We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in State College
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bed and Breakfast at The Rock Garden
Certificate of Excellence
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Rock Garden B&B while visiting family in the State College area. We had a wonderful experience with this B&B. The room was immaculate, spacious, and very comfortable. We stayed in the Nittany room, and the views were lovely. We were in PA during the summer and it was quite warm but the B&B was air conditioned and the temperature was just right. Joe Thomas, our inn keeper, made great breakfasts and was always there to help out. We had a very early morning flight out when we left (6:00 a.m.) and Joe insisted on fixing us breakfast before we left! He sent us out the door with some warm scones, fruit, tea, and conversation. It was a great experience and we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I suspect all of the rooms are nice. There were no other people staying the first 2 nights we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mauitutu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
22
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
176 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We had another great stay at this B & B in June. Joe is a wonderful host & his scones are just yummy. The Mt. Nittany room where we stayed is spacious, well-decorated and very clean. The whole atmosphere is relaxing with a fireplace & flat screen TV in the living room. Lots of magazines, books and games to occupy any free time. There are comfy chairs in the sunroom to snuggle into to read or to look out over the nice landscape with rabbits & groundhogs to amuse you. Joe & Laura have worked hard to provide a nice vacation escape & it shows in so many ways. This is where we will always stay when we visit family in Central PA. An added bonus is how easy it is to get on Rt. 322 which connects to many of the places we visit. Thanks for a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Mt. Nittany room is the most spacious if you want to spread out a bit more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 14Art14Trout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

My husband & I stayed at The Rock Garden for our nephew's graduation from Penn State. We have stayed at B&Bs before and quite honestly this was the best ever. We wish we would have found this place 3 years ago when our niece graduated from Penn State!
Joe, our host, with a refreshing sense of humor, was extremely accommodating, leaving no detail unattended to. After a long evening out at the graduation ceremonies we arrived back at this fabulous B&B to find that homemade chocolate chip cookies had been left out for us! The always available "Keurig" supplies were well stocked with a variety of coffees, teas and hot chocolate. Breakfast was served buffet style but Joe also came to our table to refresh our coffee and juice as well as to offer additional foods.
There are books a plenty, large flat screen TV, free Wi-Fi, grand fireplace, outdoor seating, and much more.
The grounds are as beautiful as they are peaceful complete with song birds to entertain you.
All the rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed juxtaposed with antiques and modern amenities. Rates are very, very reasonable. If we find ourselves in the area again, we would most definitely look to stay here!
We could go on boasting about "The Rock Garden" but we will leave you to to find out for yourselves how great your stay will be.
If you're looking to be close to Penn State, 8 minutes away, at the foot of Mount Nittany, but out of the hustle and bustle of the campus' immediate area.... look no further!

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank vpr0ulxrnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

My husband and I stayed four days and I wish I could of stayed longer. Joe and Laura the Innkeepers made us feel like we were visiting family. The farm house is just beautiful and the rooms are immaculate. It was a cold Thanksgiving weekend, but the beautiful wood burning fireplace in the family room kept us warm and toasty on the outside while Joe's cooking kept us warm on the inside. Just a perfect combination for a country B and B. We will be back next year.

Room Tip: Every room at the B and B is perfect,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisNaples_Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

I was looking for a place to stay when attending a family celebration- and it just happened to be Parent's Weekend at Penn State. After some frantic calling, I probably got the last room in the area. And what a room it was! The place looks like an old farmhouse, but is relatively new and up-to-date in every way. The room was well-appointed, quiet, and comfortable. The owner is a perfect host - even helping people break the ice at the breakfast table. How many places collect your money at the end of the stay? Next time, this will be my first call.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DekeMoRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

My husband and I wanted a weekend away. We decided to go to Penn State since I am an alumni and haven't been back since graduation almost 2 decades ago. We picked the B&B at The Rock Garden because we wanted something cozy with nice views but we also wanted modern amenities and a short drive to downtown and the campus. We got it all! This B&B was perfect. A roaring fire around the clock made it perfect for a snowy weekend in February. The inn keeper was very kind and made sure we had everything we needed. The house was beautiful and spotless. Lots of large windows and comfortable sitting. We felt a little like we were in a snow globe when the snow started. The bedrooms each had their own bathrooms and were very large and comfortable. Driving into State College was a breeze and only took a few minutes. We were so happy that we choose to stay here instead of a chain hotel. I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: The Mt. Nittany seemed to be the largest bedroom. Great views too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kel_6956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

My wife and I stayed two nights at the Rock Garden B&B in early July 2011 and had a wonderful time. The inn is beautiful and comfortable in every way. Our room, bathroom, and the entire house was spotless. We liked how the B&B was less than 10 years old but has the external appearance of a century old farmhouse. The location is great -- close to downtown State College and nearby Boalsburg. It's only a short (but winding) drive to get to the Mt. Nittany winery.
The innkeeper, Joe, gave us excellent information about local restaurants and places to visit. He is definitely a people-person and seemed to enjoy getting to know his guests. Breakfasts were scrumptious and hearty and we enjoyed meeting and sharing stories with the other guests. If you don't get enough to eat, it's your own fault.
I also have to mention the softness of the bedding -- the softest sheets and pillows I've ever slept on!
Our visit was fantastic and we're already talking about staying there when we visit State College in the future. Even after our son graduates, I'd be willing to bet that we'll continue to make some visits to the Rock Garden B&B.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank papercut1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
3.8 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#5 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
4.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#12 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast at The Rock Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast at The Rock Garden

Property: Bed and Breakfast at The Rock Garden
Address: 176 Brush Valley Rd, State College, PA 16827-1025
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in State College
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing