We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I scored this room for $50 on a bidding website. It was great. We used the gym twice, the pool and hot tub twice, frank the unlimited coffee, and had a hot breakfast. What a great value. I feel like we received way more than our monies worth.

We walked next door to a brand new BEAUTIFUL 10 theater movie complex and were the only two in the movie.

The Nittany Mall is across the street.

The bed was very comfy and room was all new. I think it was just built in 2009. Rooms are kept up with. Towels are soft.

I highly recommend this nice, new hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skibum9988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you so much for the great reviews of our hotel. We do have the theatre in our parking lot and mall across the street which makes plenty to do in walking distance. I am glad to see that you were able to get a great deal on your room. Always feel free to contact the hotel directly also to find out about any promotions that we may offer locally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 507 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

We booked at the last minute for a room during the PIAA District 6 Swim Regionals. Most motels in the area were full or outrageously priced. I had seen the Best Western Plus when booking for other State College trips, but it appeared to be too far from the college. Our decision to book here was a good one, because we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. And the drive only appeared long on the map - getting to the pool took only 10 minutes.

The hotel look very up to date, the room was well-decorated and immaculately clean. The TV remote (labeled the "Green Remote" was designed for easy cleaning, and it didn't have the gunk between the keys that other hotel remotes seem to have. The pool and hot tub met all of our expectations.Breakfast was tasty and the serving line was spread out enough so we weren't jostling for position when serving ourselves. The serving line was was set up so that the attendant could reach all of the stations from the rear, so she wasn't in the way when refilling food or cleaning up. The management had the foresight to set up one of their meeting rooms as an overflow room in case the dining area filled up, a common problem at other hotels on busy weekend mornings.

We encountered only two issues: one, the towels in the pool were laid out on the tables, which meant we had to ask guests sitting at several tables if the towels on the tables were theirs. I recommend a separate shelf for clean towels. And as noted in many of the reviews, the noise in the hallway and from the room above was palpable. Luckily, everyone went to bed at a decent hour.

Room Tip: Our room was next to the elevator but we never heard it operating. We did hear guests waiting for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatP905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your last minute decision. I am glad that you pointed out that we look far on the map. We are 2-3 miles from PSU campus but the little map on some searches does show us very far away. We are glad that you shared this with other readers planning their trip and look forward to seeing yout he next time that you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

nice hotel good breakfast friendly staff. The hotel was sold out and supper busy when we got there but the staff was able to get us extra sheets and blankets very quickly. Breakfast was on time and very good. They could use more staff right at check in other than that no complaints.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Carlton O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you visit us again the next time that you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This Best Western has an energy saving feature where they don't have heat or air being dispensed in a room unless it is occupied and someone uses their room key to activate it. When we entered our room at 3:30 in the afternoon, the temperature said 49 degrees. We were shivering & had to leave the room. It took 4 - 6 hours for it to be bearable. Completely unacceptable. If we had gotten their later, we would have had to sleep in our coats. Very disappointed in this. Otherwise, the room was nice/clean - just won't stay there again due to the room temperature. I imagine the rooms are suffocating in the summer until you get the air to kick in.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Cynthia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

We are very sorry about the experience that you had with us. We do have the energy saving devices, however, we keep the hotel at room temperature and try to pre set the rooms being used in advance to make them warmer. There may have been a possible mal-function with your device. Also, some of our guests have set their devices to the temperature but not used bottom buttons to turn on the heat button which activates the heat. We hope that you will try us again so that you can see the value in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed over the weekend and the hotel was sold out. There were a few sporting events that weekend, so the expectation was that the hotel would be properly staffed. Our room was not ready when we arrived at 3:30, so we were told to come back in a half hour. The room was a good size and it was clean when we came back. However, the walls are very thin and there was a baby and possibly a toddler in the room next to us. I was travelling with children of my own, so the added noise of a baby crying in the middle of the night was not exactly welcome. You could also hear the toilet flush in the room above us. We did enjoy the breakfast the next morning, but again the hotel was sold out and there was only one person working. The food was good, but the staff member working on Sunday morning could have used another pair of hands preparing everything and refilling when items ran out. Overall, we were happy with the stay. As long as you don't expect quiet and can live with louder than usual noises from the rooms around you you'll enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the third floor or above if you don't want so smell breakfast cooking at 6:00am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa71370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to leave suggestions for other travelers. We always take our readers reviews very seriously and will try to improve on the items addressed here. We do offer noise kits that offer ambient sound to help alleviate the sounds of noisy neighbors. Also, we see the concern for having more than one breakfast attendant on busy weekends and typically have two attendants scheduled. We appreciate your suggestions and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I was going to State College for one night with my husband and son. My requirements were as follows: complimentary breakfast, double queens (or king w/ pull-out), free WIFI and swimming pool. Obviously, I also wanted to minimize cost, that is always a priority. There were surprisingly few hotels in State College that fit the bill, and I selected this one because I had an Expedia coupon. Unfortunately, our trip coincided with Valentine's weekend which resulted in slightly inflated rates. Our rate, after the coupon, was almost $100 even for a King suite.

The big let down was that the pool was broken. My son was waiting on anxiously to hit the swimming pool in February, and was heartbroken. He is 3, and that is literally all he has been talking about. But notice, I am still giving the 5 star rating. That is because I was compensated for this inconvenience. I don't think it's fair to the hotel to disclose what the compensation was specifically, because I don't want to set them up for an expectation that every traveler will expect the same treatment. But it was a very nice gesture.

I give the staff kudos again, for accommodating us when we arrived prior to the check-in time with a sleeping toddler. At first they said it would be about an hour until the room was ready, but then scrambled and found something within 10 minutes. The clerk also made a special trip to our room to bring a full set of bedding for our son's pull-out bed.

Otherwise, the breakfast was very good. The pool looked modest but would've been fine, had it been working. I walked by the business center and workout room and they seemed like they would be sufficient as well. The hotel is new, and next door to an impressive movie theater and a Sheetz. Very close to Nittany Mall and a newly developed plaza including a Wal-Mart. It's less than a 10 minute drive to downtown.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bubblesk633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Thank you for the great review that you placed. I hope that the next time that you stay with us, your little guy will get a chance to swim. We look forward to seeing you during your next trip to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We recently had a weekend stay at this hotel and were mostly disappointed in what we paid for. Right from the beginning we were checked into a dirty room. It looked like the previous tenant had just left. Once we talked to the front desk staff, they admitted their mistake, and had somebody come right away to clean our room. The breakfast was sub-standard, as I've stayed at other less reputable hotels that provided better. The first morning there was barely anything left at 9:15am... so get there early! Not much of a selection on the second day. This hotel is well outside of town, almost to the state prison. There are many more hotel choices closer to downtown to choose from. The rooms were nice- no compaints there, but the noise levels were higher than most hotels I've stayed at. We spent both nights listening to our neighbors' TVs and conversations. The front desk staff was clueless- they admittedly didn't know how to charge me for the drinks they sell at the front desk, of which they had 3 choices- Mountain Dew, Coke Zero, and Water (?). The three of them all stated that "they were new and were not trained how to ring out" those items. The worst part was that the hotel's swimming pool and hot tub were closed during the weekend. The front desk staff described the issue as a PH imbalance, and stated that it wouldn't be resolved today. Well, for such a nice hotel, you'd think you'd have somebody on staff that could fix these type of things. Especially since some travelers choose hotels with advertised pools to make their children happy. After complaining to the front desk about the pool on the second day of our stay, we were given a 50% off our next night stay at this location. Unfortunately, this is no good to us as there are many other hotels in State College that we will try first before going back to this Best Western. I rated this hotel as poor, and not terrible, based on the condition of the hotel. It's almost new, so it should be nice. The rest of the experience deserves a terrible rating. Good luck.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

We are very sorry about the experience that you had with us. We were training a new staff the night that you stayed with us and I am sorry that they were not able to assist you more. Also, Valentines weekend was NOT an ideal time for our pool and hot tub to be out of order. We tried very hard to have this fixed. It was a largerproject with being due to a crack in a valve. I am sorry that you had this experience. I do hope that you would try us again to see that we typically have a trained, professional staff and a pool that is able to be used. We hate to see any of our guests have an experience like that one that you had and are sorry for the issues that you encountered.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
4.5 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#10 of 26 in State College
203 reviews
4.3 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#9 of 26 in State College
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
589 reviews
4.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Penn State
Comfort Suites Penn State
#12 of 26 in State College
252 reviews
5.3 mi away
Toftrees Golf Resort
Toftrees Golf Resort
#17 of 26 in State College
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites

Address: 115 Premiere Dr, State College, PA 16801-7329
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in State College
#4 Romantic Hotel in State College
#5 Business Hotel in State College
#14 Family Hotel in State College
Price Range: £55 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus University Park Hotel State College
Best Western Plus University Park Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing