We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Penn State”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in State College
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Clean, friendly, affordable, and close to Penn State. What more could you ask for? 2nd time I stayed here and if my daughter is accepted to the school, I won't stay anywhere else. There are very few hotels closer to the campus and those that are will cost a fortune. Recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mschorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi P, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

So glad you enjoyed your stay. We will keep our fingers crossed that your daughter is accepted to Penn State. We can't wait for you to visit us again. When you do, please don't forget to ask about our Penn State Parents discount program. Text books are expensive! This card will save you 15% everytime you visit. Thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

I have stayed at this hotel twice, once in August 2012 and again in September 2012. This is a basic hotel, but it was very comfortable and clean. I was most impressed with how friendly and welcoming all of the staff members were. The room rates are a great deal considering how clean this hotel is and how friendly the staff are. I already have returned to this location a second time and it is now my go to place to stay when I am visiting State College.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are a good idea if you want to avoid the slow elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyValleyPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi P, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Thank you for the kudos! I have the pleasure of working with the best group of people. When I get to share comments like yours with them, it really make my day. We promise to keep up the the good work , as long as you promise to visit again soon! Thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed here during Parents Weekend. The staff were very welcoming and gave another guest some helpful hints about reserving for graduation. The room was fine, the location is great if you are visiting Penn State. My only complaint was breakfast. The breakfast area is very narrow so it's hard to maneuver when it gets crowded and they ran out of eggs when I got there so I had to wait several minutes for the staff to bring out more. But, it is good value for the money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmgronsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi P, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our Quality Inn Penn State. I am happy that you found our staff welcoming and helpful as well as your room clean and comfortable. We take great pride in offering the best possible service. I am happy to share with you, our plans to renovate our breakfast area. Beginning in January, we will be increasing the space of the breakfast area. We understand that it can get a bit tight, especially during a busy weekend. We do look forward to your visiting us again in the future to see the improvements. If you have not done so already, may I suggest signing up for the Penn State Parents Discount Plan. By registering, you will receive a discount card that will entitle you to a 15% discount every time you come to visit Penn State. Thank you for your comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

The hotel is located within a stones throw from Penn State!

You can't find a cleaner, nicer place than this Quality Inn! Staff is friendly and inviting! Breakfast was fresh with many choices! Presentation was nice and the staff kept the space clean and kept refreshing the coffee!

Only place I will stay when in State College area !!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyndy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi P, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Dear Cyndy, Thank you for the kind words. Sharing comments like yours with my staff is the best part of my day! I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Can't wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

My in laws have stayed several times and recommended this hotel for when we had to be in town for a funeral. We ended up with about 5 families staying. Wonderful friendly, helpful, clean, comfy hotel and all for the bargain price of about $65 a night! We had a king room and both the room and bathroom were very spacious. Breakfast in the morning was quite good and they had an attendant there the entire time refreshing and refilling everything. The only negative I could find was in the hallways the carpets were pretty stained...in the room they were perfectly clean. I wished we could stay longer to enjoy the hotel and the state college area. Next time we go to visit this will be the first place we look to stay! I hope Quality Inn keeps up the great work and affordable pricing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi P, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2012

Our sincere condolences for your recent loss. I am pleased that our hotel served as a comfortable gathering place for our family. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Hopefully, under happier circumstances!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

my family stayed here this past weekend (room 325) for my Nephews Graduation at Penn State, I could not be happier, the beds were very comfortable, the room was very clean, the breakfast selection in the morning was was very good, from eggs to cold cereal ,juice, coffee bacon, sausage, the staff was very friendly upon check in & check out I would most defianately stay here again I was very pleased with our stay. Great Job Keep up the Good Work

Room Tip: the third floor is very quiet because there is no one above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momeagle36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPischke, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Congratulations to your nephew on his recent graduation from Penn State. I am so glad you enjoyed the complimentary hot breakfast and that your room was clean and comfortable. That is what we strive for every day. Nothing makes be happier than to hear that our guests were pleased with our service and that they are planning on returning. Looking forward to seeing you soon! Heidi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

we stayed for one night and got a good deal on room 301. Positives (flat screen, fridge, in penn state, close to restaurants and campus). Good selection for breakfast

our bathroom could be a little cleaner - found hair on the toilet before using the bathroom, the floor tiles were slightly discolored, the tub was a triangle so it was a little awkward to shower and the tub was slightly discolored as well.

great hotel for a budget traveler.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krissy1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#19 of 26 in State College
181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Penn State
Comfort Suites Penn State
#11 of 26 in State College
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#9 of 26 in State College
1,365 reviews
5.0 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
2.8 mi away
Super 8 State College
Super 8 State College
#21 of 26 in State College
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 1274 N Atherton St, State College, PA 16803-2928
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in State College
#3 Family Hotel in State College
#4 Business Hotel in State College
#11 Romantic Hotel in State College
Price Range: £49 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn welcomes sport enthusiasts, business travelers, families and even pets to State College, with affordable rates and a full range of services and amenities. Just five blocks to Penn State University campus, the Quality Inn consistently provides guest essentials with friendly service in an accommodating environment. The Quality Inn features a free deluxe breakfast, exercise room, free wireless Internet access and a meeting room for up to 75 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing