We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modest, but satisfies your accommodation needs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nittany Budget Motel
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Older motel, but kept tidy and clean. Bath towels were a little thin, but the staff was generous with giving out as many extra as needed. The staff was always very nice and helpful, too. Quiet at night and we were in the front of the property, next to the office. Close to the Kocher Farm where our horse show was held and close enough to downtown State College. Wish that PennDot had the good sense not to make Whitehall Road one way.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaydayfromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcKee, General Manager at Nittany Budget Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Dear Leedsie,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am happy to hear you found our small property for your lodging needs during the horse show.

I will talk with our staff about the towels and we will work to be a bit more diligent about culling out any towels which are showing signs of being threadbare. We believe in doing our utmost to minimize waste and get the most out of all items used but try to never have this negatively impact our customers.

Thank you again for choosing the Nittany Budget Motel.

Most Sincerely,

Scott McKee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
There are newer reviews for Nittany Budget Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

went to a football camp at penn state. Stayed for 1 night, was on a budget. room was perfect, very clean, very spacious. beds were comfortable, quiet area, less than 2 miles away from campus.Service was great, got a good night sleep breakfast was free, will definitely stay again

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelman1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcKee, General Manager at Nittany Budget Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Dear Travelman 1012,

Thank you for your kind words and for characterizing us as the "perfect place to stay."
Though I think each traveler may have their own version of perfect, we certainly do our best to surpass guests expectations.

I am glad to hear you were here for one of the sports camps operated by Penn State, truly a wonderful resource for youth and their families.

We wish you a pleasant summer at home and abroad and, when your road brings you back to the State College area, please let us know and we will be happy to assist with your lodging needs.

Most Sincerely,

Scott McKee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

So I am just returning from a 3 day stay at this little off the grid motel... And it was great! Looks are deceiving, and I was pleasantly surprised to find a comfortable, friendly stay in a modest and priced right motel 10 minutes from the center of Penn state. It is convenient to get to, has a liquor store on premises and a nice restaurant next door. Couldnt ask for more.
The rooms are very simple with outdated bedding and the a/c unit makes some noise but it was ok because the fact that it was so quiet at night and I had coffee delivered to the room via a little cubby in the wall, I didn't mind one bit. If you want luxury ad fancy stay then this
May not be for you, but if low key, clean, friendly and a relaxing place where you can tailgate and BBQ out back is your kind of place then you need to
Check this out. Definitley will be staying there next memorial day and bringing friends.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sildi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcKee, General Manager at Nittany Budget Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Thank you for your kind comments!

I think you have accurately described what we are and strive to be: a true value and a pleasant surprise for travelers visiting our area.

We look forward to your visit for next Memorial Day! For what it's worth - the events that take place here in our area tend to sell out the town so when you and your friends are ready, consider making reservations early - our cancellation policy is 24 hours prior to date of arrival so changes in plans can be modified up to that point, without penalty.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our establishment.

Best of Travels,

Scott McKee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I have stayed here twice. Staff is very nice- they even called me to ask for my preference in bed-size. it is modest looking. Clean rooms with large desk area. Flat screen TV. No coffee maker BUT they deliver breakfast to your room, anytime you like. It is free and limited, but very nice.

Internet works well. Near a good restaurant ($$$)and a Subway. I was/am very happy to stay here.

The perimeter HVAC unit was loud (as most are) and is the only issue I found lacking.

Room Tip: All rooms on ground floor. All seem fine.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardJPeppin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcKee, General Manager at Nittany Budget Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking time to post your review.

We value your feedback as it guides our service efforts and we appreciate your sharing about the features you found notable.

Our I.T. Support Personnel, one of whom is our assistant manager, work continuously to maintain our wireless capability and they appreciate your note.

When travelling, it is always nice to have dining options conveniently located and we are happy to have Gigi’s Restaurant and Subway State College for neighbors. We also enjoy their food as well!

We apreciate your thoughtful comments regarding the nature of heating and air conditioning units –something I too have noted when staying in a variety of different hotels. We will soon be doing our spring preventive maintenance on all units and find this helps, both in function and noise level.

Thank you again for returning to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Scott McKee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

This place has a beer store in the office and there is a constant flow of customers. If you want a quiet room, it is best to ask for one at the rear side of the motel. A room with two double beds is in the $60+ dollar range.

The room condition was a little more run-down than I expected from the previous Tripadvisor reviews, but these holes in the walls and chipping paint areas didn't affect the quality of sleep, so I'm not going to make a big deal about these.

The complimentary breakfast was very basic, and was delivered to the room in a basket through a "milk-delivery" type door. The room keys are the old-metal type (no card keys).

If budget is your biggest concern, this is a good choice. If you are looking for a modern hotel, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms around the back
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flintjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcKee, General Manager at Nittany Budget Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Thank you for taking time to post a review of our property.
We have found these to be valuable tools in guiding our progress and continued education.

It is always good to be aware of room location in any establishment as it relates to your needs. Some of our repeat guests are heavy sleepers and enjoy having close proximity to the office. Others prefer the rooms on the back side of the building, for the reasons you have noted. For reference, please see the “Floor Plan” listed on our web site under the “Amenities” tab: http://www.lioncountrylodging.com/nittanybudget/images/floorplan.gif

I apologize for your experience with our renovations in progress and appreciate your providing the opportunity to explain.

The holes and chipping paint noted are the result of phase one of installation of new head boards and bed side tables in all of our guest rooms. The removal of the old headboards and tables, which were mounted on the walls, has left the remnant evidence noted.

Being 75 – 90 percent occupied every night has limited our ability to quickly address this; however, our contractor has been working on rooms each week to affect these repairs as promptly as availability allows. Each week will see 3 to 5 more rooms repaired and we will continue to work diligently until complete.

We are happy to note your satisfaction with the quality of your sleep – we completed the installation of new mattresses in 2012 toward this end. Additionally we added flat screen televisions in all guest rooms and new carpeting in many of the rooms as well.

Positive customer experience when selecting lodging balances between customer’s expectations and the nature of the property chosen. I think your advice regarding this is quite reasonable and our management company’s represented properties cover the spectrum and include Hilton Garden Inn, Days Inn, Quality Inn, Super 8 and the independent Carnegie Inn and Spa.
http://www.lioncountrylodging.com/


Thanks again for your time and for choosing the Nittany Budget Motel for your lodging needs.

Sincerely,

Scott McKee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

This past weekend was my second time staying at the Nittany Budget Motel. While it is of course not the fanciest place to stay in State College, it is a great value!!! I have enjoyed it much more than other hotels I have stayed in while in State College. It is clean and comfortable and has everything you need for a weekend trip. You also get a free little breakfast! The staff is the best part about staying here. They are super friendly and take good care of their guests. GREAT customer service! This is definitely a place I will continue to return to while visiting my Alma mater!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaitlin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcKee, General Manager at Nittany Budget Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Thank you for kind comments and for taking the time to post your review.

As a small independent property, we greatly value our wonderful guests who so kindly promote us as their way of saying thank you for the value and service we strive to provide. We are pleased to hear of your experience over this past weekend. In particular, I am proud to hear your glowing review of the staff and your satisfaction with the service they provided - I am truly fortunate to work with wonderful people like Segun, Mel and Tom, our regular weekend team.

Rest assured, we will continue working to improve what we offer, thus increasing the value provided to you, our guests. For example, we completed the installation of new beds and flat screen televisions in our guest rooms this past fall. Additionally, we installed new carpeting in the 10 rooms with the oldest and most warn carpet. For this year, we have begun planning the upgrade of additional decor features.

Thank you again for your review and we truly look forward to your next stay with us.

Most Sincerely,

Scott McKee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Clean, spacious, well-equipped at a very reasonable price. If you're a non-smoker, make sure to specify a no-smoking room. The others are like walking into an ash tray. Staff is great and there is a terrific restaurant across the parking lot.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ldcreoNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcKee, General Manager at Nittany Budget Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your helpful suggestions to others who utilize this resource in making informed lodging selections.

During our busiest periods, our smoking permitted rooms are often the last available rooms and when talking with potential guests, we stress these rooms do have a smoking odor, even after our cleaning process, which includes the use of an ozone machine.

We maintain four of our twenty-three rooms as smoking permitted as a way of serving all guests and because we believe it also minimizes the occurence of smoking in our non-smoking rooms.

We appreciate the noted observation because it highlights a very good reason for making reservations as far in advance as is practical. Doing so better ensures the availability of non-smoking rooms.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and for your kind comments.

Sincerely,

Scott McKee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
2.4 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
795 reviews
2.4 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#7 of 26 in State College
1,322 reviews
2.8 mi away
Super 8 State College
Super 8 State College
#21 of 26 in State College
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center
2.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#24 of 26 in State College
85 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#19 of 26 in State College
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nittany Budget Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nittany Budget Motel

Address: 2070 Cato Ave, State College, PA 16801-2764
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in State College
Price Range: £41 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nittany Budget Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nittany Budget Motel just 3 miles from Downtown State College. Complimentary light breakfast daily, free Wi-Fi, and on-site Brewsky's Bottle Shop. We invite all visitors to the State College area to enjoy the friendly atmosphere for which we are known. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Nittany Budget Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing