We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Very much enjoyed our stay in this hotel over a PSU game weekend. Willl definatley return next time we head to State College for a game! The rooms are very clean, nicely appointed with refrigerators and microwaves. The "continental" breakfast was the best I have ever had! With hot eggs, sausage and home fries along with many other choices.

Room Tip: No bad rooms, you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atyger7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Thank you so much for the great feedback. We look forward to having you stay with us during your next time in Happy Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

439 - 445 of 507 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2012

We were taking a road trip and wanted to stop somewhere near Rt 80. This was abit far off the beaten track, but worth the drive for the amenities. Very nice king "suite", nicely appointed, but a bit snug, with all the furnishings...the desk chair and side chair almost didn't fit. I have to agree with the previous reviewer, the soundproofing is not great. We were there on a Tuesday night, and we could hear our neighbors and feel the vibrations and hear the neighbors above us. That said, I would still recommend it. I like the "green" touches. Breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerfromatown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our spacious rooms. We look forward to having you the next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We have stayed in State College many times as our daughter is a student at Penn State. This was our first football weekend in the town and the first time we stayed at this hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the room is spacious and comfortable (the "king suite", with a king bed, a half room divider and a sofa bed), the bathroom is new and very clean. The breakfast buffet is a bit more extensive than those at other hotels and the buffet is kept spotlessly clean. It is a few miles outside of the college town, (but not inconvenient) which actually is a good thing when 100,000 people come into the town for the weekend! We had two complaints: The minor complaint is that the pillows are small and not very supportive--we both had kind of a time getting comfortable with them. The more major complaint is seemingly at odds with what others have said and is the following: The walls seem quite poorly sound insulated. On both Friday and Saturday nights we were kept awake by other guests, hearing their conversations, their moving about their rooms and their louder exclaimations. Perhaps being a football weekend the guests feel a bit more--uninhibited, should we say?--because to be fair these guests were being quite loud, although once awake we could hear some of their more moderately toned conversations as well. I would consider staying here again because of all of the good things about it however.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PATraveler579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Thank you so much for the kind reviews. Please feel free to ask for a room on top floor at any time to help the noise issues. We are happy to accomodate when we have the rooms available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed here over the weekend for a Penn State football game. It is new, clean, and quiet. The breakfast is adequate (your typical hotel breakfast) and the service was fine. The pool and hot tub are a little small, but we never saw anyone else in them. The workout room looked pretty good with new machinery, as well. The location is about 3.5 miles from Penn State, which was the only real downer for me. We came for the game, and in retrospect, I wish we had stayed a bit closer to campus. However, the hotel is easy to get to and is convenient for cyclists, like ourselves. We were able to get right out onto some quiet country roads for some great riding. This is definitely not your typical Best Western; it's a step-up than any other I have stayed in. The price (for game weekends, at least) is a bit outrageous ($300/night), but I guess they have the demand and are able to raise the rates to what they are.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelinKristin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Thank you so much for your response. We are not a downtown location but we are very close to the highways. We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to Penn State.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

I travel a great deal. Stay in 3 to 4 hotels a week. Not usually a fan of the Best Western brand. Have had very bad stays at other locations. This one is GREAT! Clean,clean,clean...Nice breakfast. Friendly staff. Look forward to staying again in future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eric1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Thank you for the great feedback. We look forward to seeing you on your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Couldn't have been happier with finding a room here for this football game weekend. Clean, convenient, and relaxing. Good breakfast and family friendly! Would love to stay again next year! Ample parking and close to the mall/shuttle.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kstwinmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Thank you so much for the great feedback on Trip Advisor. We strive to be #1! We try very hard to keep all aspects of this hotel and great new hotel. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Happy Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

From the moment I entered the lobby I was impressed. Beautiful decor and a very helpful and courteous staff that helped me get familiarized with area. The room was lovely, comfy and made to feel like home. In the morning the breakfast buffet was wonderful. Not just a couple of cold, hard items. There was a choice of hot and cold dishes. Not a chance of going away hungry. This motel was a great value for a reasonable price. Thanks to all!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindyokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Thank you so much for the great reviews. We try very hard to make everyone happy with our variety of breakfast items. We hope to see you stay with us again during your next trip to Happy Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
4.5 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#10 of 26 in State College
203 reviews
4.3 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#9 of 26 in State College
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
589 reviews
4.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Penn State
Comfort Suites Penn State
#12 of 26 in State College
252 reviews
5.3 mi away
Toftrees Golf Resort
Toftrees Golf Resort
#17 of 26 in State College
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites

Address: 115 Premiere Dr, State College, PA 16801-7329
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in State College
#4 Romantic Hotel in State College
#5 Business Hotel in State College
#14 Family Hotel in State College
Price Range: £55 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus University Park Hotel State College
Best Western Plus University Park Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing