling which was greatly appreciated. She recommended a terrific restaurant for dinner in Somerset with nice atmosphere and delicious food and even gave us a discount coupon for our meal. We had our choice from an interesting & varied menu for breakfast and greatly enjoyed a delicious egg casserole, warm blueberry muffins and even home-made jam for our toast. Carol even had directions typed up for our next mountain (Seven Springs) and gave us goodies for our lunch that day. We look forward to our next time out to this area and will definitely plan another visit to the Quill Haven Country Inn. Plan on recommending it to our other skiing and biking friends too and give it a 5 star rating. This is the type experience staying at a B&B should be.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2014

we love this b and b . we come as often as we can to get away from every day life and are always treated as family. carol is an excellent hostess we love coming and hate leaving . come here and you will love the experience of quill haven . leaving you with the want to come back as soon as possible we spend many holidays with carol as well its great !

Room Tip: bridal suite has an awesome sunken tub love it ladies
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My boyfriend and I spent a relaxing two nights in the Quill Haven Inn in January. We were going to cross-country ski, but the weather didn't cooperate the first day so we hiked instead. But a surprise storm blew through and we were able to go out our second day. Coming back to the Quill Haven Inn both nights was such a pleasure. We stayed in the rose room, with its king bed, lovely wallpaper and homey feel. It reminded me to visits to my Grandmother's during my college years. Carol took care of our every need. There was complimentary wine in the refrigerator of the living room, plenty of DVDs to choose among and yummy breakfasts to fuel us up before our active adventures in the countryside. There is much to explore in the Laurel Highlands and staying at the Quill Haven Inn is a wonderful respite after an active day.

Room Tip: Rose room was spacious and if you like a king bed, choose it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornhill, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We travelled as a family so that our son could compete in the BUSOQ Snowboard Halfpipe at Seven Springs resort. We arrived very late at night due to the traffic and the weather, and the owner of Quill Haven, Carol, stayed up late to greet us and show us to our room. We are used to frozen Eggo waffles - straight out of the toaster ! Our son is a very picky eater, and he loved the freshly prepared waffles, muffins and eggs that Carol made for him. We stayed for 6 nights, and we were out most of the days at the resort. During our stay we felt as if we were personal guests in someone's home, not in a hotel. This is the cleanest hotel we have ever stayed in, and we have travelled all over the world. After snowboarding all day, our son needed a lot of rest, and Quill Haven is very tranquil. As someone who grew up in London, England, I found Quill Haven to be quiet, and peaceful. At night it was so dark we could see thousands of stars, instead of the 20 or 30 we usually see from the city. Quill Haven is perfect for some quiet time, or a honeymoon, or especially if you have grown up in a city like me and you want to get away from it all. I was suprised at how relaxed and stress free we felt when we stayed here. We stayed during the winter, so we did not use the hot tub, but they do have one. The house is beautifully decorated, and there are ornaments, decorations and hedgehogs in every corner of the house. It is amazing. We would love to go back to Quill Haven :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3459Dale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Somerset
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Somerset
Hampton Inn Somerset
#1 of 12 in Somerset
608 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 12 in Somerset
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
A1Economy Inn
A1Economy Inn
#5 of 12 in Somerset
163 reviews
16.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quill Haven Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quill Haven Country Inn

Property: Quill Haven Country Inn
Address: 1519 N Center Ave, Somerset, PA 15501-7001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Somerset
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quill Haven Country Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the elegant yet relaxed atmosphere of this 1918 "Gentleman's farmhouse" built in the Arts & Crafts period with hardwood floors, antiques, reproductions, stained glass lamps. Four guestrooms (one king bed, three queen beds) with a private bath, cable TV/VCR/DVD, air-conditioning, ceiling fan, heated mattress pad, wireless Internet access. A full breakfast is served in the Sunroom. Guests can relax in the Common Room in front of the fireplace or soak in the outdoor hot tub. A mini-kitchenette is available in the Common Room with a microwave, coffee maker, sink and a fridge offering guests access to coffee, tea, sodas, complimentary glass of wine in the evenings and some kind of goodies like chocolate chip cookies, brownies or fudge. Near Fallingwater, skiing, golfing, antique stores, water sports. Definitely check out our lodging facilities which are more comfortable than any hotel in the area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Quill Haven Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Somerset
Somerset Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing