We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay While Visiting Penn State”
Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sleep Inn
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in State College
Florida
Level Contributor
327 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay While Visiting Penn State”
Reviewed 18 October 2006

I have stayed at the Sleep Inn many times while in State College. It is an unbeatable value - unless, of course, you try to stay there on a football weekend - since the rooms are clean and comfortable. The bathroom with a "pocket door" is a little funky, but it is more than made up for by one of the best showers of any hotel I've ever stayed at no matter how many stars it has. The free wireless internet access is a plus and I enjoy the modest but very good breakfast provided. I have always found the hotel to be quiet and peaceful and it is convenient to PSU, shops and restaurants so long as you have a car.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable and reasonably priced
  • Tips/Secrets — A $1 service charge is automatically added for the safe - tell the desk at checkout to remove it
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank NJTravelBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    76
    26
    4
    5
See reviews for
57
37
17
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chester County, PA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2006

I read the reviews and it sounded good. However, it was way beyond my expectations for an inexpensive hotel. The room looked and smelled like a newly remodeled room. I was amazed to find out the next morning that the hotel was 10 years old and due for a remodel. I don't know what they would remodel and said so to the clerk. She said that they needed to have 5 pillows across on the King size beds and they needed to improve the lighting. That part was believable. The light over the bed was a long fluorescent. Other than that, I wouldn't change a thing. This is a great price and a very nice room. But you have to try the shower. It is large and very nice.

  • Liked — It looked and smelled like a new hotel.
  • Disliked — Lighting over the bed.
  • Tips/Secrets — Strongly recommend.
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Charis7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, PA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2004

We stayed here one night a few years ago and were really impressed with this hotel. The room was nothing special, although the large shower was awesome! The price of the room is rather inexpensive and is a much better choice than some of the other budget hotels in the area that are worse than the dickens! We would recommend this award winning hotel to anyone staying in the area and especially those who do not wish to spend a fortune for a night's stay at a fancy hotel, like the Toftrees Resort.

  • Stayed June 2000
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ScottyDoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2004

We stayed at the Sleep Inn State College while we were in town attending a concert at the Bryce Jordan Center. The location was perfect, just a 5 minute drive to the venue if that. And there's plenty of places to grab a bite to eat since it's located just off 322. I was extremely pleased with our stay at the hotel. The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated. I particularly liked the shower. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again. It's worth the affordable prices you'll pay!

  • Stayed April 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank sissabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#13 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#5 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#14 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Property: Sleep Inn
Address: 111 Village Dr, State College, PA 16803-2923
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel State College
Sleep Inn State College
State College Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing