We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room for a great price!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Johnsburg, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great room for a great price!!”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

After spending 2 prior nights in terrible hotels, we were not looking forward to checking into another hotel!! We were very pleasantly surprised!! This hotel was very clean! The front desk people were very nice and helpful. The room was large. We had a king bed, a pull out sofa and we still had room to put in a queen size air mattress up. The breakfast in the morning was excellent. Fresh sausage, waffles, eggs, etc. and plenty of room to eat. I would definately stay here again!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Thank you so much for the great feedback. I am sorry to hear that you had two bad experiences prior to staying with us. We look forward to having you stay here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    127
    38
    24
    5
See reviews for
220
93
23
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed here 3 nights while visiting family.The room was a king suite, which gave us a nice seating area. The bed was very comfortable. we did notice the smell at first, but once the A/C was going, it disappeared completely. The breakfast was very complete, with lots of choices.
My only complaint is that the indoor pool area must have been at least 100 degrees, and
I spent almost two hours in there, fully clothed, watching my granddaughter swim. The pool was a cool temperature, but I felt as if I were in a steam bath. The hotel was aware, as they had posted signs about the heat, but the problem seemed to be without remedy. In all fairness, the outside temp was over 100, which may have caused the problem. We will definitely stay here again when we visit. The price was great, as was the service and the amenities. We will just try to plan a trip when the outside temp does not affect the pool.

Room Tip: We were on the back side of the hotel which has a wonderful view of Mt. Nittany, and on the 4th floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank somanybooks523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Thank you for the review. We will try to see if there is a better way to keep the pool area cooler on the hot days. I am glad to hear that everything else was great with your stay and we look forward to having you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We were looking for a place to crash while riding through, and after checking reviews on Trip Advisor we decided to stay here. The facilities are excellent, the bed was very nice. Was nice to soak in the hot tub after a hard day of riding. I felt that the prices were a good deal for the hotel too, thanks for a great stay!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weezulman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Thank you very much for the review. We encourage you to request a room on the top floor the next time if you heard people above you. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the rest of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

I spent 3 nights here in July - lots of kids and families are visiting Penn State so the hotel was very noisy. The building itself has thin walls and ceilings...I could hear the person above me walking and using the bathroom.

On the good side: room was very nice and large (I had a large room with fridge and microwave which I never used.) Pretty view across the street to the mountain. Fireflies in the little park across the street. Decent breakfast - typical waffles, bagels, eggs etc. Free wi-fi, great beds. Best part is the hvac system - it's automatic and turns off when you leave the room. It was 95 degrees outside and my room was nice and cool.

Room Tip: Choose the big rooms with microwave and fridge - restaurants in State College aren't that great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foxpaw6227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
We are sorry about the noise complaints but glad to see that you enjoyed the rest of your stay. Let me know if there is anything else that we can help you with. We thank you for your posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We had a great overnight stay! Rooms were clean and the staff was very friendly. Awesome "free" breakfast the next day. There is a big mall 2 minutes away which gave us something to do at night. Would definatley stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmsnls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Haven, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

My fiance and I just stayed here last night on a road trip from CT to MI (great halfway point and only 10 miles off I-80).

Pros: Room was incredibly spacious and had more than the amenities you expect in a Best Western (microwave, fridge, hair dryer, iron, etc, all in room - lately it seems you need to ask at most hotels at this level). Breakfast was a large spread (hot pre-made options, waffles, fruits, baked goods, multiple juices). Evening desk attendant was very friendly and really made us feel welcome.

Cons: Two minor things - there was a key card on the floor of our room and a disposed soap still in the trash. Minor but noted because that indicates to me that they don't clean as thoroughly as I'd expect. Also, the morning desk attendant was a little curt.

Overall, would definitely stay again, and could easily stay with more than just the two of us (a pull out couch and plenty of space). Good value and location was fine for our needs.

Room Tip: There were lots of other travelers, including young men still swimming at 10:30 PM right next door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzymcboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Thank you for the kind words. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will discuss the housekeeping issues with the staff. We look forward to having you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manayunk, PA
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2012

My brother and I are PSU alumni and decided to come up to State on a Friday night to visit our local favorite spots. We booked a room at the Best Western since we heard about the reasonable rates, especially for a weekend. Immediately coming in the front lobby we were greeted by staff that were speedy and kind at check in. Our room was nice and spacious-- who doesn't love comfy big beds, sitting area, flat screen tv, free wifi, and an eco-friendly hotel room? The icing on the cake was the complimentary breakfast--make your own waffle station, an assortment of fruit, bagels, yogart, coffee/juices really set everything off right. All in all, we were impressed and already have planned another trip back this upcoming fall.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Thank you for the review of the hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you during your next time in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
4.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#12 of 26 in State College
244 reviews
4.3 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#6 of 26 in State College
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
550 reviews
4.6 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
787 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#16 of 26 in State College
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
Address: 115 Premiere Dr, State College, PA 16801-7329
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in State College
#4 Romantic Hotel in State College
#5 Business Hotel in State College
#16 Family Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus University Park Hotel State College
Best Western Plus University Park Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing