We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in State College
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

In town Feb 9/10 for NITTANY invitational volleyball tournament at Penn State. The group rate offered was outstanding.
Room spacious and clean. Mini fridge much needed for a tournament when you bring nutritious food for athletes.
Hot breakfast had terrific variety plus good coffee.
Staff very friendly.
A shout put to Aaron at front desk last who was particularly witty and helpful.
Location perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjwtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi P, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. Yes, Aaron has a creat sense of humor. I am so happy that your team finally made it through the terrible storm and got some much needed rest. We really enjoyed having all of the Volleyball teams here with us. It was a pleasure having such a great group of kids at breakfast. Wow, can they eat! Looking forward to seeing yor team next year at the tournament. Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    170
    41
    5
    5
See reviews for
241
68
38
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Quality Inn for two weeks this past January. We found the staff to be extremely polite, helpful, and courteous and the rooms relatively large and clean. We found the hotel to be very quiet and the beds comfortable. The dining room staff was very accomodating and kept saying that if you don't see want you want, ask for it. My wife stated a preference for hot biscuits and the woman working that breakfast brought her out a plate of hot bisquits the following morning. Even though this was off season, the rates were very good compared to other hotel chains. The heater worked well with an effective themostat on the wall to control the desired temperature. Plenty of hot water for delightful winter showers.
We will definitely stay here on our next visit to State College and fully recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room not near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonGHaifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi P, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. I will let Nicole know that your wife enjoyed the warm biscuits in the morning. I am so pleased that your stay was comfortable and that our staff was helpful and courteous. We strive for that kind of service everyday. Hopefully the next time you come to visit your family in State College, the weather will be a little warmer! It was such a pleasure to have you stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S. Walpole
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Every once in a while you find a treat on a trip that takes an unexpected turn. We had to get out of the storm that hit PA over Christmas holiday and this hotel came up as the closest haven from the storm. What a pleasant surprise. the people could not have been more welcoming. They treated us and our pet like family. Their welcoming attitude made our trip interruption a not very painful side trip.

The room was very high value. Clean, nicely appointed and very comfortable. But the best part was their welcome and the personable treatment.

It was such a nice experience that we changed our route on the way home to take advantage of this hotel on the return if the weather got bad again.

Room Tip: Rooms near teh front on the back side of the hotel should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi P, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Dear Mike, Thank you for your kind comments. Snow storms always bring the nicest guests our way. I am a little bit surprised that a Michigan native wouldn’t have just plowed thru. We are glad you didn’t! We all really enjoyed visiting with you, your wife and especially, your sweet dog (who looks just like mine). It almost seemed as if you were actually visiting us over the holidays not just passing thru. We hope we see you again soon. If you need a snow storm, we will be happy to send our next one your way. Thank you for staying with us! Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

I have stayed here three times for work at Penn State. The hotel is one of the cleanest I've stayed in for business travel, especially considering the great rates. It's less than a five minute drive from campus, making it extremely convenient. The hotel staff was always friendly, and was able to point me in the right direction, weather it was for a morning latte or dinner. The hotel is up-to-date and appears to be expanding their breakfast area. Overall, I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank No_Noise_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi P, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Dear No- Noise, Thank you for your kind comments.If I remember correctly, you and your collegue were working late into the night during your stay. I am happy that our staff did not disturb you during the day and that you were able to get some much needed rest. I am also very please that you found our hotel clean and the staff helpful. That is always our goal and I am pleased that we hit the mark. Looking forward to seeing you again soon! Thanks for staying with us! Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moon Township, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Our stay was perfect. A clean and comfortable room friendly and a very accomodating staff. The GM Heidi is quite the professional and runs a terrific hotel. We visited our daughter who attends the university and we already looking forward to our next visit . A definite recommendation

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi P, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 11 November 2012
Dear Tony, Always a pleasure seeing you and your family! There is nothing I enjoy more than sharing comments like yours, with the staff. And a recommendation from our guests is the greatest compliment. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canal Fulton, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Front desk help was very friendly and helpful. Large rooms with a king...super big bathroom with plenty of towels. Didn't do the breakfast but went across the street and had a very good one instead. Would most definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TColmar56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi P, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Tom, Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Next time you come up for a concert at the Bryce Jordan Center, we will expect to see you here! Lucky for your little Jack Russell, I didn't catch her smoking that cigar in the room! We are smoke-free. Looking forward to seeing you again soon! Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Penna.
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Our stay here exceeded our expectations. Decent price for an average room that was very clean. Beds were firm, but very comfortable, the only problem we encountered was the bathroom door sticks and was hard to close. Hotel did allow pets for an extra $10/night. Included breakfast had cereals, muffins, bagels, breads, waffles, sausage links, cheese omlet, hardboiled eggs, juices, coffee, &tea. Good quality too. Best part of the stay was the staff, they were very friendly, accomodating, and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ridgerunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi P, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Thank you for your comments! I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Sounds like Breakfast was a pretty good way to start your day. I am especially happy to hear that our staff was friendly and helpful. We all really enjoy when our hotel if filled with wonderful guests like yourself! Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#6 of 26 in State College
1,295 reviews
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#13 of 26 in State College
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square
0.8 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#4 of 26 in State College
784 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#19 of 26 in State College
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 1274 N Atherton St, State College, PA 16803-2928
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in State College
#3 Family Hotel in State College
#4 Business Hotel in State College
#11 Romantic Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn welcomes sport enthusiasts, business travelers, families and even pets to State College, with affordable rates and a full range of services and amenities. Just five blocks to Penn State University campus, the Quality Inn consistently provides guest essentials with friendly service in an accommodating environment. The Quality Inn features a free deluxe breakfast, exercise room, free wireless Internet access and a meeting room for up to 75 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing