We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Garden Inn State College(State College)(Great Value!)
US$176
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nittany Lion Inn(State College)
US$324
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$585
US$497
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Penn Stater Conference Center(State College)(Great Value!)
US$216
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Penn State(State College)(Great Value!)
US$135
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites State College(State College)(Great Value!)
US$194
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carnegie Inn & Spa(State College)(Great Value!)
US$184
AscendHotels
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(State College)(Great Value!)
US$96
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nittany Budget Motel(State College)(Great Value!)
US$63
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SpringHill Suites by Marriott State College(State College)(Great Value!)
US$227
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (531)
Filter reviews
531 results
Traveller rating
307
153
42
24
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
307
153
42
24
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnittany mallbest westernspenn statewafflesuniversity parkpool and hot tubbreakfast was excellentrefrigerator and microwaveroom was largeroom keyfront desk clerknice hotelthe hotel staffroom was very clean and comfortablethe breakfast areastay there againa great stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
390 - 395 of 531 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Nothing special. When we walked into our first room, it was pretty beat up, with the security lock broken off door, did not look good. The manager quickly found another room that was clean and secure, no other problems...We were here for a Penn State tour, college is right down the road, easy enough to get to.....you don't even need directions as you can see Beaver Stadium from the hotel....All in all, hotel was fine, free breakfast was decent.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familytravels215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Thank you for your response to the hotel and future recommendations for people traveling to the area. We look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Happy Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This is a nice, modern hotel, built 4 years ago; it is located approx. 3 miles North of the center of State College, just outside of Lemont, PA. This hotel is clean, located in a very quite location, and the staff were friendly. We stayed on a Saturday night when it was not very crowded. Our room was clean and modern, the bathroom was sparkling clean, the beds/pillows were comfortable, and the WiFi worked very well, allowing me to update 2 laptops, one iPad, & 2 iPhones while there. The WiFi did not cut out or stall overnight as it often does at many budget hotels which seem to have a WiFi time limit. There are no restaurants nearby, but there is a Sheetz gasoline station within approx. 1/4 mile, where they sell made to order sandwiches, etc. The two things we did not like about our room were: 1) the nature of the "eco-friendly" room control, which in this particular case means the room lights (with the exception of 1), heat/AC are controlled via a mini computerized, environmental control on the wall. If your room keycard is not in the slot, the heat will not be on; it was preset @ 65F. This was a bitterly cold weekend, and it took well over an hour for the room to heat up. Oddly enough, the heat is not centralized but comes thru a typical, window-side heat/ac unit, and it blew cool air for quite a long while. We did not want to come back to a cold room that night, so we left one of our keycards in the computerized environmental control unit when we went out; problem solved. 2). The room sound insulation is not great. The room directly opposite ours was occupied with guests with children; we could easily hear each time they let the door slam shut and could clearly hear people talking in the hallway outside our room. I don't think anyone was in the room located behind our headboard, so I can't attest to any noise coming directly through the walls! On another note, the hotel has a small, indoor heated pool and hot-tub. The pool is really quite small and would be fairly useless if more than 4 or 5 people tried to use it at the same time. Both the pool and the hot-tub were very clean, as was the entire pool area. Breakfast is included in your rate, and the breakfast offerings were not bad for a budget end hotel. Overall, a good hotel and a good stay; we would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nittfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you for helping our future guests. We try to take pro active measures during the cold winter to make sure everyone has a comfortable warm stay. We set temperatures higher for the rooms that we have checking in. We are glad to hear that your room was sparkling clean. Our housekeepers work hard and always appreciate great feedback from guests like yourself. We look forward to having you again the next time that you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This was a great stay for me, they had truck parking, the rooms are huge, the only downfall was the showers, it was hard to keep the curtain inside the shower since it is just a stand up shower, great location, I will stay here again any time I am hauling to the steel mills out here in PA, also Champs Sports Grill delivers here and has awesome food

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you so much for the reviews. We do have alot of parking for large trucks and buses. I am happy to see this review for future guests that have larger vehicles and encounter this problem daily. As for the stand up shower, we have regular showers in most of our rooms. Our handicap accessible rooms have a variey of bath/shower choices to accomodate different handicap needs. Let us know the next time you are here that you do want a full bath area and we will take care of this. Thanks again for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed here on New Year's Eve. The hotel was clean. Our room was exceptionally clean. We swam in the pool, used the exercise room, and enjoyed the complimentary breakfast at the hotel the following morning. We wanted to get away for a night to celebrate the new year, and this was the perfect location. We will stay here again, and highly recommend the Best Western PLUS University Park Inn & Suites.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you for the great feedback. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us to celebrate the end of 2013 and the beginning of 2014. We hope that you were also able to enjoy the many attractions and events that State College offers for their First Night celebration. We look forward to seeing you the next time that you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This was an exceptional value for the money. The rooms were very comfortable and the breakfast excellent. The hotel was easy to find, and in a very convenient location. While we did not use the fitness facilities, they were available and looked very sufficient for a nice work out. I will definately stay again on my next visit to State College.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank pat446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you so much for the great feedback. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews