We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location”
Review of Imperial Motor Inn

Imperial Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Imperial Motor Inn
Ranked #26 of 26 Hotels in State College
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Just spent parents weekend at penn state and nothing but good things to say about the imperial motor inn. Not expecting much for the price but rooms were clean, beds comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. For a small budget hotel the location is ideal right at the corner of university drive steps from campus and downtown. The owners are kind, helpful and eager to please laying out a nice little continental breakfast with coffee, tea and pastries. Do not be put off by the fact they ate sometimes hard to find they are usually cleaning rooms but they are more than helpful. Great bang for the buck.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dadakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

You get what you pay for. It was a bit stale-smelling inside, but other than that, I saw zero creepy-crawlers, we didn't have our valuables stolen, and the personnel were not as soul-less as others have reported.

One complaint: the bathroom could have been the one in Saw, without the murder scene or the torture devices. The shower leaked and the toilet was not the cleanest.

They give free coffee. Albeit, without the good flavorful creamers and Truvia sweetener selection.

If we end up feeling cheap again, we may consider staying again... Maybe.

Room Tip: Stay away from the corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingGabrielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

While other hotels were charging $150 or $200 and most had no vacancy, picked up a room for $69 a night, a 1000 feet from my kids dorm, on move in weekend. Now that's value. The hotel is old but it's clean and basically in good shape. Only issue I could find is holes in the bedspread almost like cigarette burns even though it was a non-smoking room. It's clearly not a four star hotel but it gets four stars for location, price, and being clean. After a LONG day I was ecstatic to get such a deal. If the price was right I would have no problem using this hotel for a football weekend. It's a thousand times better than the Happy Valley Motor Inn (State College) or Brown's Hill Motel (Mill Hall) both of which were old and FILTHY.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fab5454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I was in State College for an overnight stay while my daughter was staying on PSU's campus for orientation. I didn't spend much time in the room, but while I was there, it was serviceable. Each room has cable and large screen TVs. I was also told there is wifi, though I did not have any devices to try it out. The fridge and microwave were a real bonus. One caveat: the office is not always open and/or there's not always someone at the desk. If you expect to receive any phone calls, you need to notify the desk agent and get the phone number that allows people to call your room directly, they cannot transfer calls like they do in full-service hotels. They will not give out your room number without your permission. I guess in today's day and age, that's not a bad thing. The one thing, though, that I really would have liked, was a security chain. The only lock was a push button. All in all, I'd say, it's a good place to stay, fantastic location, ample parking and the price can't be beat.

Room Tip: Rooms at the corner diagonal to the office are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MethuselahSeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

It ain't the Ritz, BUT... the room was clean and serviceable, the staff was friendly & helpful, the price was right, and the location is great. It's an old-fashioned "Motor Inn" out of the 50's/60's, so if you're looking for amenities and/or something modern, this won't be for you. But if the qualities I mention above are what matter to you, this is an appropriate place to stay. Very convenient access to PSU campus (couple of blocks) and to College Ave, the main drag.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

If your looking for a cheap place for football games here it is but buyer beware... It seemed a very large couple was going to town I'm each other in the room next to me and the walls are paper thin. I seriously was worried they would break the paper thin wall in orgism into my room. Besides that the 49 a night seemed par for the course.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ash177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a football weekend. It was the end of the season and hotel rooms were plentiful, but we'd driven past the Imperial several times before and decided to give it a try. Big mistake. Rooms are stark, old and dingy. Bed was very uncomfortable. The shower/bathroom was clean and no mold. Would never stay here again (my wife would kill me!).

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rab-pgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
1 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#24 of 26 in State College
85 reviews
1.6 mi away
Super 8 State College
Super 8 State College
#21 of 26 in State College
817 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#19 of 26 in State College
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Toftrees Golf Resort
Toftrees Golf Resort
#17 of 26 in State College
308 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Penn State
Comfort Suites Penn State
#12 of 26 in State College
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Motor Inn

Address: 118 S Atherton St, State College, PA 16801-3826
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 26 Hotels in State College
Price Range: £39 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Imperial Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Motor Hotel State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing