We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Very Good Quality Courtyard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard State College
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in State College
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
159 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Typical Very Good Quality Courtyard”
Reviewed 18 September 2007

We stayed at the Courtyard for a football weekend. This was our first stay at the Courtyard, but I stay at Courtyards frequently on business trips. I used my Marriott points to book the stay, which was a wise choice since they raise the prices to $310/night (2 night minimum) on football weekends (as I'm sure every other hotel in State College does).

There was a nice spread of cookies and snacks (Penn State themed) in the lobby upon arrival. Check in was fine.

We had a king-bed room, which was a standard Courtyard room. The bed was very comfortable. There were several Penn State freebies waiting for us in the room, which was a nice touch.

Very importantly, the ice machine cranked out the ice for all of us filling our coolers for the big tailgate Saturday morning!

The pool and jacuzzi were very nice, with a waterfall and a good size pool. Our only complaint at all is with the fitness room. There were two treadmills, and my husband is a runner. He found them both to be in rather poor shape for serious running. However, I used the bike and elliptical, and both were in excellent condition.

There is a Ruby Tuesdays in the same parking lot that you can walk to for dinner.

All in all, a very nice Courtyard for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nittany&Fargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    49
    19
    3
    0
See reviews for
39
17
4
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
central PA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2007

Recently upgraded, I stay here on business once a month and they take very good care of me. I am a Marriott rewards member and that helps! I often get free room upgrades, the rooms are very clean and comfortable and the staff is very helpful and knowledgable of the area. I will continue to stay here on my frequent business trips.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank burke140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita
Level Contributor
134 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2006

This Courtyard gives you what you come to expect from the chain. A clean hotel with amenities that are geared towards business travelers, along with friendly and helpful service.
I did find the pool area to be better than most Courtyards. The lap pool was large and had a nice water feature behind it and the jacuzzi was just fine. The exercise room was also well equipped.
I found the location to be great; not too far from downtown State College, but far enough for some quiet.
A solid chioce

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank FightOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 22 February 2005

We Have stayed in this hotel numerbous times and it by far has been the best hotel we have stayed in at state college. Diana at the front desk is wonderful and all the other staff was very helpful as well. It's quiet yet close enough to town to go to the night life. Strongly recommend this hotel.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
196 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2004

This is such a nice place to stay. It is new and at the edge of town, near several restaurants. A hot breakfast buffet, with waffles if requested, is available on the first floor. Our room was good-sized, with excellent light-blocking curtains and a quietly-purring climate control system. I slept later than I am able to do at home. Staff is young, pleasant, and efficient. Hotel van service to University Park Airport is easy to arrange and goes quickly and on-time. Occasionally, when the wind is in the southeast, you can tell outside the building that you are in a rural area, but inside the building the air is perfectly fresh.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chaucerian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
2.0 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#5 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn State College
Residence Inn State College
#17 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn State College
Hampton Inn State College
#11 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard State College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard State College

Property: Courtyard State College
Address: 1730 University Dr, State College, PA 16801-6273
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard State College 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among State College hotels, Courtyard by Marriott State College is the ideal oasis on the road for all travelers. Featuring many modern touches, the Courtyard lobby and Bistro offers spaces to connect, unwind, and eat. Start your morning right at this State College hotel with breakfast and Starbucks, then stop back again at the end of the day for dinner and a cocktail. Stay connected in our lobby or Business Center featuring free Wi-Fi. Unwind in our indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center. Perfectly situated in Happy Valley, this State College hotel near Penn State University, Bryce Jordan Center and Beaver Stadium is close to many area businesses and attractions. Relax in our spacious guest rooms, featuring FREE High Speed Internet and Wi-Fi, a large well-lit work area and 32" LCD flat screen TV. Sleep comfortably in our custom bedding with thick mattresses and fluffy pillows. When choosing State College hotels, come see why Courtyard by Marriott State College hotel is a step above the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard State College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott State College Hotel State College
State College Marriott
State College Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing