We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“State College Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard State College
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2012 via mobile

A caveat to my location score; my trip brought me out for activities southeast of campus so the location was ideal. With that said, the layout of the campus makes it easy to get around.
Rooms were clean. Mine had a tub in the bedroom part and a balcony. Pretty neat. View was of commercial area though. I would have to guess the lobby is newly renovated however rooms might be a phase behind.
Staff was friendly and knowledgeable about area restaurants and shops. If I had business out in State College again, I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OhFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Ohface,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel and for recommending us. I will pass along all of your comments to our team during our next weekly meeting. We look forward to seeing you again!
Sincerely,
Patty Treaster, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2012

Very bland room, looks to have been renovated but not much to admire. They sell a breakfast "special" sandwich $7 that is usually free at most courtyard hotels- made with the sausage and processed egg patty. There is a Ruby Tuesday right behind for a good fast meal. Also on the side there is another hotel, (Ramada??) that had a pretty good bar.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flh65_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard State College, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Dear flh65_10,

Thank you for your review! You may be thinking of the breakfast sandwiches at Fairfield Inns, they offer a limited complimentary continental breakfast and all Courtyard’s charge for breakfast with much more variety.

Best regards,

Patty Treaster, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Stayed 3 nights at this hotel during Volleyball Tournament over Memorial Day weekend. Room was very clean, toiletries very nice; cafe bistro has good selection. Most notable is that although this hotel was full w/ lots of families all weekend, the staff was very friendly and always helpful, from the front desk to housekeeping to the cafe. Our room had a folder of information to help us navigate around State College during the volleyball tournament, very thoughtful. Although we did not have small children, they had a couple fun contests for kids, very customer oriented.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard State College, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

We’re so glad you and your family had a great stay with us and that we were able to help make your visit to State College enjoyable. Thanks for all the compliments, hope your team came away winners at the tournament!

Have a great summer,

Patty Treaster, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

The hotel lobby is very nice. The rooms are the older Courtyard style and are starting to some some wear. The room I was in was a Kind Jacuzzi room. The room has a balcony on it as well, along with two chairs and a small table.

The room was of good size, had 32" flat panel TV (the channels all were fuzzy). The sliding glass door is not double glazed, so I could hear people talking in the parking lot most of the night, and the hallways (there was a wedding there the weekend I was staying).

This hotel is about 3 miles from the downtown area. Directly in front of the hotel is a Ruby Tuesday (shares the parking lot), and across the street is a Ponderosa Steakhouse.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Preston71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Nice new updates. Lobby bistro and bar. Nice and convenient. Rooms are very clean. Paul Mitchell toiletries are nice. Had my feather free room available at check in as requested. Super friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmutt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard State College, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Thanks very much for your feedback travelmutt1, we appreciate your compliments! It was our pleasure to have you stay with us, we hope to see you again.

Best wishes,

Patty Treaster, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed one night for a college visit.
Lobby and bar area are great.
We had connecting rooms with our kids and the doors were not able to remain open so it was awkward opening them all each time we passed thru and they were not prop-able so a little frustrating.

Not bad but could be better as it wasn't totally clean. I'm a clean freak. We found cereal under a cushion and the pullout bed was dirty on the underside.

The tv in the king room was off to one side so sort of awkward watching tv in bed.

Decent place to stay for a night.

Might try a different hotel next time.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeamGlaab5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard State College, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear TeamGlaab5,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we love hearing from our guests and appreciate your comments as well as your business. I plan to reinforce the importance of the cleanliness of our sofa beds with the housekeeping team, thank you for bringing it to our attention, please accept my apologies that the proper attention wasn’t given prior to your arrival. I’m sorry you weren’t able to use the latches on the back of your doors to prop them open, each door has one located above the doorknob and lock.

Best regards,

Patty Treaster, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I stayed at Courtyard by Marriott State College recently and was pleasantly surprised. The hotel was very clean and modern, Starbucks-brand coffee and tea is available (along with complimentary), indoor pool, gym and even a little locker room (in case you arrive early and no rooms are ready and you need to change). Even though it is off-campus, the drive is literally 5-minutes up the road. The only problem I had was a loud neighbor who apparently liked to shout on his cell phone by the adjoining door. Luckily, I had no problem sleeping.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarlaWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard State College, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Thanks KarlaWT for your review and recommendation! Thanks for choosing the Courtyard for your business needs. We greatly appreciate your patronage and taking the time to share your comments. We look forward to being of service the next time you are in the area!

Yours truly,
Patty Treaster, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, State College (Penn State Area), PA
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn State College
Residence Inn State College
#23 of 26 in State College
145 reviews
4.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites State College
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott State College
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard State College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard State College

Address: 1730 University Dr, State College, PA 16801-6273
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in State College
Price Range: £80 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard State College 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among State College hotels, Courtyard by Marriott State College is the ideal oasis on the road for all travelers. Featuring many modern touches, the Courtyard lobby and Bistro offers spaces to connect, unwind, and eat. Start your morning right at this State College hotel with breakfast and Starbucks, then stop back again at the end of the day for dinner and a cocktail. Stay connected in our lobby or Business Center featuring free Wi-Fi. Unwind in our indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center. Perfectly situated in Happy Valley, this State College hotel near Penn State University, Bryce Jordan Center and Beaver Stadium is close to many area businesses and attractions. Relax in our spacious guest rooms, featuring FREE High Speed Internet and Wi-Fi, a large well-lit work area and 32" LCD flat screen TV. Sleep comfortably in our custom bedding with thick mattresses and fluffy pillows. When choosing State College hotels, come see why Courtyard by Marriott State College hotel is a step above the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard State College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott State College Hotel State College
State College Marriott
State College Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing