We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“State College trip”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“State College trip”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Arrived around 1 and was able to go ahead and check in. Got up to the room & it had plenty of room. The lady at the front desk was able to suggest some local restaurants that offered discounts to hotel guests. Our only negative would be when we pulled our bed down the sheets had not been cleaned!! We could see hair and dead skin on the sheets. We did call the front desk and the gentleman came right up & changed them. The breakfast was a typical continental breakfast.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lafaircloth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortSuites132, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience with us at Comfort Suites. I have shared your feedback with our team and assure you we are working very diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the hopes to exceed your expectations as well as all our guests expectations. We appreciate your business and look forward to the opportunity of seeing you again in your future travels to Happy Valley!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    81
    22
    3
    1
See reviews for
120
34
10
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
riverside
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We spent 4 days at this hotel for my son's orientation at Penn State. The hotel served it's purpose. Clean rooms,comfortable beds and good breakfast. No complaints. Nonetheless, it is about 1.1 miles to the Robeson Center (hub). It is about a 15 min walk through a lovely residential street. I believed the hotel was much closer to campus and near the action. The hotel is not in town but on the other side of the campus.It took us about 25 minutes cutting through campus to get to the main part of the town. We did not mind the walk,lovely weather. However, on summer days or winter, take a taxi....about 8 dollars. Finally, there is a TGIF Friday restaurant about 75 yards from the hotel.

Room Tip: Third floor in the corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cubano40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortSuites132, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Comfort Suites during your son's orientation at Penn State. We appreciate you taking the time to comment about your recent stay with us. Our staff takes great pride in the service they offer our guests and are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us We are located conveniently to the Penn State Campus, Bryce Jordan Center and Downtown State College. We value your business and hope to see you again soon! Safe Travels!

Yours In Service,

Lisa Ripka
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
Level Contributor
298 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

You don't need a parking Lot, I could park my car in my suite. Very very very comfortable bed. Interesting bath arrangement, no full wall.....can hear everything, somewhat awkward if not intimate with roomie. Breakfast is way above average. Proteins, waffles, juices, coffee, yogurts, eggs, toast. Fitness center, pool. Well located. Happy volley tournament, happy to be here, would return

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gg99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortSuites132, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
On the behalf of the hotel staff, I am writing to Thank You for staying at the Comfort Suites in State College. We appreciate you taking time to share your comments on your recent stay with us. We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our pleasant staff could accommodate you with higher expectations then you anticipated.

We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their night’s stay a satisfying one. The principle goal of our hotel is to provide dependable services to all of our guests at a reasonable price. But, it’s only through their eyes that we can accurately assess the quality of the accommodations and services we provide.

Our Jacuzzi rooms are very large and are geared more for the business traveler or as a couple’s room. I do agree that this style of room is not for everyone.Those who frequent this type of room generally love it!!

It was nice to read that you also, enjoyed our “Savory Start” morning choices that we make readily available each morning for our guest to start their day off right!

Again, let me thank you for staying with us during your weekend for Happy Volley. We’re committed to total guest satisfaction, and we look forward to your next visit.

Regards,
Patty Mandell
Assistant General Manager
Comfort Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensburg, Pa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Want to let everyone considering this location,to look NO FURTHER!!! Stayed the weekend with my wife and grand kids. What a superb staff,extremely clean facility, nice location as well as a fair price. We couldnt have asked for a more quality stay anywhere... As a frequent traveler (200+ hotel stays per year) I consider myself a fair judge of accomodations and this hotel is equal to any costing twice as much. Hope this helps any traveler considering staying here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank euclid4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortSuites132, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your experience with us at the Comfort Suites. I always enjoy reading what our guests are saying about our customer service. We like to think that we go above and beyond what our guests would expect in customer service.
With our newly renovated suites with new bedding,carpeting and sofa beds,we feel that you are definitely getting your money's worth when you stay here. Even with all the new amenities, we like to keep our rates competitive with all the hotels that are in the area and still make you feel like you are getting a bargain. We truly appreciate your comments and your business. Thank you for choosing the State College Comfort Suites for your overnight stay..

Regards,
Patty Mandell,AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We went for a tour, what a nice hotel, great breakfast, awesome staff. Super clean, looking forward to our next trip. The pool looked very nice, hopefully we get time to use it on our next visit. Great place

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dominick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortSuites132, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
I would like to take this opportunity in thanking you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. Our staff goes above and beyond what is asked of them to provide the best service possible for our guests. We want everyone to feel like they are at home when staying here, from check-in to check-out, we strive to give our very best service. We thank you again for staying at the State College Comfort suites. We hope that we will see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Patty Mandell,AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynesboro, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Hotel itself is very clean and nicely kept. Staff very friendly and breakfast pretty good. Overall great value and a lot of room!! I would however recommend that hotel management provide some direction for the staff when there are large groups of children staying in the hotel - as the children were permitted to run the hallways, play in the elevator, continuously slam doors and yell to each other well after eleven o'clock at night. Sorry - I know everyone is asking "what about the parents"... but I do believe that the hotel is just as responsible to minimize the disruptive, loud behavior. After the kids settled down......Being awoke by the room next door 2 AM hallway party was far from pleasing either. Heather - the night clerk however handled the drunken idiots very well!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly17268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortSuites132, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
After reading your recent comments,I would like to thank you for your nice review of our hotel and staff. I appreciate your honest observation of the recent activities and bringing it to our attention. We have met as a management team and have decided to provide additional staffing and security during groups containing minors in an effort to keep a situation like this from re occurring. Clearly this group took us by surprise and our staffing level at the time was clearly overwhelmed. Again, we appreciate feed back and can only hope that we will continue to be your first choice for lodging when you return to the State College area.

Sincerely,
Patty Mandell,AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed here while I was doing business at Penn State. They were very helpful, and everything was delightful. They have a very large INDOOR swimming pool and very large hot spool. Rooms were very clean and inviting.

Room Tip: If you're smart, you'll venture out past the TGI Friday's next door. It's terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortSuites132, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
I would like to thank you for your recent review and tell you how much we appreciate hearing feed back from our guests. We strive to continuously keep our property fresh and updated with the newly renovated guest rooms and public areas. Our pool are is our most popular area within our hotel for families and even the weekly business traveler, like yourself to unwind and relax on a wintery evening. We certainly hope that we will see you again when traveling to State College.
Thank you again for choose the State College Comfort Suites.

Sincerely,
Patty Mandell,AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#5 of 26 in State College
1,213 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#21 of 26 in State College
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
755 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#16 of 26 in State College
78 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#14 of 26 in State College
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 132 Village Dr, State College, PA 16803-2923
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in State College
#13 Business Hotel in State College
#15 Family Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Behind every great stay is a great night at the Comfort Suites® hotel in State College, PA. This is an all-suites hotel near Penn State University, Pegula Ice Arena and The Arboretum at Penn State. This smoke-free State College family suite hotel near the Mount Nittany Medical Center is conveniently located, giving you easy access to a variety of restaurants, activities and points of interest in State College. This State College pet-friendly hotel is close to the McCoy Natatorium, Central PA Tasting Trail and: Palmer Museum of Art Beaver Stadium Bryce Jordan Center Penn's Cave & Wildlife Park Pegula Ice Arena Whether you’re staying for leisure or corporate travel, Comfort Suites will give you everything you need to make your trip a success. Business travelers can utilize our 64-person meeting space, and our business center features a computer and copy and fax services. For your convenience, guest laundry facilities are also available. As our valued guest, you can also enjoy such amenities as: Free WiFi Free airport transportation Indoor pool and whirlpool Fitness center Free weekday newspaper Start your day off with a great hot breakfast. Your trip to State College begins with our free hot breakfast offering everything from eggs, waffles and meat to healthy options like yogurt and fresh fruit. We invite you to relax in your spacious suite, which features a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker. Keep your electronic devices charged with the recharge device including AC and USB outlets provided in all guest rooms. Standard and two-room suites with whirlpool bathtubs are also available. Enjoy the combination of cozy accommodations, friendly service and wonderful amenities at the Comfort Suites hotel. Rested, set, go—book now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel State College
Comfort Suites State College
State College Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing