We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely inn” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The French Manor Inn and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The French Manor Inn and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Greenwich, CT
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed here before picking up our daughter from camp. We had a king room in the main lodge. It was spacious, clean and elegantly furnished. The bed was comfy and the sheets were so soft they actually sell them at the inn. We liked the pool and hot tub, which you don't usually see at a country inn. While we didn't have dinner there, we found the breakfast was excellent. The only criticism I have it that the inn is very out of the way and there aren't many other dining options around.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JAGR32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    71
    43
    29
    10
See reviews for
31
241
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington,DC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed in one of the spa suites, and it was great! The in-room jacuzzi was really great, the bathroom was very spacious, and the king sized bed was very comfortable with high quality linens. The room had a very nice sized balcony with a spectacular view. The building had only one level of rooms, so there was no noise coming from anyone upstairs. The room had a small unstocked fridge and small mini-bar style sink for one's drinks and snacks. The only complaint about the room was that the closet and dressers were a bit on the small side.

The house keeping staff was excellent, cleaning the room and changing towels while we were at breakfast and doing turn down service and refreshing the towels when we were away in the evening.

We had massages at the spa, which we both really enjoyed ($90 for 50 minutes each - a price we would expect at a spa). Our therapist, Jane, listened to what we asked for and gave us each a massage that fit our needs. We highly recommend a massage here.

The fitness center had a few pieces of high quality cardio equipment, but no weights or other equipment.

The breakfast menu had about eight choices for the main course, most of which have eggs. That was a little less variety than we would have expected. The breakfast service was very attentive, no matter how many coffees refills we wanted. Breakfast was served in the main dining room (no jacket required for breakfast), on the terrace (which had a spectacular view of countryside), or for an extra $10 each, in your room.

In short, we recommend staying here.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BalkanHoneyNVaBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
421 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

At almost $600 per night on a suite and spa package you'd think that luxury would abound. It sadly did not!

Granted the location on top of Pocono mountain is very pretty and serene, that's where the real pleasure stops however.

The suite was dated and very poorly/cheaply furnished. the queen bed was uncomfortable and sagging in the middle, the amenities at best were solied and overused. The jacuzzi bath was in the main bedroom space and had industrial grey drab carpet around it. The TV was from the 80's behind a cheap set of wooden doors and the DVD did not work.

Also and most surprisingly for a "SPA resort", the bathroom was dated beyond beleif, in need of repair and refurbishment and even the amenities were far off what any half decent spa would give to their "luxury" seeking and paying guests. They were thecardboard teartop type they would buy for 10 cents a piece "if that" from a hotel wholeseller.

The French Manor made much of their vaunted 3 star AAA Restaurant rating and required patrons to dress elegantly. The staff was sweet but totally untrained. They seemingly had no idea what was in the overly complex menu and it took three of them to try and explain some dishes without success I may add.

The actual food was overpriced beyond beleif - $50 entrees and the quality was that of a mediocre steak-house in any major city at half the price. Oh and the $50 did not even buy any accompanying vegetables to speak of - they were on the menu description but I guess the chef decided not to include them preferring instead his own last minute interpretation - ie boiled cuscus with eye fillet and lobster with a watery Zinfandel jus. The eye fillet was actually a fairly good cut - the lobster however was totally dried out and lets not discuss the cuscus or the jus!!

Desserts - the waiters (two of them) were really pushing a "deconstructed " cheesecake. We opted for the pannacotta which was not what the famous recipe called for but was simply a sort of flavored custard. All in all - not good and we heard other tables complain about various elements of their meals.

The breakfast - the good news was the setting - again very pretty overlooking the valley. That's again where the good news ended. the wait staff untrained - the manager bossing audibly the staff, the eggs benedict coming out hard boiled, the sausage a cheap machine produced patty, the juices - carton store bought and we go on!
The spa - a little dirty and cheaply fitted out . The salt water pool - dirty. The jacouzzi - not working! The staff - seemingly competent however not professionally dressed or enough of them to not have to stop whatever they were doing with another client to come and assist you or check you in. Again for $100 facials - not what is expected.

The location as stated was very pretty but the landscaping left a lot to be desired. After dinner you are 100% cut-off not even being able to have a brief walk as there is no-where to walk to other than the car-park. why - because they have not bothered to create a paved path. In that totally isolated environment that is a real shame and very constraining.

And finally - on checking out we see there is a 10% room service charge - totally undisclosed. When we ask why - the response was - we are so isolated that its to help the room and breakfast staff get here and get tips! At $600 per night do the owners not consider that paying them adequately might help? Also training them!!?

In conclusion - a potentially delightful setting with owners that have found a way to effectively under-deliver and overcharge at every step. What a crying shame and what a disapointment to customers willing to pay their exhorbitant rates but rightfully expecting some semblance of quality and value.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have agood view - but that's where the good news stops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RaiDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frenchmanor, Manager at The French Manor Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
RaiDoc: It is difficult to read your review as The French Manor is a family run business in which we truly care for all aspects of our guest’s comfort. We cannot thank you enough for taking the time to share your experience with us and we apologize for the less than positive impression you received.

With the construction of our La Maisonneuve building (built in 1999), we had both the comfort and convenience of our guests as well as the casual elegance of the Manor in mind. We feel that we put our utmost care and resources into the décor of the new suites. These suites boast the most beautiful views of the Northern Pocono Mountains, which we are glad to hear you enjoyed.

The French Manor Inn and Spa is first and foremost an elegant country inn with the added amenity of a lovely green spa. Many of our travelers enjoy the bed and breakfast feel of a family owned and managed property. As Innkeepers, we take pride in providing personal attention, cleanliness, flavorful food, and proximity to all that the picturesque Pocono Mountains have to offer.

You touched on many of the fine details that we take pride in offering our guests such as the lovely green amenity line we provide in our rooms and suites. From the luxury, American made green organic towels and Comphy© sheets, to the organic soaps and shampoos - our green philosophy to preserve our natural environment plays a large role. We actually did extensive research in selecting the new amenity line, hoping that our affluent travelers would appreciate our green initiatives. For example, a portion of the net profits of the amenities supports honey bee and sustainable pollination research, not to mention the soothing qualities it has. Information on this collection is provided alongside the products in each accommodation. We thank you for your feedback and will certainly keep your thoughts in mind.

Our dining room staff and team of chefs are proud to present our summer menu. Using the freshest seasonal ingredients requires that we change the menu periodically. This does not excuse any lapse in service that you received. We are very thankful for your comments and will use them to help us refine the way we train and manage our operations as we increase our staff.

Unfortunately, the hot tub in the pool area was under maintenance as a mechanical part did prevent us from opening this amenity. We assure you that the hot tub and pool are working perfectly now, though it is a shame that the part we were awaiting did not arrive until after your stay. We apologize for any inconvenience.

The service charge is fully disclosed at the time of reservation and clearly stated in your confirmation that was emailed to you the day you made your reservation. The service charge is only on the room rate portion of your bill - not on spa credits. One important thing to note is that if something feels off or you are not enjoying your vacation to its fullest; please do not hesitate to bring any topic to our attention. We are here to help and want you to have a great experience… every time!

We would appreciate more of your feedback and encourage you to contact us if you can. Email us at info at thefrenchmanor dot com. Thank you again; we do hope to see you again soon!

Bridget Logan Weber and Genevieve Logan Reese
Innkeepers / Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guelph, ontario
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

I just booked an anniversary weekend in July with the French Manor, based on location and apparent ambiance. I was informed there is an additional charge of 12% added to the entire booking charge, which is a gratuity!!! I must be out of the loop. Since when do you give a gratuity on the room rates? They also list a service charge of 10%, so why now 12%. If this is a gratuity, then how does it get distributed? Do the staff actually get this money, or is it just a way to pad the prices? The money isn't the issue, still booked, and plan to enjoy our stay, but it's the principle of the thing. And if the service isn't prompt? and good? then what?

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The French Manor Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your future reservation to visit the French Manor. We look forward to welcoming you to the French Manor Inn and Spa.

The Bed and Breakfast package you booked has a 10% service charge added in lieu of gratuities (which is distributed among housekeeping, wait staff for your full gourmet breakfasts, Innkeepers and turn-down housekeeping in the evenings). We apologize for the mistake in your confirmation letter that was emailed to you. It did indeed have a typo that said 12% instead of 10% (there is only ONE service charge of 10% added per night). Once we were aware of the mistake, we did send a corrected confirmation immediately. Please know that this typographical error was not intentional and is not an indication of price gouging.

Thank you again for bringing this matter to our attention. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 570-676-3244 or by email info@thefrenchmanor.com if you have any other questions or concerns.

Sincerely,
The Logan Family and French Manor Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

We were looking for a place to get away that was not too far away but would feel like another world. We chose The French Manor because it fit all these requirements AND they had a great deal of two nights for the price of one if you went mid-week. We found our room -Venice to be pleasant and spacious but the "closet" was quite small and was almost like a crawl space one would find under some stairs. We enjoyed using the indoor pool and we thought the food was very good. On the other hand, the prices for the food were completely out of whack for what it was and where it was. We live and go out in NYC to a lot of nice restaurants and I can say without hesitation that the prices charged by The French Manor Restaurant were much higher then what one would pay for comparable food in NYC. The only other thing to be aware of is that this is a place to strictly relax. There didn't seem to be all that much to do around the area and the economy has definitely taken a toll on local businesses. Many places were boarded up which was sad to see. I would recommend this place for a short relaxing getaway. The staff are extremely nice if a little green for such an expensive place but that is a small point. Overall we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJKNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

To celebrate my husband's 40th and our 10th anniversary I was delighted to find The French Manor Inn and Spa. His idea of a good time is a weekend at the Four Seasons. I find that too pretentious so I wanted to find something of the same caliber, without the big city feel of a hotel like that. In fact, The French Manor is my idea of camping. The views were spectacular, the weather was perfect for late spring, the feel was one of calmness and it was truly relaxing. The accommodations were perfect. Based on other reviews of the nosiness of the main building, we booked a spa suite. The room was exactly how it was pictured online. Everything was in perfect order and it was kept lovely and clean. It was a joy to return from meals and have our rooms straightened up. We enjoyed the couples massage and spent time afterwards in the pool. The meals were fantastic. The staff, while young, did their very best at all times and were always professional. (It seems like the Inn is supporting most of the local economy so I can't complain about that.) I would suggest adding a few things to the menu of lighter fare. Friday evening we were in the mood for something lighter and while we dined in Hannah's Cafe the menu was still the full course spread, which made it not as special the next night (the menu - not the food which was spectacular). It was also disappointing that while the restaurant has a jacket requirement, two couples were dining on the porch in shorts, golf shirts and flip flops.
To conclude, if you want the Four Seasons without the big city cold and impersonal feel, book it today. It was totally worth it.

Room Tip: The spa suites were well worth the extra expense. It felt secluded which is what we wanted our roma...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Philly_MB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

My daughters and I were due for a get-a-way, my youngest was on Senior year Spring Break and my older daughter is recovering from an accident. My youngest went on a search for a spa in the Poconos and came up with this option. Beautiful area, even in the pre-spring browns and bareness. We arrived early to take in some spa treatments, and were very pleased with the staff and their abilities - though the fees for services were a little bit steep. Afterward, the pool was so refreshing and relaxing, and then back to the suite and on to dinner.
We had the small "cafe" to ourselves and enjoyed our dinners fully. The Chef did an amazing job with my 'more than medium' steak, tender and not drippy, and for my daughters, was willing to prepare a very nice vegetarian meal - they enjoyed them very much. James, our server, was very attentive and helpful as well as professional. (Be aware that the "cafe" serves the same pricey food as the main dining room, but you don't have to be dressed formally.)
The rooms we recommend are in the spa building, only one floor of rooms, so the issues of possibly hearing someone walking around etc was not a problem. Our suite was beautiful, we found the fireplace and the jacuzzi to be very relaxing and so enjoyable.
The three of us would be happy to return another time, in fact, I plan on making reservations for a fall anniversary get-a-way with my husband, and I am pretty sure my one daughter has been discussing the possibility of a visit with her husband too.
Beautiful grounds and views - walking trails we didn't have time to get out on, great food (I didn't even mention the wonderful breakfasts!), relaxing suites and spa... Save your pennies (and dollars!) as this is a pricey B & B / Restaurant / Spa, and book a package here, I know we weren't disappointed!

Room Tip: The outer Suites in the Spa building are the rooms I would recommend, there are more windows in each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reinings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Sterling
12.7 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
6.5 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
10.8 mi away
Cove Haven Resort
Cove Haven Resort
#1 of 2 in Lakeville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Paradise Stream Resort
Paradise Stream Resort
#2 of 7 in Mount Pocono
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
11.8 mi away
Mount Airy Casino Resort
Mount Airy Casino Resort
#1 of 7 in Mount Pocono
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The French Manor Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The French Manor Inn and Spa

Property: The French Manor Inn and Spa
Address: 50 Huntingdon Dr, South Sterling, PA 18445-5315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > South Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in South Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The French Manor Inn and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Pocono Mountains PA bed and breakfast is a beautiful stone chateau, offering 15 elegant guest rooms and suites complete with fireplace, Jacuzzi, private balconies, and views of the Pocono Mountains. Our secluded and romantic accommodations along with our fine dining on-site 4-diamond restaurant are ideal for any traveler. Look online to learn more about special packages, area activities and events, and to book your next luxury Pennsylvania weekend getaway with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The French Manor Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The French Manor Hotel South Sterling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing